our own love story

To my dearest twinnie turned mister turned fiancé,

It is times like this that I wish I had written the perfect stanzas to give you the faintest inkling of just how much you mean to me. In spite of the fact that we both had agreed in our first online messages to each other that it is oft much easier to speak in poetic verses when one is melancholic, as opposed to the immense felicity I feel therein.

Truth be told, I had consciously refrained from writing an anniversary post this year, simply because there are certain things that transcend mere words, and to be stuttering away in undecipherable non-sequitur of sorts may not be the best of ideas. And yet, here I am.

Even though this post comes exactly two weeks late, I just couldn’t help but be reminded of writing all this down, after having had gone through the marriage preparatory course with you a couple days back. You see, when the counsellor asked what’s so special about you, what is it that I love so much about you that is in no one else, what is it that made me decide to spend the rest of my life with you, I may have rattled off the few things off the top of my head at that point in time, but believe you me, I could have spent the whole of that 3 hour session just going on and on and on.

And it is for that very reason I have to admit I felt a little disappointed with myself for not having said more, for saying “That’s about all I can think of right now”. As much as everything came from the heart, I felt like it was the perfect opportunity to spell everything out to you, to let you know that you are special to me for reasons more than what was written in blue ink on the counsellor’s notepad. That I must list everything down and let you know.

But strangely enough, these sugar cookies I baked for our 5th anniversary reminded me of something more important than telling a complete stranger the things I love about you. And that is, every one has their own love story;– some may have been college sweethearts, some may have met during a wedding, some may have met online;– and just like these cookies, their love came from the same place, the deepest of their hearts, but with each distinctive journey carved together as two, just like the cookies, every love story takes on a different myriad of colours and appearance. That what looked like a butt imprint on my cookie appeared to be the perfect heart shape to you.

And that’s all that matters. For us to know our own love story. Deep in our hearts.

With love,
the one who can’t wait to be married to you.

Sugar Cookies
(adapted from here)

1 cup butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla essence
3 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder

  1. Cream together the butter and sugar until it is really light and fluffy.  Add the eggs and the vanilla essence.
  2. Add the dry ingredients and mix until well. At this point, you may divide the dough and colour them with food gel (1 tsp will do) if you like.
  3. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and chill for at least 3-4 hours or overnight.
  4. Roll the dough out and cut using your favorite cookie cutter. Or if you prefer making patterns with your coloured doughs, roll the doughs into logs and arrange them according to your design, then just slice away!
  5. Bake the cookies in a 170°C for 8-10 minutes.

49 thoughts on “our own love story

  1. the mister

    Awwww…. That was such a lovely post, dear.🙂

    Happy manyversary, luv! Like I always say, “May we have a gajillion bazagillion more, insya Allah!”

    And I love that first photo! Is that the Daiso plate?! Hehe…

    On a related note…

    It’s a lil more than 3 months away!!!

    I CAN’T WAIT!!!🙂

    I❤ YOU!!!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      InsyaAllah, Ameen. Hehe, yup it’s the Daiso plate!😛 And yessah, the countdown begins; can you believe it’s August already?? The months are gonna go by real quick, I just know it! Haha. I love you too, dearest!

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Ju: Haha, you’re so cute lah, dearie! Thanks for the wish🙂

      Natalie: Thanks, Natalie! But seriously, I made more butt imprint cookies, than heart-shaped ones ~haha😛

      mynakedlunch: Thanks, dearie! Yes, superduper excited! Hopefully everything will go smoothly, insyaAllah🙂

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Thanks, dearie! We still have quite a couple of things left to be attended to, but easy does it! It’s gonna be worth the work and wait🙂

  2. Adriana

    this post was mad lovely! so romantic and pretty and beautiful and such a cute love story! awesome!

    the cookies are super cute! i love the shiny colors! happy anniversary!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Samantha: When it comes to anniversaries, I always believe making / baking on your own is much better! Of course what I come up with can never match up to bakeries, but hey, it’s the thought that counts right?😛 Happy anniversary in advance!

      Adriana: Awww thanks, sweetie! I actually had light blue with red in mind, but ended up taking the wrong colour (bimbotic moment, I know!), so it ended up looking watermelon green-red instead😛 Thanks for the wish!

  3. Prerna

    Hey thr,
    Accidentally came across your blog and I have to say Thankgod for accidents! Many good things get discovered because of that just like I discovered yours🙂
    Lovely space you have here.
    Keep up the good work!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Prerna: Awww aren’t you sweet! Thanks for dropping by, Prerna🙂

      Percicilan: Ah yes, we’re one of the cyber couples ~haha😛 Coincidentally, that’s one of my all-time favourite romantic movies! Now I feel like watching it again🙂 Oh, if you do try the recipe, remember that it’s sugar cookies, so they really taste better iced / decorated (sugar icing + milk/water). But of course I just skipped that, and had these with ice-cream😛

  4. shaffy

    ooouuuuhhhhhhh……. cho chweet!!!

    all the best as you count down to that much anticipated day… and many more happy anni(s) to come🙂 keep bakin’ and cookin’ (for him) and entertainin’ (for us blog readers, dear)

    insya-allah, all goes well for you two sweethearts!

    Reply
  5. maameemoomoo

    I wanted to comment much earlier when there were just 2 comments… but malu-lah… sekali i tiang lampu how?😛

    Congrats and all the best for your wedding preparation! Such a sweet post (withmment-form-text2

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      kangli: Hehe, thanks Kangli! And thanks for dropping by.

      Janice: Hi, Janice! I just used Wilton’s color gel, and added it to the dough. I’ve updated the recipe instructions for you🙂

  6. Pingback: i want to make cookies for you « Han

  7. Xiaolu

    What a touching post. I think it’s beautiful, the uniqueness of the course of each couple’s love. And you’re right, it’s most important that you two know and treasure it. These cookies are very pretty as well.

    Reply
  8. Pei Lin

    Awwwwwwwwww! What a heartwarming tears jerking post! Did you and your hubby-to-be meet online?? Haha So did we! Congrats and have many more happening years ahead!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

