A Gift {Recipe: No Sugar, No Egg, No Milk Banana Bread}

no sugar vegan banana bread 2

Barely five years ago, whilst finding myself elbows deep in mixer rumblings, greasy butter and flying flour, traipsing alone in the kitchen in the dark of the night working on orders, a thought that would constantly fill my head was the day when, God willing, I will have someone to bake for. A little someone, to be precise. That the day will come when all this practice of working on adorable cartoon-themed, rainbow-coloured sweet treats topped with hand-moulded sugary figurines will come in handy for my own little one. The day I will get to see the tiny-toothed smile, cheeky grins my clients had always told me of; only this time, it will be the best gift to myself, to see my own child enjoy my work.

Fast forward four years later, whilst finding myself pinned down on the stomach by a determined one-year-old trying to snatch my glasses by the bedside, yanking my hair and nose in the wee hours of the morning, a thought that plays in my head is that the day has come, all praises to God, when I have my own little someone to bake for. And as fate would have decreed it, those years of practice did not exactly come to play the way I had imagined it to be ever since I donned the mommy badge. With my oven dead and replacement plans on halt till our new place comes along, and with the realisation that I am not exactly comfortable with loading my child with refined sugars, food colourings and dirty dozens, baking for my little A comes with a twist; from the airfryer, and with no added (refined) sugar, and no egg and dairy (under one year old).  And with every baking day, I get to see that tiny-toothed smile, cheeky grin, and excited hand-flapping action accompanying “Mmmm!”, and deep inside, I know that I have given her the best gift I can, a healthier (yet still fluffy and delicious) version of one of my favourite baked goods.

no sugar vegan banana bread

no sugar banana bread 1

No-Sugar, No-Egg, No-Milk Banana Bread
(adapted from here)

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup mashed overripe bananas (about 3 large or 5 small)
1⁄4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1⁄4 cup extra-virgin coconut oil

Preheat the oven to 180°C.
In a large bowl, combine the mashed bananas and oils.
Fold in the flour and baking powder into the wet mixture, being careful not to overmix.
Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan, and bake for 30 – 40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

12 thoughts on “A Gift {Recipe: No Sugar, No Egg, No Milk Banana Bread}

  1. Maya

    Been quite a while since I drop by for a visit. A tad too late, but still congratulations on your not-so-newborn. If must be fun to finally be able to bake for ur little 1. Imagine the bentos that you can make in the future! Good t
    o see u still actively blogging. Please continue to do so….You are 1 of my fav!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Aww sweetie, thanks! Been such a long time since I dropped by food blogs. Nice of you to remember me!🙂 Oh I wish I have the patience for those bentos; they’re kawaii but too tedious!

  2. Pingback: Eggless & Vegan Banana Bread | Food Made With Love

  3. Pingback: Recipe: 4-Ingredient Healthy Wholewheat Banana Muffin (No Sugar, No Egg, No Oil) | :: epicurean escapism ::

  4. Raquel Fava

    Thanks for sharing this recipe! I made tiny changes but it still worked great!
    I used wholewheat flour and since I didn’t have any coconut oil used only olive oil. I also added cinnamon and half a teaspoon of baking soda. I used it to bake cupcakes and they took about 10 to 13 minutes, they turned out perfect, very fluffy🙂
    It was for my little girl’s first birthday party and she loved them!

    Reply
  5. cinnamonwhirl

    Made this just now as I have no milk or eggs in but found it doesn’t rise at all despite the baking powder – other eggless recipes I’ve tried have all risen beautifully.
    Followed the recipe as written so unsure where I went wrong😦

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      These don’t rise much, I have to accede. But perhaps you could also give your baking powder a check; make sure it’s fresh.🙂

Leave a Reply

