Of Food And Memory [Recipe: Honey-Soy Grilled Chicken]

grilled honey-soy chicken

I must be honest with you. I’ve had three drafted posts thus far containing nothing but edited photographs and jotted recipes. It seems I may have been struck by the writer’s block, though it feels a little more solemn than that. Somewhere along the line I had lost my mojo, both in the culinary aspect and that pertaining to the written word. In fact, even my unspoken words these days, much of which my years had pivoted on all these while, sound a tad lacklustre in my head.

I’ve had requests to share the recipes to specific posts on my Instagram, but it has become apparent that blogging is possibly the last thing on my mind, since I rarely bother measuring out ingredients these days, opting for the oft-mentioned agar-ation, its Malay equivalent being campak-campak;- the act of uncalculated throwing of random ingredients to whip up something in the kitchen. I’ve actually had thoughts of just dropping the blog, and resume my social media life through square-formatted photos and ramblings of 140 characters. However, coming across these photos of honey-soy grilled chicken, it reminded me of the primary reason I had set up this blog. And as selfish (and possibly offensive to you, dear readers) as it may sound, I’m sorry, but it’s not so much to share, but more to preserve. To memory, that is.

I remember vividly the mister taking a bite from his plate, he looked up and said, “Please, please, don’t forget this recipe!”. And that right there was the it moment, if you may call it that, for me; a trusty tried-and-tested recipe book without its yellow pages and dog-ear folds, this blog to me is the repository of my kitchen escapades interspersed with precious moments I hold dear each day. I’m sure fellow food bloggers can attest to this; times you refer to a recipe from your blog, and go “Ah, I remember that day. The smiles and laughter made all the cake effort worth it”. And the beauty of sharing the recipe(s) is the promise of a possibility to press replay on that etched memory, to a rekindled smile and laugh.

Thus, as much as I know I am horrid at keeping a regular blogging schedule, and though words may keep failing me each time, this blog is here to stay, and by the taste of it, this juicy sweet honey-soy grilled chicken recipe is too.

grilled honey-soy chicken 1

Honey-Soy Grilled Chicken

2 boneless chicken breasts
2 garlic cloves, finely minced
2 tablespoons light soy sauce
2 tablespoons kecap manis
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon ground black pepper

Combine the garlic, soy sauce, kecap manis, honey and black pepper in a bowl.
Add the chicken breasts, and toss to coat completely.
Leave the chicken to marinate in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour.
Remove the chicken from the marinade and place on a preheated grill pan.
Using a brush, baste the chicken with the remaining marinade.
Repeat on both sides until chicken is fully cooked.
Serve warm with pasta (I had mine with spinach fettuccine here), or some yummy mash.

3 thoughts on “Of Food And Memory [Recipe: Honey-Soy Grilled Chicken]

Leave a Reply

