surplus sunday: cinnamon chip brownie cornstarch ice-cream

I know what you’re thinking; how can anyone possibly have leftover brownies, right? Sheer sacrilege! Now before you start judging me with ‘So much for being a chocoholic, you can’t even finish a brownie?!’ thoughts, allow me to put your mind at ease by affirming that yes, these delectable cinnamon chip brownies were nothing short of well, delectable, and no, there were leftovers not because they were far from it. But when you find yourself with a carton of milk about to go bad in just a couple of days, the only thing you can think of is choosing to send it off with the sweetest ending, a most apt vicissitude to punctuate its unintended oversight, and conveniently pair it with an equally charming counterpart, from whom you’ve been extolling its rich deep flavour.

Now, for those of you who cannot possibly wrap your minds around the idea of a cornstarch ice-cream, fret not, for the ice-cream doesn’t have the slightest taste of cornstarch. With no eggs in the recipe, the cornstarch acts merely in its place as a thickener and binder of sorts, promising a rich and creamy homemade ice-cream.

Cinnamon Chip Brownie Cornstarch Ice-Cream
(adapted from here)

2 1โ„2 cups milk
1โ„4 cup sugar
pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla essence
3 tbsp cornstarch
leftover cinnamon chip brownies, cut into chunks

  1. Put 2 cups milk, the sugar and salt into a saucepan over medium-low heat. Cook until mixture begins to steam.
  2. In a bowl, blend cornstarch and the remaining milk until well-combined, and there are no lumps. Add cornstarch mixture to the pot. Cook, stirring, until it starts to thicken and barely reaches a boil, about 5 minutes. Immediately reduce heat to very low and stir for 5 minutes or so until thick. Stir in vanilla essence.
  3. If mixture has lumps, strain it before pouring into your ice-cream container. Chill until cool, for about 30mins.
  4. If you’re using an ice-cream maker, dump into the maker and follow the manufacturer’s instructions. Stir in brownie chunks, and freeze for 1 hour or so. If you don’t have an ice-cream maker, freeze the ice-cream and give it a good stir / whisk after 45 mins, and thereafter every 30mins, breaking any frost. When your ice-cream’s almost done (think soft serve consistency), stir in the brownie chunks. Keep until the ice-cream is completely frozen.

Have some leftovers, and need ideas? View past Surplus Sunday entries right here.

24 thoughts on “surplus sunday: cinnamon chip brownie cornstarch ice-cream

  1. the mister

    She cooks! She bakes! She can make ice cream!(and without the help of an ice cream machine too!)๐Ÿ˜€

    When I tasted the first dollop of the ice-cream, with the nomnom brownie bits in it, I was like “Awe-Some” Barney Style!

    We must make this home-made ice cream thing a regular affair, luv!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hahaha๐Ÿ˜› “Wadddddup!”

      Yupyup, most definitely. I’m thinking of Oreo ice-cream next, but of course you have the privilege to decide what goes in๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Faizah

    As if the cinnamon chip brownies weren’t awesome on its own, you had to turn it into ice cream and made it even awesome-R! Make a pint of it and send it this way!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Next time I’m making it (don’t worry, I still have some cinnamon chips left!), I’ll be sure to tweet some over๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Ellie @ Kitchen Wench

    I adore making ice cream (though I’m fortunate enough to have one of those churny gizmos), so I’m definitely keep to give this recipe a go – especially since it’s eggless! I imagine that the lack of eggs would result in an ice cream that tastes much ‘cleaner’ or lighter? Might not be the right word but I just can’t think of the English equivalent of the Korean word I have in mind right now! (>_<)

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      To be honest, I was actually expecting a lighter taste, but it was really rich! It’s almost like digging into a frozen panna cotta, if that makes any sense๐Ÿ˜›

  4. kangli

    you just got me wanting to bake brownies so i can make this… Never made ice cream before, didn’t know you don’t need an ice cream maker!!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      It’s my first time making ice-cream (I don’t own the maker), and I must say it takes a lil more effort with all the constant stirring, but hey, what matters is we’ve got ice-cream!๐Ÿ˜€

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Oh yes please! And refer to the original source; instead of 100% milk, you can use a combination of milk & cream, if you want it creamier๐Ÿ™‚ I was only trying to finish up my carton of milk before it expires, hence the 100% milk๐Ÿ˜›

  5. Pudding Pie Lane

    That’s a good idea adding cornstach, it’ll be good for those who can’t eat raw eggs๐Ÿ™‚ I love chocolate chip and brownies, putting them into an ice sounds ideal! Looks yummy๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      It sure is! I’m pretty iffy about eating anything with raw eggs in them, so this was the ideal recipe for me to try out. Thanks for dropping by๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Amanda

    Yum, this sounds like a winning combination! I was given an ice cream maker as a gift for CHristmas, and I still haven’t used it yet. Yes, pure sacrilege! This might just be the excuse I needed to break it in!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Thank you for all your comments๐Ÿ™‚ And Amanda, I’d be all over that ice cream maker if I had one! So what’re you waiting for, make some ice cream today!๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

