ramadhan baking: kek tapak kuda nutella (nutella horseshoe cake)

I am well aware that it has been slightly over a month since my last post, and thanks to the kind thoughts and concern by some of my readers and blog friends who dropped me a note (you know you are), I reckon a slight nudge was all it took to get me off my rear and resume sharing my bakes. You could call it a long writer-cum-baker’s block of sorts, I guess. Anyway, adhering to the mantra ‘better late than never’, here’s wishing all my Muslim readers a blessed and joyous month of Ramadhan! It has already been well into the second week of the holy fasting month now here in Singapore, and if my Twitter timeline is anything to go by, it seems that more people are keen on baking their own sweet treats for Eid, and have already begun their own oven experiments.

It appears to be the most opportune time then to kickstart this year’s edition of Ramadhan Baking, where I share some of my own ‘Eid-bakes’ experiments, as well as household favourites.

Being a huge Nutella fan, I’ve been eyeing this cake for quite some time now, but having had horrid experiences of cracked cake rolls over the years (I limit myself to attempt baking one swiss roll cake per year only), I had my trepidations. Undoubtedly, this would be half the effort (and fear), since it merely requires a fold, rather than a roll, but one can never be too sure, right?

Fortunately, this recipe allayed my fears once I saw how thick and fluffy the batter was. Besides needing to pipe the plain batter out in order to ensure the two colours wouldn’t bleed, the recipe is very much straightforward and hassle-free. The resultant rolls were fluffy, spongey,  and quickly wiped out, but most importantly, a breeze to work with for those who fear the cracking syndrome like I did. And perhaps, just perhaps, this is the nudge I need to give the much-coveted swiss roll a try next year for Eid?

Kek Tapak Kuda Nutella (Nutella Horseshoe Cake)
(adapted from here; makes 2 rolls)

3 eggs
2 egg whites
115 grams castor sugar
1⁄2 tablespoon ovalette
55 grams cake flour
1⁄2 teaspoon baking powder
70 grams melted butter
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1⁄2 teaspoon chocolate emulco
Nutella

Whisk eggs, sugar and ovalette at a low speed, then on medium for about 8-10 mins, until thick and fluffy.
Add in flour and baking powder, and beat until combined well. Mix in the melted butter and vanilla essence.

Divide the batter into two, and add chocolate emulco to one half. Pour the chocolate batter evenly into a lined and greased 10-inch square pan.
Scoop the plain batter into a piping bag, and pipe the plain batter evenly over the chocolate batter, being careful not to mix the two.
Bake in a preheated oven at 180°C for 20-25 mins (mine was done in 15mins).

Cool slightly, then remove cake from pan. Spread Nutella over the chocolate side while it’s still warm.
Cut the cake into two, and gently fold over lengthwise.

53 thoughts on “ramadhan baking: kek tapak kuda nutella (nutella horseshoe cake)

  1. the mister

    Mmmmm…. These taste lovely, indeed!

    I like it that they’re not too sweet!

    And please, please do give the swiss rolls a try!

    (Poko seconds the motion!)😀

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      When I’ve mustered enough courage, I will InsyaAllah🙂 But since I’m not a fan, I’ll be depending on you to finish em up! Amaciiiiam, ada bayekkk?😛

  2. Anita Menon

    Glad to have you bake oops…. back. The cake looks so yummy and the shot do everything to make it even more.

    Hope you have a lovely Ramadaan with family, food and prayers.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Anita: Awww thanks, sweetie!

      thefooddoctor: Ramadhan Kareem to you too🙂 These nutella cakes are definitely hitting the Eid table for me!

  3. Pingback: ramadhan baking: kek tapak kuda nutella (nutella horseshoe cake) (via :: epicurean escapism ::) « LIFE.IS.AWESOME

  4. thecoffeesnob

    Oh, I completely hear you about the writer’s block. And the more backlogged I get with my posts, the worst it seems to be.

    Anyway these really actually remind me of those thick peanut pancakes, just made so much better with the ever classic Nutella🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Yesyesyes, I’ve got so many backlog entries waiting to see the light of day! And oooh, now you’ve got me wanting those thick peanut pancakes ~haha😛

  5. lyemoon.

    My favourite Eid treat! Always look forward to this every year!
    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Btw, I can get cake flour from any baking shop is it? It is called “Cake Flour” on the pack?

    Reply
  6. shaffy

    every year, i see home bakers selling this. i told myself that there is no way i’m gonna buy them, cos i’ll need at least a dozen just for ‘personal taste-testing’. LOL! for posting this so thankyewwwwwwww for posting this recipe… though i think i’ll have to make it many-many-many-many-many-many times… cos i’ve a household of nutella freaks.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      carlysulli: It sure tastes delicious; give it a go!🙂

      shaffy: Haha, I love you need at least a dozen just for taste-testing!! We should totally live next door to each other; our whole lane would smell of Nutella😛

      Avanika: You can substitute the emulco with any chocolate flavouring / essence, and the ovalette is actually a sponge cake stabiliser, so you can find the equivalent (emulsifier / stabiliser) where you are🙂

  7. n1n4

    Assalam. Hi🙂 as for the eggs, is it 3 whole eggs or just 3 egg yolks? ’cause from the original recipe it doesn’t say whole egg. or is it ’cause this is half of the original recipe so you need 3 whole eggs? (I hope I’m not confusing you here :/)

    Reply
  8. Noob

    Hi, tried this recipe and it failed. The consistency already looked a bit off. It looked too runny so we were tickled n wondered how to pipe the batter. Haha.. After baking, it came out dense. Jelly-ish rather than cake. N it tasted just of eggs. Wonder what went wrong. Care to enlighten if anyone knows? Thx!🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi there, if your mixture’s runny, it means you didn’t beat it long enough. Unlike other cakes that call for the creaming method, sponge cakes pivot on the incorporation of air into the batter. This is done during the beating of sugar + eggs stage. You will need to beat it from low to medium for 8-10 mins, ie until the mixture doubles or triples in volume. The resultant mixture will be light, fluffy and airy, and not the least runny. You will also need to ensure not to deflate this air as you proceed on to the other steps.

