Toddler Tuesdays: Banana Pancakes (No Eggs, No Dairy, No Sugar)

010313 -2

Lil A, on her 1st birthday photoshoot, with the obligatory cake smash shot.

I remember specifically that one morning while I was preparing lil A’s lunch, and the mister mentioned, “Why aren’t there any ‘On today’s lunch table for A’ photos on your Instagram?”, referring tongue-in-cheek to my regular meal posts. Premonition or not, as it turns out, several months later, I would have to take back my hasty reply of “I don’t think anyone would wanna know what a baby eats!”. In fact, not only have A’s meals caught the attention of some of my dear readers who had requested me to share the recipes, they have also introduced me to a new community of mothers who are ever so generous with their meal ideas for their little ones. From local friends who are just a phone text message away, to kind strangers on the other side of the globe with an e-mailed note, I hope to share some of the baby / toddler-friendly recipes these ladies have gifted me with, along with several of my own personal kitchen favourites, on Toddler Tuesdays, beginning with this go-to (banana) pancake recipe.

banana pancakes1

Though I must admit I’m very fortunate to have a largely non-fussy toddler when it comes to food, I have to say if there was one sure way to get her to finish anything, it would have to be something with banana, pumpkin, or carrots. (Aside: Consider yourself warned if you’re not a fan, for I foresee most of the coming Toddler Tuesday recipes will inadvertently contain one or all of the aforementioned.)

It shouldn’t come as a surprise then that my first foray into a baby / toddler-friendly breakfast translated into the easiest way to sneak in any one of A’s favourite foods. Hence began my search for a fluffy and moist pancake recipe, which is not only allergen-free, healthier for the little ones, but also a base recipe good enough to handle other flavour substiutions.

Several Pancake Sundays with mis-shaped, not-as-fluffy, rubbery pancakes later, I’ve finally found the one. They may not be as sweet nor rise as much as regular pancakes, but these banana pancakes are surprisingly fluffy, with a subtle sweetness coming from the bits of bananas. The best part is you can easily substitute the ingredients according to your preferences; use pumpkin puree and spices for pumpkin pancakes, use all-purpose flour in place of oat flour, or regular full-fat milk if you’re not going dairy-free.

Banana Pancakes – No Eggs, No Dairy, No Sugar

1 1/4 cup organic rolled oats
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup non-dairy milk (eg soy milk) / water
1/4 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 2 medium)

In a food processor, blitz the rolled oats into very fine oat flour.
Combine the flour and baking powder into a large bowl.
In another bowl, combine the soy milk (or water) and mashed bananas together.
Add to the dry ingredients, and stir lightly to combine.
Heat up a lightly-greased griddle or nonstick pan to medium low.
Pour in the pancake batter about 1/4 cup at a time.
Cook until golden brown on both sides. Serve warm on its own, or with a topping of your choice.

44 thoughts on “Toddler Tuesdays: Banana Pancakes (No Eggs, No Dairy, No Sugar)

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      So sorry to hear that! I’ve made this countless of times, with different varieties of flour. In fact I just made them again this morning with spelt flour, and never once did they stick to the pan.

      Did you grease the griddle / skillet?
      You’ll need to grease at the start, even if you’re using non-stick.

      Did the pancake fall apart upon flipping?
      Egg-free dairy-free pancakes take longer to cook, so you’ll have to wait till a lot of bubbles appear before flipping.

      Was the batter too runny?
      Check that you’re using rolled oats, and not instant oats, like quacker oats.

      You can refer to one of my latest entries on pancake-cooking for more pointers.

  1. Missi

    Just made these this morning and they were AWESOME! My husband loves banana nut bread, and the bananas (of course) gave such a reminiscent flavor of it. He loved them! I also added cinnamon to the batter for extra yumminess!!πŸ™‚ This very well may replace my go-to pancake recipe!! Thank you so much!!

    Reply
    1. Emma

      I used quick oats… Currently cooking them now and to me they cook fine.. Take longer than regular pancakes. You can taste the oats in them but they are delish!!

  2. Victoria

    I love this recipe. Added vanilla extract and cinnamon and a pinch of salt! These are great didnt even need any syrup on them.

    Much better way of doing pancakes. I think I am converted. Your toddler tuesday recipies are my favorite, very inspiring.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Yuujin

    Just what I am looking for. However, can I make bulks of these and preserve it in ref so I can prepare it every morning? Thanks!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      I would suggest cooking the pancakes first, then freezing them. Coz I’m not too sure if the batter itself will keep well in the fridge, esp wuth bananas in it. Hope that helps!

