{Recipe: 2-Ingredient Pizza Dough}

2-ingredient pizza dough

You guys should know by now that I’m all for quick and fuss-free recipes, be it in cooking or baking. While some of us may have the luxury of time to bake and crumb coat and frost and decorate a three-layered cake, wait for two to three rising times of a loaf of bread carefully and gently kneaded with love, or even slave away at the kitchen at what appears to be a five-course meal at a restaurant, there is then me.

The one who wants to be in and out of the kitchen as fast as I possibly can, often times wishing for Calvin’s transmogrifier and duplicator, while the mister tends to an active almost-3 year old whose voice I can hear from down the stairs, singing an irreverent tune as of a running commentary on what she is doing, and a crankily teething baby who really just wants a hug (or two, or like forever) and chooses to let the whole apartment, and the passersby walking outside and possibly across the road, know of his discontentment.

Guess what I’m trying to say is, make this. Keep this dough recipe in your repertoire, even if you’re not half as frazzled as me. Because we could all use a little shortcut in the kitchen at times. And by the time the pizza, or dessert pizza, or tortilla, or quesadilla (all variations made with the same versatile dough) comes out from the kitchen, you’ll almost feel like yelling, “Who’s ya momma!!”.

2-Ingredient Pizza Dough

1 cup greek yoghurt
1 to 1 1/2 cups self-rising flour ¹

Combine yogurt and 1 cup flour in a bowl and mix with spoon until combined.  Flip out onto a well-floured counter top and knead well until combined.
Slowly add additional flour as necessary to help dough come together, up to an extra 1/2 cup of flour.
The dough should be tacky, but not sticky (it should not leave dough on your hand when you pull away).
Roll out and top as desired.  Bake in a preheated 450°F / 230°C for 10-12 minutes.

Note: ¹ If you do not have self-rising flour, you can add 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder and 3/4 teaspoon salt to 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour.  Mix together and use as directed in the recipe.
For whole grain: Substitute the same amount of self-rising flour with whole wheat pastry flour, or a combination of all-purpose and whole wheat pastry flour, and add 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder and 3/4 teaspoon salt.

6 thoughts on “{Recipe: 2-Ingredient Pizza Dough}

  1. Alison

    This couldn’t have come at a better time! I definitely have to try this this week! I wonder if it would freeze ok if I were to use half? Well, I’ve been following you for a long time (the chocolate cherry brownies you posted were the first things I made from you and still one of the best things I’ve made EVER!), so I’m happy to see that you are still blogging when you have the time (but who would blame you for being too busy to update!) It’s always nice to see a familiar face, and your recipes are always beautiful!

    Congratulations on your newest little one and I hope that 2015 brings many joys for you and your family!:)

    Alison

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Aww thank you for dropping such a sweet note, Alison! I actually remember you from when I was still actively blogging. Hope all’s been well on your end too!🙂

      With regard to the recipe, I’m not sure how long it would keep, but I have froze it for use over two days before, and the dough was still a breeze to work with. Hope that helps! (I’m off to make stromboli with this dough myself!)

      Have a great 2015, sweetie!🙂

Leave a Reply

