in search of the one

Before I begin, here’s wishing all my Muslim readers a blessed Eid-ul’adha! I’ve been receiving mails from readers asking whether I’m already married, whether I’m okay, and basically why the silence. I know I’ve been missing in action for almost a month, and thank you for all of your concern, but no, I’m not married yet; yes I’m okay; and I’ve been busy with the preparations. Having said that, while I’d love to say I’m back for good, I’ve actually returned for a very short post, and to let you know that I’ll be pretty silent for a while, but I’ll still be tweeting away, of course, so if you’d like to hear me ramble incessantly about randomness, find me there! Also, I’m not so sure when the next bake [and post] would be, but I’ll be sure the first bake I’ll share as an official missus will be a great one. And apologies in advance if the coming post(s) would be non baking-related.

Not many people know this, but it’s been a personal mission of mine to pwn bake the marble cake, and not just any marble cake, but more specifically kek marble which basically translates to the same thing in the Malay language, but bears oh-so-much meaning to me. Kek marble traditionally has to be moist, heavy, be firm enough to dip into a cup of tea, yet soft enough to slowly melt in your mouth with every bite. And how do I know this? Because my beloved mom happens to be a kek marble connoisseur-cum-purist, and after having tried 5 different recipes, nothing swept her off her feet, and I was determined to still find the right one. Call it an obsession, but just like how the mister labels mac & cheese as “not as nice as yours [mine]”, I find it personally gratifying to be able to cook/bake a favourite dish/bake of the loved ones in your life. And finally today, for my mother’s birthday this year (yes, all those attempts were for her birthdays and Mothers’ Day), I may have just found the one. She may not have said much nor joined hands with me as we danced around in jubilation with me screaming “I did it!”, but she ate one slice after another, then another, and another. Then said in all seriousness, “Make sure you don’t lose this recipe”. That was enough to end the search for me.

Happy birthday, Mother!

Kek Marble Susu (Milk Marble Cake)
(adapted from here)

250g butter
230g castor sugar
2 tsp ovalette
4 eggs
60g condensed milk
270g cake flour
1 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tbsp milk
1 tsp chocolate emulco

  1. Preheat oven to 170°C.
  2. Beat the butter, sugar and ovalette until light and fluffy.
  3. Add in the eggs one by one, beating well after each addition.
  4. Add in the condensed milk, and mix well.
  5. Sift the flour together with the baking powder, and add slowly to the mixture, until it is well incorporated.
  6. Divide the batter into two, leaving one plain, and adding the chocolate emulco, cocoa powder and milk to the other.
  7. Drop alternate spoonfuls of the two batters into a 9-inch square pan, lined with baking paper. Bake at 170°C for 30-35mins.

25 thoughts on “in search of the one

  1. the mister

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww……….. That’s so sweet!

    YAY!!!!!!! You finally nailed it! I’m so proud of you, dear!😀

    This hiatus post is so bitter sweet… Don’t worry, you’ll be back in full force soon enough!🙂

    Reply
  2. Norza

    I just tried doris’ marbled cake yday and bet that recipe didn’t pass with your mum as well. Cos my mum took a slice and commented, “i have a gd recipe too…” hehee. Shall try this recipe. I noticed that cake recipes by orang kita tend to be a bit on the long-winded side.🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Haha, I’ve tried that one too, and tak pass😛 Yesyes, very long-winded and usually involves ovalette / emulco. So now I’m actually going to have to look around for other recipes that use those, kalau tak wasted je!

  3. Xiaolu @ 6 Bittersweets

    Congrats! I don’t think I’ve ever worked so hard to find one recipe. It’s not that I haven’t liked any dish enough, but I’ve just been overwhelmed most time by the various possible recipes I collect. Anyway, this looks truly tasty.

    Reply
  4. Wei-Wei

    Aww, I love your conversation between you and the mister – he’s the only one that comments faster than me😀 Anyway, this recipe does look perfect. I’m curious, though: what’s ovalette? And chocolate emulco…?

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hehehe😛 To be perfectly honest, I’m not too sure myself about those two ingredients! Malay traditional bakes always call for those, so I specifically went out to buy them. From what I know, ovalette works as an emulsifier to lighten sponge cakes so that they’re light and airy. As for the emulco, I think it’s like a thick concentrate / extract. I’m pretty sure you could do without the emulco (it kinda tastes like chocolate syrup actually!), but for the ovalette, I’m not sure what’s a substitute. Sorry, dearie!

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Thanks, dearie🙂 Ovalette’s an emulsifier commonly used in this region to stabilise cakes (you can use any emulsifier), and chocolate emulco’s as good as chocolate-flavoured extract or chocolate syrup.

  5. fattydumpling

    This cake looks so pretty—and don’t worry if the upcoming posts are not baking-related. If they have ANYTHING to do with flowers, a dress, food, or a wedding cake…we’d all forgive you, I’m sure ;] (no pressure, though) Congratulations—this is too exciting.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Miss M: Thanks, sweetie!🙂

      fattydumpling: Hahaha! Thanks for the wish😀 I’ve yet to receive official photos, so I doubt there’ll be a wedding-related post to come😛

  6. Pingback: nine: marble-less « snap & roll

  7. Sarah@buttered-up

    I’m sooooo trying this. I’ve been looking for a marble cake of this texture for so long. It reminds me of the store-bought ones i Egypt that have that exact texture. Yum! Thanks for hunting down the recipe and good job with your mom.🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hope you’ll like it! I can’t wait to give it a go again, but ynoe, with good things, it’s always best to keep them ‘exclusive’, and not bake it on too many occasions😛

  8. Pingback: Marble Cake « Crustabakes

  9. su

    hey, do u know where i can get the ovaette and emulco? i’m currently studying in australia and wld love to make this for hari raya (:

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi su, so sorry for the late reply! Unfortunately, I’ve no idea where to get ovalette and emulco in Australia. However, a reader has tried this recipe without ovalette, and it was a success, so I guess you can simply omit it🙂 As for emulco, it really is simply to give the chocolate batter a darker colour, so if you can’t find it, you can just add a bit more cocoa powder. Hope that helps, su!

Leave a Reply

