two is the best company [recipe: basic ice-cream cake]

A whole lot of things have been happening over the past week, sending me ricocheting through a whirlwind of emotional and physical state, so to speak. I’m not sure whether it applies to everyone, but in times of uncertainty as such, I almost always find myself scurrying to find a place within the vortex, a sanctuary of tranquility whilst I attempt to make sense of the cacophony of thoughts surrounding me. Being the typical introvert that I am, it is commonly the embrace of monotonous solitude and the inevitable inner voice that paints the setting of silent comfort, as I saw it. Yet as oftentimes I’ve mused, and as frequently proselytised by my mother to her youngest, it is the very silence that could be much too deafening for one’s repository to withstand. And it is then that I’ve grown to learn that just like warm toast with spread, identical twins with matching outfits, rainy afternoons with naps, and ice-cream with cake, certain journeys are meant to be taken with company.

Amidst a reminiscing conversation with the mister the other day;– you know, the type of conversation where you think back on your younger days filled with simplistic idealism, bad hair decisions, and the sheer silliness of it all;– it suddenly dawned upon me that here was a man who, as cliched as it may sound, had seen me at my best and my worst, and chose to stay through it all. This was the same man who recognised my non-verbalist nature and stern harsh exterior, obviously contradictory to my friendlier online persona, as a mere manifestation of my innate social awkwardness and stifling insecurities. And he chose to put a smile on my face when no one’s watching, leaving permanent dimples on my face more than five years on. This was the same man who had heard ad nauseum a young lady’s adamant refusal to change, insisting that she is her own man. And he chose to pursue on, only for her to realise along the years that he had never asked her to be someone she never was, but rather, guiding her to embrace and accept her real self, to be the someone she really is.

Exactly sixty-seven months later today, I am still learning new things about myself, and to have that one special man by my side in this journey, constantly giving me the faith and strength I need, I couldn’t be more blessed to have better company. Happy 28th birthday, you.

Basic Ice-Cream Loaf Cake

1 loaf of pound cake
1 tub of ice-cream, slightly softened

  1. Line a loaf pan completely with plastic wrap, and leave the sides overhanging.
  2. Trim the sides of the pound cake, measuring it to fit into the loaf pan.
  3. Slice the pound cake width-wise into 2-4 layers, according to your preference, and how deep your loaf pan is.
  4. Place the top layer (the one with crust) at the bottom of the pan. Spread a layer of softened ice-cream evenly on the surface of the cake layer.  Place another cake layer on top of it. Repeat until you fill up the loaf pan, ending with a cake layer. Cover the cake with the overhanging plastic wrap, and freeze the ice-cream cake overnight.
  5. To serve, unfold the overhanging plastic wrap, and turn the loaf tin over on a serving plate. Peel off the plastic wrap, and decorate the top of your ice-cream cake (the one with the crust) with chocolate syrup or butterscotch sauce.

17 thoughts on “two is the best company [recipe: basic ice-cream cake]

  1. the mister

    I really mean it when I say this…

    BEST CAKE EVAHHHHHH!!!😀

    Thank you, luv! If it were up to me, I’d have gobbled down the entire pan’s worth! Hehe…

    And thank you for being so sweet, and for the awesome cool presents (BTF 25th Anniversary DVD Set & GBII TRU Box Set, y’alls!)

    You’re simply, the best.🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      I hope to be able to make you another ice-cream cake soon, and this time with muh brownies, what say you?😉

      Glad you liked the presents, love. Happy birthday!!!

  2. Shaheen {The Purple Foodie}

    I find myself nodding along in absolute agreement as I read your post. Introvert? Yes. Harsh exterior, friendlier online personality? yes.

    I love the crumb of the cake. And if the mister says it’s the best cake, it must absolutely go on my to-bake list.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Lisa: Thanks for dropping by, Lisa! I’ll head over to your blog soon🙂

      Shaheen: And with your superb pastry skills, I’m pretty sure you could whip up a whole ice-cream cake with freshly baked cake and homemade ice cream🙂

  3. kang li

    you have just got me craving to make something, anything again… haven baked for what feels like ages! ahh.. ice cream cake with hot choc sauce….

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Oh then you should definitely bake something soon! Scratch the itch, scratch the itch *throws head back and laughs sinisterly*

Leave a Reply

