yellow and brown for breakfast and dessert

I’m not much of a citrus person;– my closest lemon preference would probably be in the form of a rectangular thin crackly crackers sandwiching a sweet lemon cream of sorts in the bottom of an old-school assorted Khong Guan biscuit tin, which on hindsight may actually just contain artificial lemon essence to begin with. And I’m certainly aware of, but do not partake in the dichotomy between the pro and anti-lemon/citrus camps, since I’ve never actually tasted anything strictly lemon, well beyond my cowardly grating of lemon zest into my strawberry muffins (aside: I’ve added lemon to anything strawberry ever since the discover that lemon + strawberry is perfect). But of all the lemon desserts that taunt me out there, nothing quite intrigues me as the luscious spread known to have even won the hearts of  some of my non-citrus fan friends.

I do know, however, that I’m very much a dessert person, and having something sweet seemed the perfect pairing and balance for something tart. Unfortunately not everyone is a self-proclaimed chocoholic like myself, so as much as the sound of chocolate fudge was ringing incessantly in my ear, I decided to opt for a more popular choice of smooth golden brown indulgence, with a little touch (or taste if you prefer) of adult, so to speak.

So when the mister and I headed down to Farhan’s lovely home last weekend, I knew exactly what to bring along for the hostess. Of course I was going out on a limb there, since firstly, I was defying the unspoken rule of sticking to tried-and-tested recipes when bringing a gift, and secondly, I wasn’t quite sure how she took to citrus and caramel.  But I reckoned if the spreads didn’t work out, I still had time to make amends with some oven magic. And since the hostess loves her weekend breakfasts, and never fails to dish out great desserts, perhaps it wouldn’t hurt to have a little lemon curd to go with her toast, and a drizzle of dark chocolate caramel sauce over her ice-cream.

Thanks for having us over, Farhan, H, and Hana!

Lemon Curd
(adapted from here)

3 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 cup lemon juice
zest of 3 lemons
1⁄2 cup butter

  1. In a double boiler, mix the eggs together, then pour in the lemon juice, zest and sugar. Whisk until the mixture becomes pale in colour.
  2. Continue whisking until the mixture begins to thicken (enough to coat the back of a spoon), then remove from the heat and continue stirring until there are no lumps.
  3. Add in the butter and mix in until it melts, and is fully incorporated.
  4. Cool the curd slightly, and transfer to a sterile jar. It will keep refrigerated for about 3 weeks.

Dark Chocolate Caramel Sauce
(adapted from here)

1 cup sugar
85 grams butter
1⁄2 cup thickened cream
3 ounces bittersweet / dark chocolate, chopped

  1. In a deep 2-quart saucepan, heat the sugar under moderate high heat.
  2. As the sugar begins to melt, stir vigorously with a whisk or wooden spoon. As soon as the sugar comes to a boil, stop stirring. You can swirl the pan a bit if you want.
  3. As soon as all of the sugar crystals have melted (the liquid sugar should be dark amber in color), immediately add the butter to the pan. Whisk until the butter has melted.
  4. Once the butter has melted, take the pan off the heat. Count to three, then slowly add the cream to the pan and continue to whisk to incorporate. ( Note than when you add the butter and the cream, the mixture will foam up considerably, so be careful!) Whisk until caramel sauce is smooth.
  5. Add the finely chopped chocolate and stir until it is melted and incorporated.
  6. Cool the sauce slightly, then transfer to a sterile jar. It will keep refrigerated for about 3 weeks. Warm before serving.

20 thoughts on “yellow and brown for breakfast and dessert

  1. the mister

    Whoa! The first photo on the left looks like you got that outta Pooh’s pot o’ hunny!😛

    I love these jars. They look so elegant and classic (and of course, are priced so so cheaply!)🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Ooooh Pooh! Hehehe😀 Too bad I didn’t get a shot of the caramel sauce in the final bottle, now THAT was a good investment. And now that you’ve addressed my obsession / fascination with jars, don’t be surprised if I start having one in every size😛

  2. Alison

    Wow, I’d love to be your friend! Haha, the two spreads look very delicious! I can’t believe you’re not in the pro-lemon camp though…lemon desserts are yummy😛. I’m sure your friend enjoyed these!🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Wei-Wei: Ynoe, I’ve never tried a lemon tart before! But now that I’ve tried lemon curd, I’m pretty much game for any lemon bakes😛

      devourslowly: Hehe, not a problem! Hope you’ll like it🙂

      Alison: That’s the thing! I’ve been too much of a chocoholic to actually explore beyond chocolate desserts, but trust me, after having had the yummy lemon curd, I’m definitely going to try lemon desserts!

  3. devourslowly

    I made it I made it! We halved the sugar because we are kind of obsessed with lemony tartness and served it with crispy thin bread, strawberries and TEA!!! Yummm… Thank you so much for sharing the recipe – it is super!

    Reply
  4. Cookie

    I love lemon curd! Where i am now, hubby call it the ‘angmoh kaya’! I get it for about £1+ a jar… haha, call me lazy but at this price, I hardly find incentive to make my own. Having said, yours looks so good, and I will surely want to be your host too!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Interestingly, when the mister asked me what lemon curd was, I described it as the Western kaya too! Haha😛 And wow, if lemon curd tasted that cheap here, I think I’d just grab one off the shelf as well😛

  5. oneordinaryday

    What lovely hostess gifts! I make chocolate sauce often, but I’m definitely going to try chocolate/caramel now. Thanks for inspiring me and my taste buds!

    Reply
  6. thecoffeesnob

    I’m a huge lemon fan but I have strangely enough never tried lemon curd- something about the name and its texture doesn’t just appeal to me.

    The caramel sauce though sounds like it would be incredible drizzled over vanilla ice cream!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      When you mentioned the name, I got reminded of how the mister misheard me, and went “Lemon curdle? Why would anyone wna eat something curdled?” Haha! And yes, take it from the one who’s tried it out; the dark choc caramel sauce was amazing over vanilla ice-cream!

  7. amy

    you know how much i loveeeee citrus-y stuff and lemon curd is AWESOME TTM! send me a jar of that lemon curd and i will love you till the end of time! hahahhaa. my love is definitely lesser than the mister!

    Reply
  8. Avanika (Yumsilicious Bakes)

    Both of these look so good🙂 Gorgeous jars, I’m so envious of them. I’ve been looking for such jars all over, can’t find them anywhere😦 And yellow and brown are probably my two favorite dessert colors, my citrus love is just a close second to the chocolate mania!❤

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      amy: Ah yes, my citrus-fiend of a friend😉 I’m pretty sure these would transport well, and maybe I could swap it for some of your cookies? Hehehe😛

      Avanika: Awww, wish I could send some to you! I’m beginning to think that citrus is slowly rising up my lovelist, all thanks to the curd. But chocolate is definitely number one!

  9. Pingback: Tots playdate #2 « happygrub

  10. Karen

    Hi! The lemon curd looks delicious and doesn’t look too difficult to make. Normally, I’ll just make lemonade with my lemons. Think I’ll give it a try and have it with toasted bread together with a glass of lemonade for breakfast this coming weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