  4. dancerindreams

    Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I was googling for banana pancakes, no eggs not due to allergens but my husband not working means we have a lot of vegan/allergen free recipes to explore as eggs and milk are often gone quite quickly.

    These were yummy and it was lovely to see my son (18 months) enjoy his food made out of flour, bananas and water! I’m sure the frozen blueberries we added helped! Is this on Pinterest? ThanksπŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Nanadownload – Everything for the life, Everyday tips – Try These 5 Toddler-Friendly Pancake Recipes for National Pancake Day

  6. Pingback: Toddler Tuesdays: Fluffy Vegan Pancakes (Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Refined Sugar-Free) | :: epicurean escapism ::

  7. Jenny

    Should the recipe read 1 1/4 or 1/4 C mashed banana? Only wondering because 2 large bananas would be well over 1/4 CπŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Ah, thanks for pointing that out! It should be 1/4C mashed bananas, which would be about 2 medium. Rectified!πŸ™‚

  8. Nicci

    Just made these for my toddler and myself. …delicious! I used almond milk and I added vanilla protein powder to half of them to increase the protein and they were delicious both ways. Thanks!

    Reply
  9. Jenni

    Do you know how much oat flour you get after grinding the oats? I already have a bunch of rolled oats that I’ve ground up in the food processor to make baby oatmeal.

    Reply
  10. Kimberlee

    These are awesome! I love them, they are so simple to make and my kids just keep asking for more until they are full! I have an egg allergy so finding a recipe where the mixture stays together and makes awesome pancakes is hard. I’ve posted the link to the recipe on my business page a couple of timesπŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Danielle

    Amazing recipe! Thanks so much! I added frozen blueberries and they are turning out great! A little crispy also which is how i like my pancakes! I also added about 1/4 c of coconut flour, and this may be my new go to since i cannot seem to make pancakes with coconut flour alone!πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. Tracy

    I’m confused on the banana portion. Is it 1 and 1/4 cup or just 1/4 cup. I saw that one of your readers posted the same question and you didn’t clarify. If you mash two medium size you will get more than 1/4 cup. Please reconfirm.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi Tracy, I did clarify with the commenter; the initial ingredient listed was two LARGE bananas, and I had changed it to medium. It really depends on the variety of banana you use to confirm your definition of ‘medium’ vis-Γ -vis ‘large’. I’m using one of the local (Asian) varieties where two medium does constitute to 1/4 cup.

      So yes, just to reconfirm, it’s 1/4 cup (one quarter cup) worth of mashed bananas, initial banana size notwithstanding. Hope that clarifies!

    2. Tracy

      Thanks for clarifying this. Those asian bananas must be very small compared to the normal american size, LOL! Anyway, I’ve made several batches already with 1/4C of banana and my LO loves it. I make a bunch of small ones and freeze them on a tray and then throw them in a ziplock. this is so much faster than making oatmeal every morning and great on the go too. The other day i threw a frozen one in his lunch sack and when it was snack time it was perfectly soft. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this recipe!!! XOXO!

    3. ovenhaven Post author

      That’s such a great idea! I never make enough to freeze. Or perhaps it’s coz my lil one just loves snacking on them through the day! Glad your LO enjoys his!πŸ™‚

  13. Virginia M

    I was looking for a recipe like this for my 17 month old baby!!!!! i will try this during the weekend! my baby is allergic to eggs so these look yummy plus my baby loves bananas!!
    Thanks

    Reply
  14. Renuka

    Hi, thank you so much for posting this recipe! My 11 month twins loved it! I added cinnamon powder which enhanced the flavor! Will try adding some almond meal when I make it again next week!

    Thanks

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Twins, how precious!πŸ™‚ You’ve just reminded me to give this a try with my own 11 month old! Love the almond meal idea too.πŸ™‚

  15. Pingback: Baby Recipe – Go BANANA for PANCAKES | runjumptumble

  16. MARISA

    I just made these for my baby girl and she loves them!!! I ran out of eggs and her oatmeal so I was trying to find a recipe for her that didn’t require eggs. I used the quaker rolled oats and it work just fine. Im so glad I have a pancake recipe for her. This was the first time she had pancakes. Thank you 😊

    Reply
  17. Lorrie E

    Just curious, do you know if these would work using breastmilk? I’m trying to find an egg-free banana pancake recipe for my 7 month old and this one seems perfect!

    Reply
  18. Raquel

    I just made them using full fat milk, 3/4 spelt flour and 1/4 all-purpose. I also added around 2 tbsp grounded golden flax, cinnamon and vanilla extract. They turned out very tasty, its a great sugarless option for the little ones. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

