Meatless Monday: Kimchi Fried Quinoa

kimchi fried quinoa

I love quinoa. I really do. Give me rice, brown rice, couscous, and I’ll still be hankering for that bowl of quinoa. But, the truth is I can never really finish a serving of quinoa pilaf on its own, unless it’s got my favourite squash-kale combination spelled all over it.

I’ve had it in salads, granola, and more recently in a faux-pizza crust, but no other fanciful flavour quite takes the cake for me. That was, until I realise that you don’t need fancy to enjoy good food. And that’s when this easy kimchi fried ‘rice’ came into the picture, and I wiped out the bowl as fast as it took to cook it.

And just between you and me, I’ve had this 3 times in 2 weeks. Obsessed much?

Kimchi Fried Quinoa
(serves one)

1/4 cup organic quinoa seeds, rinsed thoroughly
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup vegetable stock
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup kimchi
1 tablespoon kimchi juice
1 tablespoon water

Bring the water and vegetable stock to a boil in a pot. Add the quinoa, cover the pot and lower heat, allowing it to simmer, until most of the liquid is absorbed. Turn off the heat, and leave the pot covered for about 5 minutes. Once done, fluff the quinoa and set aside.
Heat up the extra-virgin olive oil in a saucepan, and stir-fry the kimchi for about 1 minute.
Add the kimchi juice, water and quinoa, and stir till well-combined, and all heated up.
Serve immediately.

Recipe Notes:
Feel free to add in vegetables when cooking. Best to opt for quick-cooking vegetables; just add them in together with the liquids (before the quinoa), and stirfry till they’re cooked, thereafter stirring in the quinoa. You may need to add extra water.

I added julienned carrots, diced Japanese pumpkin (kabocha) and thin asparagus stems in mine.

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Kimchi Fried Quinoa

  1. julianajumiat

    I LUUUUUURVE quinoa too! But it is expensive and I had a difficult time convincing my parents that it’s like eating rice, so I would end up with a container of excess cooked quinoa. Boo. Reading your post triggers me try quinoa again, maybe this time psycho my husband to eat it. Muahaha. Where do you usually get your supply of quinoa, sis?

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Cooked quinoa lasts quite a while, so you can keep it, and eat them throughout the week. I can never convince my mister to eat quinoa, so I feel ya! I usually get mine at Cold Storage or NTUC Finest.

Leave a Reply