      Hope that helps, sweetie! Don’t give up😉

  9. lina

    hi, i’ve just tried this recipe and i failed too just like Noob commented. my cake was really horrible.it looks like hard jelly and taste eggy. i did beat the mixture for about 10min and it did double up the mixture. i think its because i saw there were so many bubbles in my mixture, so i tap it at the end before puting into the oven to remove the bubbles. is this where it went wrong?

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi Lina, sorry to hear it! You shouldn’t tap your pan. In fact, you really ought to be gentle with your batter once you’ve already beaten the sugar + egg, and it has doubled. For all the steps following it, you must be careful not to overmix lest you deflate the air in the batter. We need all those air pockets to help the sponge rise. Wish I could show a step-by-step photo, but my oven’s down!

    2. ovenhaven Post author

      Okay I just realised that another step where you and Noob could’ve gone wrong is the addition of flour. Did you use mixer to incorporate it in? I should’ve mentioned to fold it in, so you won’t deflate the air.

  10. lina

    Hi ovenhaven, i’m going to try again tomorrow. By the way, is it okay to substitute ovalette with condensed milk since i couldn’t find ovalette and other cake stabilizer? and am i supposed to cover the top of the pan when putting in the oven so it wont burn on the top?

    Thanks for ur feedback!

    Reply
  11. lina

    yupp i use the electric mixer to mix the Hongkong flour (which i used) into the egg mixture(1st step). is this wrong? should i fold it manually instead?

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Yup, you should fold it in manually, taking care not to deflate the air. As for the condensed milk, it’s not a stabiliser at all, so it’s not substitutable. You can get the ovalette at ntuc/giant under the baking section near the yeast etc. Or you can try omitting it altogether; some sponge cakes don’t use it, but I personally haven’t tried that. And yes, you can cover loosely with aluminium foil if you’re afraid the top will be too brown.

      Best of luck, sweetie! Remember, be gentle with the batter!

  12. zie04

    Hi there,
    I’ve been trying recipe since last year & so far all has been good!
    Tried baking these lovelies & they are a great hit! My husband loves them. But then again, he loves everything that I bake/cook. Haha!
    There’s one problem though. My cake cracked when I fold it. Any idea what could I have done wrong?

    Regards,
    ~zie~

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi Zie, glad to hear your bakes have been turning out well🙂 With regard to the cracking, the only reason I can think of is that the cake is much too cool when you folded it.

      When you’re about to fold the cake, it should be cool, but not as long as it takes for normal cakes to cool down. This means that the moment it’s just a lil warm, but cool enough for you to handle it, say less than 5mins thereabouts, you can fold it already. The lil warmth from the cake ensures that it’s still soft and somewhat mould-able without cracking. Hope that makes sense!

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      It would be best if you use cake flour, or top flour, so the cake will be lighter. But you still can use self-raising; just be sure to omit the baking powder.

    1. Siti

      Wow you reply so fast((: thanksss!!! When you use unsalted butter do you still at salt like maybe a teaspoon?

  13. Khalishah

    Di dalam resepi original ada letak tepung susu jadi di dalam resepi ini pula perlu letak tepung susu juga? (:

    Reply
  14. nadihrah

    hi. i got confuse with 3 yolks and 2 white eggs. i read some comments which mention about using 5 eggs white. is that mean i just have to use all eggs white and just 3yolks?

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi Nadihrah, it’s 3 eggs 2 egg whites, meaning 3 egg yolks and 5 egg whites in total (coz 1 egg = 1 yolk + 1 white). Hope that clarifies everything!

  15. yositako

    Hi, just curious about your recipe. All the other recipes have more egg yolks while yours have more whites. How will this affect the outcome if I may ask? I tried a recipe with more yolks just now and while it tasted delicious, the cake cracked miserably when I tried folding it😦

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi there, it’s just a personal preference, really. There are several reasons why yours could have cracked; overbaking, and waiting to long to fold it (ie the cake was too cool).

  16. Pingback: Horseshoe | My Blog

  17. Fee

    Hi sis, it was my first attempt baking this yesterday. However it broke into two when I was trying to fold it. Hence I’m googling to find out how to improve.
    I read above that it might be due to overbaking / too cold? How do I know if it’s baked sufficiently?
    The taste was perfect but just to check, when you say whisk, does that mean using a mixer? Mix means using a spatula (folding in method)?
    For my very first try, I mixed all ingredients using mixer, and it didn’t work out. Second try, I used a spatula to mix the butter at the very last part before separating and adding choc emulco and it worked out well. Except that it broke.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi there! Yup, you’re right in your second method. As for how to ascertain if it’s fully baked, the surface should’t be sticky, and a skewer poked comes out clean. Did you fold it over while it’s still warm? Coz if you did, and it still broke, you might have overbaked it. Try again, don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

