the one where i need a sugar fix [recipe: cinnamon toasties]

These days my appetite fluctuates erratically somewhere along the lines of mourning the dearth of any gastronomical urge, to an irrational ravenous dive into uncharted terrains of epicurean indulgence. Whilst my unpredictable appetite may not be all that new to me, the concomitant [metaphorical] headache that accompanies it each time never fails to annoy me. Yes, I do realise that at this point I sound like a fussy 3-year-old picking through her plate of greens. And yes, it doesn’t make it sound better by saying that my go-to choice of appetiser is laden with sugar. And I would pretty much have it for breakfast, brunch, lunch, tea … and well you get the idea.

Perhaps it’s the fact that they remind me so much of roti kok, a favourite tea-time snack of mine growing up;– the caramelised sugar lends itself to a crunchy and crispy surface, enveloping a soft texture beneath;– but then again, throw a cinnamon anything my way, and I’m definitely in. Everyone has their own perfected version of a cinnamon toast, I’m sure. Some toast the bread first, then quickly spread softened butter onto the warm surface, and sprinkle a cinnamon sugar mixture. Some make a concoction of softened butter, sugar and cinnamon, and spread it thickly on the bread slice before toasting it. And then there’s me who believes in two things: cinnamon should only be in the company of its equally tanned best friend, brown sugar; and everything tastes [and looks] better when they’re mini.

Cinnamon Toasties

2 slices of bread
butter, to spread
1 tbsp brown sugar
1⁄4 tsp ground cinnamon

  1. In a small bowl, mix together the brown sugar and ground cinnamon.
  2. Butter your bread slices, and sprinkle / spoon the cinnamon sugar mixture evenly on the surface, patting it down so it sticks.
  3. Toast your bread (but keep watch, so it doesn’t burn!) until the cinnamon sugar caramelises, and the surface appears dry. Cut each slice into 4 fingers, and eat happily!

25 thoughts on “the one where i need a sugar fix [recipe: cinnamon toasties]

  1. the mister

    “Tea time!” is what entered my head when I saw the pics…πŸ˜€

    And I’m a fan of the name! Toasties! Hehe…πŸ˜›

    Ooh oooh! I’ll get to the bottom of this roti kok mystery yet!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Okay next time we get to Giant, I’ll keep a lookout for it, okay? I’m SURE you’ve eaten it before! But if you haven’t, more for me, I guess ~heheπŸ˜›

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention the one where i need a sugar fix [recipe: cinnamon toasties] Β« :: epicurean escapism :: -- Topsy.com

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hope you’ll like it! I’ve always been intrigued by fairy breads, but I don’t eat margarine/butter on its own, so you’ve just given me an idea to incorporate sprinkles onto my toast!πŸ˜€

  3. Joanne

    I used to eat this all the time as a kid and I swear, when I thought of it, it was pretty much like I had invented fire. earth-moving deliciousness.

    Reply
  4. happygrub

    roti kok haha! thats like a lost chilhood treat isnt it?

    hey i bought u something fm e UK! i immediately thought of u when i saw it.. must meet uk k!!!

    Reply
  5. onceuponarecipe

    I used to eat cinnamon toast nearly every day for breakfast when I was a kid. So yummy and comforting! Thanks for bringing back a great memory, and reminding me of a delicious snack/breakfast!πŸ™‚
    Amanda

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi Amanda, thanks for dropping byπŸ™‚ And wow, nearly every day! You must’ve been looking forward to breakfast as a kid thenπŸ˜€

  6. Sunny

    I STILL have this for breakfast. My mom used to make one slice of cinnamon and one slice of melted cheddar. Oh, the memories! It might sound gross but I would smoosh the two pieces of toast together and make a sandwich out of them. Don’t knock it till you try it!
    http://pantrychef.wordpress.com

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      I don’t eat cheese, so I’m going on the ‘eeek’ bandwagon there, but the mister loves cinnamon AND cheese, so it sure sounds like a great idea for his breakfast!

  7. Pingback: one for the breakfast fiend [recipe: cinnamon french toast cups with caramelised apples] « :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

