Love is Everywhere {Recipe: Wholewheat Strawberry Honey Muffins}

wholewheat strawberry pancakesI can’t even begin to recall when my last blog post was; the time of day, the emotional or physical state I was in, the dessert I had in hand (if anything, I’m certain I must’ve been munching something); everything is a blur. These days, timeline exists only this way for me: pre-kids, post-one kid, and post-two kids.

All praises to Him, I am now a mom of two. Something I still have yet to get accustomed to saying out loud, without doing a double-take and giggling to myself. I admit I still have yet to fully grasp the art of being a helicopter-parent / homeschooling mom / SAHM, and handling an active toddler and a clingy nursling concurrently, and I’ve been told things can only get more interesting. But I have had my good days when a silent self high-five awaits (silent because it means both kids are down for a nap at the same time;- too good to be true!), and not-too-good days when I wonder how my mother raised all six of us, with the youngest me forever tugging at her sarong.

But at the end of the day, at the end of each Duplo-stepping, sensory bin-toppling, and baby spit-up everywhere day, we return to this; a reminder of the overwhelming love that encapsulates my every day, as I hear my cradled 3-month-old baby-babble emotively in between nursing, while my 2.5-year-old holds my free hand and dances along to a random tune she came up with, laughing uncontrollably as the mister imitates her.

And yes, lil A, “when Adik (younger sibling) bigger, can share muffin”.

Wholewheat Strawberry Honey Muffins
(adapted from Healthy Family, Happy Family by Karen Fischer; makes 10 muffins)

1 egg
1/3 cup honey
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 1/2 cups wholewheat flour (or 1/2 cup wholewheat flour + 1 cup all-purpose flour for a lighter texture)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 punnet strawberries, tops removed and diced
(Optional: 5 whole strawberries for the topping)

Preheat the oven to 180C. Prepare your muffin tray with paper cases, or grease the holes.
In a large bowl, combine the egg, honey and milk until smooth.
Slowly drizzle in the oil and mix till smooth.
In another bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon.
Toss in the dice strawberries.
Mix in the wet ingredients, and stir briefly with a wooden spoon until just combined.
Spoon the mixture evenly into each muffin cup.
Slice the reserved strawberries into halves, cut a ‘V’ at the top, creating a heart shape. Top each muffin with a strawberry heart.

Leave a Reply

