Darn Good Cake [Recipe: Chocolate Avocado Cake with Chocolate Chips]

chocolate avocado cake

They say a picture paints a thousand words, but when nothing you do can possibly make it any easier to take a perfect picture of a wonderfully moist, yet non-camera-friendly dark-hued chocolate loaf cake, I guess you will have to type out the thousand words yourself. Now I know these aren’t exactly picture perfect, and it’s possibly against some food blogger ethics to post entries with unabashedly unappealing photos, but trust me when I say my search has come to an end with this, and it is my moral obligation to share a darn good cake, albeit virtually. With a tight crumb, a deep chocolate flavour enhanced with bursts of sweetness from the chocolate chips, and a rich and moist texture which becomes pronounced overnight, it would be almost impossible to guess that the secret ingredient here is avocado. That’s right; no butter, no eggs, no yoghurt, no buttermilk, but just simply mushy riped avocado.

The original recipe is very much like a wacky cake / crazy cake / depression cake (aside: if you don’t already know what I’m referring to, do your time-constrained baker self a favour and google this quick chocolate cake fix), which makes it a perfect vegan cake, but since I’m not a fan of vinegar in bakes, I decided to play around with the proportions instead, increasing the fat ratio. And if you’re still feeling kinda iffy about the whole avocado thing, let me assure you that you can’t taste it even a little. And just to convince you further, even the mister who doesn’t eat avocado / oats / ‘any of those funny healthy things you eat’, couldn’t resist enjoying a couple of slices (and even sighed when they were gone!). Now if that’s not a good cake, I don’t know what is.

Chocolate Avocado Cake with Chocolate Chips
(recipe adapted from here)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup soft avocado, well mashed, about 1 medium avocado
1 cup milk
1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 170°C.  Grease an 8×4 inch loaf pan.
Sift together all of the dry ingredients except the sugar.  Set aside.
Mix all the wet ingredients together in a bowl, including the avocado.
Add sugar into the wet mix and stir.
Mix the wet with the dry all at once, and beat with a whisk (by hand) until just combined.
Stir in the chocolate chips.
Pour batter into the greased pan.
Bake for 45 – 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

13 thoughts on “Darn Good Cake [Recipe: Chocolate Avocado Cake with Chocolate Chips]

  1. Jewel

    Hello, I tried this cake and not sure what went wrong:( the outside is like a hard crust.
    Just a question, ‘mix the wet ingredient’, meaning with a beater or hand mixed?

    Million thanks🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi Jewel, sorry to hear that! It’s just like any quickbread, really; just mix with a wooden spoon.

      Other than the crust, how’s the texture, though? If it’s dry, it means you’ve overmixed the batter. If it’s okay, it means your oven’s running a lil hot, so you might want to bake it either on a lower rack, or cover the top loosely with a tin foil so as not to burn or overcook the crust. (You can do this for other quickbread recipes too.)

      Hope that helps!

  2. Jewel

    Thanks alot for the tips!
    Mine was dense, doesn’t look like yours (bread texture). Probably I didn’t stir enough then? Haha.
    I’m gonna try again this weekend!

    Thanks again for the tips:))

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      The texture is supposed to be dense and moist, so if yours is tight-crumbed and dense, you’re on the right path. Bit if it’s dry (not moist), then you might have overbaked it. Be sure to check the timing, your cake might have cooked earlier than the timing I stated, if you used a different dimension or larger loaf pan.🙂

  3. Pingback: There’s Green In My Cake! {Recipe: Carrot Zucchini Bread} | :: epicurean escapism ::

  4. Annick

    I made it, and it was delicious!!!!! moist, chocolaty all right!!!! next time, I will cut down on the sugar, and maybe try it with Stevia

    Reply
    1. malene

      I just tried it with stevia and it was desaster. You taste the salt much more than the stevia at first then after 5 minuts or so the sweet flavor comes through very faint. Buttercream might save this.

  5. busymama

    Loved loved loved this cake and so did my extremely picky four year old!! How would I modify the cooking time to do muffins?

    Reply
  6. Pingback: What I did with Avocado [Recipe] | lady J's musings

  7. Mary

    I made this cake and it was wonderful and moist. I had to chose between using a 9″ x 5″ pan or a 7-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ pan, the only two sizes I had. I chose the smaller pan because I didn’t want the cake to be flat. It rose magnificently but then totally sunk in the middle as it cooled. It still tasted good but I could not serve it in loaf form. I sliced it and put a little chocolate sauce on it to cover the sinking middle. I have since tried to buy an 8″ x 4″ pan but have not been able to find one. I don’t know if the pan size was even the problem. Any ideas? Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

