surplus sunday: nutella chocolate bread pudding

Bread is one of those constant must-haves in our kitchen. The parents have their baguettes toasted with butter and sugar for tea, I have my whites toasted or grilled for sandwich dinners, and ever so now and then all of us make our own signatures with our favourite spreads for breakfast. It shouldn’t come as a surprise now that between three to four different flavours, my choice of spread has always been Nutella.

Hence it is only natural that when I found four bread slices a day past their expiration (shocking, I know!), regardless of the household’s different preferences, I still insisted on having them with Nutella.

Given that it’s been a little more than a year since I posted the recipe for Nutella bread pudding (for one), and yet it remains to be one of the most searched recipes on this site, it definitely calls for a revisit, this time with a larger serving, and some modifications. Or rather, a simple revisit with everything I could find in my pantry. One thing still remains unchanged though, it’s still an ease to bake and eat!

Nutella Chocolate Bread Pudding
(serves four)

4 slices of day-old bread
1 egg
1 cup chocolate milk
2 tsp sugar
Nutella

  1. Preheat oven to 170C.
  2. Spread Nutella over a slice of bread, roll it up, and cut into four rolls. Place the rolls into a casserole dish.
  3. In a bowl, whisk egg, chocolate milk and sugar.
  4. Pour the mixture onto the rolls. Leave aside for about 5 – 10 minutes, for the mixture to be absorbed.
  5. If desired, you may drizzle some Nutella on top.
  6. Bake at 170C for 20-30 mins, depending on your preferred consistency. Leave to cool for about 5-10mins.

66 thoughts on “surplus sunday: nutella chocolate bread pudding

  1. the mister

    Nice lighting in the pics, luv! Very warm and toasty!๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh yah, talking about expired bread, when eating bread, always check for mould, dear. Regardless of the expiration date!

    If you remember my ‘happily-ate-two-slices-of-bread-with-eggs-and-later-found-half-of-loaf-covered-with-black-mould incident’.

    *shudders*

    Reply
  2. middleagedcrazywoman

    All I can say is “OHMYGAWD!!” I am so trying this tomorrow for breaky!!! I love nutella!

    ps – have you ever been to a Cora’s Restaurant? They have this giant crepe filled with warm nutella and banana slices, drizzled with more warm nutella and whipped cream. OHMYSTARS it is wonderful!

    M

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      That sounds really drool-worthy! You can’t go wrong with chocolate and banana combination, and to top it off with more Nutella is just heavenly!

  3. happy homebaker

    I have come across many photos of bread pudding, and so far none has generated any interest for me to even look closely at the recipe. Yours has just inspired me to want to try it out right away even though I have no slice bread, and can you believe it, I have not even tasted a bread pudding before?! This will be on our breakfast table this coming weekend, I donno whether I will like it (I like nutella though!) but I am very sure my kids will love it!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Awww, I’m honoured you’d want to give this a try! I’m not much a bread pudding person either, coz I have an aversion to milky things, so I definitely baked this over the longer side of the duration. For kids, perhaps you’d want to bake it between 20-25mins, so it will be soggy๐Ÿ™‚ Hope they’ll like it!

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Chocolate Shavings: And it tastes equally amazing!๐Ÿ˜›

      Adriana: I hope you’ll give it a try! I always make the single serving one (link in the post) when I have a late night craving๐Ÿ˜›

      Jennifer: Hehe, it’s definitely for a chocoholic!๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Wei-Wei

    I’ve been getting a bit obsessed with bread pudding lately after sampling it at a buffet, so this post comes at perfect timing. Oh, if adding nutella and chocolate to an already sinful dessert is wrong, then I don’t ever want to be right.

    Wei Wei

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      fattydumpling: ‘ Deviously delicious’;– i like that! And yes, in the perfect world, Nutella would be in every thing, for every meal of the day.

      Wei-Wei: Oh trust me, adding Nutella to anything can only make it oh.so.right.๐Ÿ˜‰

      fodd-4tots: Hope you’ll like it as much as I did!๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Xiaolu @ 6 Bittersweets

    My word, I’m pretty sure I’ve never seen such an amazing bread pudding. I had chocolate bread pudding on a cruise in college and thought that was the best it could get, but nutella makes EVERYTHING better and that’s a fact.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      michelle: Hehe thanks! I thought it’d be a better way to have more nutella, as compared to my previous recipe๐Ÿ˜›

      Xiaolu: Ain’t that the truth! I hear ya, sista!

  6. percicilan

    if the bread is wholemeal or rye etc, will this recipe work?
    it looks dangerously fattening but something i won’t say no to. like tapai goreng. heh

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Haha! Yup, any type of bread will work, though of course the texture will be a little different. I’d love to give this a try with wholemeal. It’d probably have that grainy hearty taste that’d be perfect with the nutty taste of the nutella.

  7. thecoffeesnob

    Ah Nutella, the one thing that seems to have captured everyone’s heart universally!

