exciting future ahead [recipe: butterscotch chips blondies]

Is it just me, or did the month of September just zoom by way too fast? And while we’re at it, I highly suspect August was its sneaky precursor of an impetus. With almost every weekend of September spent catching up with, and in my case, getting acquainted with new relatives (via extension of my first Eid as a missus), it is no surprise that the weeks had gone by in a blink. Not that I’m complaining, though. The past month(s) saw some significant changes in my life, where I have found myself looking at each day with great faith and renewed priorities, and just between you and me, I must admit that even the adverse-to-changes yours truly is feeling nothing short of sheer excitement in anticipation of things to come.

And speaking of the future, these blondies, or more specifically, these butterscotch chips blondies, my dear beloved friends, now these are the ones which will definitely keep popping up in the future. They are, to quote an over-used sentiment in reality shows, “the one to beat!”.

Fudgy, with a light caramel fragrance wafting through each bite, it’s hard not to love these crackly-crusted bars with the perfect cookie-cake cross texture. By now you should have already realised my affiliation and deep love for the ebony-and-ivory of bars (brownies and blondies), so it might not come as a surprise that I’ve found yet another keeper in my books. Hence, in my feebly persuasive attempt of a stoic ‘Fine, don’t take my word for it’, it might interest you to know that the whole pan was wiped out within a few hours, and for the first time in my adventures of epicurean escapism, I received a request from the mom to bake it again the very next day. I’m telling you, these butterscotch chips? Not only were they made for blondies, they’re totally worth the search (here in Singapore).

ps: I found my butterscotch chips in Cold Storage, after many months wait of out of stock. Leave a message if you know of any other places!

Butterscotch Chip Blondies
(adapted from here)

113 grams (1 stick / 8 tablespoons) butter, melted
3⁄4 cup light brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 cup all-purpose flour
3⁄4 cup butterscotch chips

Grease an 8×8 pan. Preheat the oven to 180°C (375°F).
Mix the melted butter with brown sugar until fully combined. Beat in the egg and vanilla.
Stir in the flour, followed by the butterscotch chips.
Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the surface is crackly and shiny.

27 thoughts on “exciting future ahead [recipe: butterscotch chips blondies]

  1. the mister

    Ah, ’tis been a long time since your last entry, ya?

    I miss the immaculate photos.😀

    This be the elusive butterscotch chips, yes? But ’twas worth the wait, because these were delicious-o!😀

    And it’s not only Mak who requests another batch, count me in the waiting list too!

    Reply
  2. thecoffeesnob

    These look utterly decadent and so simple to boot! Now, I just have to get my hands on those butterscotch chips.

    Oh by the way, I have that very same pan! And hell, you must have greased it seriously well to get those blondies out in perfect squares; I usually line my pans with aluminium foil. Works like a charm every time.

    Reply
  3. ilyana

    Yummyyyyy! Welcome back to the blogging world, Z and I dare say those butterscotch chips will be the first thing I look out for when I head back home! I hope you and your family are well😀

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Laureen:
      Strangely enough I don’t really line my pans unless they’re for cakes (no room for error there). And lucky for me, I’ve never had stucktothepan problems!

      Ilyana:
      Thanks, babe🙂 Maybe I’ll bake a batch for you when you return!

  4. dramamama

    Those blondies look absolutely divine! I can just imagine having one (or four!) slices with a nice cup of tea. Yumms!!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Haha, for a moment there I was thinking “Why are you scolding my blondies??”😛 I must say I thought cinnamon chips were addictive, but butterscotch chips just knocked them off their feet!

  5. ophelia

    can i substitute em with choc chips if I can’t get my hands on em butterscotch chips? cos u totally inspired me to bake tomorrow. totally.

    Reply
  6. ummi

    Hi there….just bumped into this exciting cooking blog….I’ve scrolled down half of your recipes posted here…really nice!! Also bookmarked some of them…hope you don’t mind if I’m to share with others later….have a nice weekend :))

    Reply
  7. Mariya

    Hi! Was dropping by and saw this recipe and just wanted to say that this looks so yum! i love butterscotch. i’m going to have to try this recipe out for sure!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      ummi: Of course I don’t mind. Thanks for dropping by!🙂

      Mariya: I’m loving butterscotch, and tempted to drop a few chips into every bake these days!

  8. happygrub

    Never eaten a blondie.. heh, sounds jakon. I didn’t know butterscoth chips were so hard to find? Don’t they stock it at phoon huat?

    Reply
  9. Azlin

    Hi there, I think cold storage is currently the only store that carries butterscotch chips. Can’t find at ntuc or phoon huat. Not sure abt sun lik. I used them to make cookies. U shd try them in cookies. Delicious!!! For sure I’ll be trying em in your blondies soon!

    Reply
  10. shaffy

    this might be THE ONE to pull me out of my current baking slump. and i *happen* to have a bag of these darned-hard-to-find chips in my baking supplies box….

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      happygrub: Nope they don’t. PH has the whole range of choc chips (dark, milk, white, etc), but no butterscotch. You should try a blondie soon!

      Shannon: Awww, thanks Shannon!🙂

      Azlin: Mmmm cookies sound great! I still have about half a pack left, will probably give that a try soon. Thanks for the idea!🙂

      shaffy: Lucky you! You know those chips are just waiting for you to bake with them, don’t you? Give in to temptation…😛

  11. Mary

    These really do look delicious. This is my first visit to your blog, so I took some time to browse through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did that. You’ve created a great spot for your readers to visit and I I really enjoyed the time I spent here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    Reply
  12. Pingback: Butterscotch Chip Blondies « Sew Inspiring, Sew Me

  13. tattva78

    This looks yummy! Can I ask cos I’m a newbie to baking..When u say “mix”,”beat” and “stir” ,do you mean by hand/whisk or electric mixer etc? Appreciate any advice given!!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi sweetz, for this recipe I just used a wooden spoon. I usually mix blondies / brownies by hand, unless otherwise stated in the recipe. It’s coz I like my brownies / blondies fudgy and chewy, hence there isn’t a need to incorporate air into the batter (via electrical mixer). Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

