the best thing about being a baker

You could say it was a great reminder, you could call it providence of sorts, or you could just simply say that my curiosity [and perhaps eagerness to bake anything new] is easily piqued. Whatever it was, the moment I read the latest comment I received on my Nutella Chocolate Bread Pudding post, I knew precisely what I wanted to bake the very next day. As I had mentioned in my previous post, I have not only been nursing a writer’s block, but also have been quite stumped with regard to what’s next on the to-bake list. That, coupled with an abundance of milk in the refrigerator;– a result of not resisting the 2-for-1 deal at the mart;– as well as leftover baguette sitting by the counter, which I must concede is not exactly stale yet, paved the way for an easy choice of quick bake to start the morning.

As some of you would know, I’m not diagnosed lactose-intolerant, but my stomach can’t take any dairy products in its original form. I don’t take cheese, mayonnaise, sour cream, milk, butter, which concomitantly means that I don’t take any of its by-products if they have an overwhelming taste of dairy. Case in point: bread pudding, or bread and butter pudding, as it’s more commonly referred to here.

Bread pudding and me don’t exactly go well together. The only bread pudding I’ve had and loved (besides my aforementioned Nutella one) is my mother’s roti kukus, which is a steamed pandan (screwpine leaves) – flavoured bread pudding. As much as I’ve eyed all the traditional English bread and butter puddings they serve in cafes and hotel breakfast buffets, just a bite gets me rushing to the washroom or elegantly spitting it out into my napkin. With the sister and father being fans, I guess you could say it is one of those bakes I sincerely wish I could love.

And when every version you’ve tried out there is either much too milky or custard-y, I guess the best thing about being a baker is to take a little nudge and adapt a much-craved bake to suit your own tastebuds.

Bread Pudding
(serves 4-6)

4 thick slices of day-old baguette, cubed
1 1⁄2 cup milk
3 eggs
1⁄2 tsp cinnamon powder
1⁄2 cup loosely-packed brown sugar
1⁄2 cup raisins / dates (optional)

  1. Preheat oven to 170°C.
  2. Grease the bottom of an ovenproof casserole / baking dish, and arrange the bread cubes in it.
  3. If using raisins or dates, sprinkle them over the bread.
  4. In a large bowl, whisk the milk, eggs, cinnamon powder and brown sugar together.
  5. Pour the mixture over the bread, lightly pushing the bread down to ensure that every cube is covered by the milk. Leave aside for 10 minutes for the mixture to be absorbed.
  6. Bake at 170°C for about 35 – 40 minutes, until the surface is dry.

25 thoughts on “the best thing about being a baker

  1. the mister

    New template! Spiffy!😀

    I did a second take on the second pic coz the background looked like cheesy lasagne!😛

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Thanks, sweetie! It’s great being a baker, isn’t it? And judging from your recent blondies, there’s no doubt you’re great at modifying🙂

  2. Norza

    yah…ure rite. The good thing abt baking is i can chg the sweetness, choc level or anything in the bakes i prepare. And that is the same with cooking. My hb will not anythin with cream in/on his food (i love lots of cream on my desserts!) so i avoid those with cream though sometimes i dont tell him there whipping cream in my cake frosting. Hehe.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Norza: For him not to detect cream in the frosting, it must mean you did a great job! I guess ignorance is a bliss in his case😛 And yes, as you’d have already guessed, I pretty much try to add in chocolate / Nutella into almost everything I bake ~haha. That’s the best thing abt being a baker!

      crustabakes: Oh, if baby food tastes as good as bread pudding, then sign me up! Thanks for dropping by🙂

  3. Allie

    Hello! Finally found someone who also don’t like dairy products. So do I! And I get alot of flak for that…they wonder why I still bake with butter, eat ice cream etc…haha.

    Anyway, yes, it’s great being a baker cos you can tweak the recipes to your liking! And choose what to bake and what not to😛. Still, I never liked bread pudding but yours look extremely delicious! Tempted to try out your adapted recipe too🙂. Enjoy!!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Finally someone who understands! *hi-fives* I get a lot of ‘Why can’t you eat this, if you can eat that?’ and a whole lot of ‘Oh it really doesn’t taste like dairy! You should try!’, which almost never turns out good for me😛

      You should come up with your own, and perhaps you’d be a bread pudding convert too🙂

  4. Aimei

    Even though I’ve read much about bread pudding, I’ve yet to try it so far. Your close-up photography makes it look so good and comforting.🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Avanika: Thanks, dearie!🙂

      Aimei: Awww thanks, sweetie. You should give bread pudding a go! Throw in your own tweaks, and it’d be a perfect comforting quickfix🙂

  5. thecoffeesnob

    GT’s that way with dairy products too- just not so much that he can’t stomach it but his tastebuds not particularly a big fan of anything that tastes too strongly of dairy. Anyway bread pudding sounds like such a perfect occasional treat for breakfast- easy to whip up and so damned delicious!🙂

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      I guess with bread pudding added to my list of favourites, it holds true that I can practically eat bread for every meal of the day! I’m looking forward to try out different flavours now🙂

  6. maameemoomoo

    Strange!! My comment didn’t appear~

    Anyway, i was saying…

    “Thank you dear!! This bread pudding looks waaaaay awesome! Exactly like one of those i cannot resist from the good hotels… heeee!

    Bet you will be seeing my blog entry on your bread pudding very very soon!!”

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Yikes, I didn’t receive any comment from you! Thanks for reposting🙂

      And I sure hope you’ll like this! I think I still prefer my Nutella chocolate one, but then again, it’s coz I’m a chocoholic through and through😛

  7. oneordinaryday

    This looks delicious, but I’d be the nerd at the table who was picking the raisins out of my serving. : )

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      And I’d be the geek right next to you, doing the same. Haha, I included raisins and dates due to popular demand, but meticulously pushed mine aside😛

  8. Mariya

    uff this looks so good right now. i’ve been meaning to make bread pudding lately i have been craving it. and i agree with you, sometimes we have to adapt certain dishes to our liking, so we don’t have to spit it out in the bathroom haha🙂

    Reply
  9. notjamesjustjess

    Just made and eaten this bread pudding for breakfast YUM. Totally worth failing at making bread for🙂 I left the bread to soak overnight, so goooood! Tomorrow, nutella bread pudding woop

    Reply

Leave a Reply