    I really can no longer keep Nutella in the house for I’m quite happy to sit with a jar of it and a spoon, and happily call that dinner๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  8. ApplesandOnions

    Gorgeous! I love Nutella but have had trouble baking with it. I recently made brownies with Nutella and they were good, but not great. I’m going to try this and hope for better! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Carla: Do give it a try!๐Ÿ™‚

      ApplesandOnions: I know what you mean! I’ve made Nutella brownies as well, but as much as I hate to admit it, it just tasted like brownies with melted chocolate, which is great nonetheless, just not what I had expected๐Ÿ˜›

      Patricia Scarpin: Haha, wish I could send some over to you, sweetie!๐Ÿ™‚

    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Juliana: Hope you’ll like it!๐Ÿ™‚

      Avanika: *hi-fives!*

      hannah: I’ve always wanted to make bread puddings out of croissants, but croissants never stay long enough in the house๐Ÿ˜›

  9. maya

    I love this!!! I remember making it the first time and followed the stated amount of Nutella… and I was like “Hah sikitnya!” So now I just slather copious amounts of each slice of bread. Lol!

    Reply
  10. Cookie Cutter

    I have a major crush on bread. Seriously, I can have it for all 3 meals although my folks refuse to accept it as a “proper meal”. As a kid, I used to eat Nutella off the jar (ok, and once in a while now)๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      maya: Oooh you’ve made this before? Which recipe did you use? Yup, when it comes to Nutella, I say just slather it all on!

      Cookie Cutter: Haha, there are just some things which transcends age, and Nutella’s definitely on top of the list๐Ÿ˜›

  11. linda

    Yum! Love that you used milk chocolate, now that I type this I remember you don’t ‘do’ regular milk…. And Nutella, what doesn’t improve with Nutella. I like to improve my spoons with it he, he!

    Sorry for the long absence, I have a very, very low profile the blogosphere these days…

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      linda: Haha, I love how Nutella improves your spoons๐Ÿ˜› It’s okay, Linda, I hope you’re settling down well!๐Ÿ™‚

      Helene: Thanks, Helene!๐Ÿ™‚

      BitterSweet: Hehe, thanks! It tastes really delicious too๐Ÿ™‚

  12. mrsplainjune

    dear miss ovenhaven.. your lovely pics makes me drooling in sleep! and i woke up this morning with 1 definite aim: to make your yummylicious nutella bread pudding! so simple yet so divine… thanks for sharing your recipe!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Awww thanks, mrsplainjune! I’m glad you liked it๐Ÿ™‚ What a great way to start the morning, if I may add. Nothing like Nutella to make the day better!

  13. Jas

    I made this on a cold winter’s night on the Gold Coast & It turned out awesome! & So easy too. These ingredients are always in the pantry. Thnx๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  14. tea

    hi, stumbled upon ur site while i was searching for nutella bread pudding.

    i followed ur recipe and it’s yummylicious!! have always been a fan of bread butter pudding but never thought of the combo: nutella + choc milk. will be making this again and again. thanks for sharing the recipe!

    n great site u have here, u’ve got another follower..๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi tea, thanks for dropping by. Glad to hear you like this!๐Ÿ™‚ Surprisingly enough, I’m actually not a fan of bread & butter pudding. I guess coz most of them are much too milky for me, but you’ve just nudged me to come up with my own rendition soon!

  15. Pingback: Chocolate Nutella Bread Pudding « Dessertini

  16. puddingqueen

    I eat a lot of bread puddings but I have never tried rolling up the bread. It really gives the pudding a different look. I am going to do this and add a layer of thin sliced bananas. Probably serve it with whipped cream. Ahh, I can just taste it.

    Thanks for the idea!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      puddingqueen: Not a problem! I’m really loving your idea of adding bananas; I’ll give that a whirl next time๐Ÿ™‚

      tea: Not at all, sweetea! Haha, sorry I couldn’t resist๐Ÿ˜›

    1. Lei Angelo

      Ooooohhhh I love this recipe so much!!!! So easy and tasty. Enjoying it at the moment on this bright Hawaiian Sunday afternoon…. Thank you for sharing I can’t wait to share some with my husband… If there’s any more left.๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Pingback: Nutella Chocolate Bread Pudding & Bread Pizza « Think happy thoughts…

  18. Pingback: What I Wore-Goodbye Spring! | made-to-travel

  19. Pingback: 40 Recipes for Valentine’s Day Dinner « Something Savory

  20. Pingback: Bread Recipes

  21. Pingback: testing out the tried and tested [recipe: chocolate chip bread pudding with vanilla sauce] « :: epicurean escapism ::

  22. deedee

    chanced upon your blog while looking for nutella bread pudding recipe!๐Ÿ˜€ because my friend made one ytd and it was oh-so-good i need to make one for myself too!!๐Ÿ˜€ yours looks so simple n yum! i’m so inspired to make mine now!! ^^

    Reply
  23. Pingback: Nutella Chocolate Bread Pudding | YVWYNE

Leave a Reply

