by the number three

When I mentioned these cookies in passing on Twitter the other day, it garnered quite a bit of interest. Judging from the poorly-lit photograph taken hurriedly on an early evening, I’m pretty sure it couldn’t have possibly piqued any curiosity, other than a “Duuude, bad shot!” comment or something along those lines. This was, after all, merely a batch of freshly-baked peanut butter cookies we’re talking about;– no fancy-shmancy French macarons here, nor exotic-flavoured perfectly-piped tea biscuits. And as much as there are many peanut butter fans out there (yes, all 4, 383 of you who made these blondies the most popular post on my site), I don’t think the flavour was of much interest here as well.

And so it boils down to these words ‘easy-peasy 3 ingredient’.

Now, have I piqued your interest as well?

To be honest, the reason these unflattering photographs were taken haphazardly was that I had no intention of posting the recipe up. Don’t get me wrong, the cookies turned out great and the preparation was a breeze, but somehow I was of the opinion that everyone either already knew this recipe by heart, or have already baked them at least once in their lifetime. It’s just one of those recipes you see on every other blog, and the fact that it’s absolutely simple to whip up makes me feel a tad silly for even sharing.

These rich, chewy and crumbly cookies are perfect for a quick bite when you’re hit by a sudden peanut butter craving, or just need that quick fix to go with your glass of cold milk. Do note, however, that because these are flourless, they are really crumbly, literally melting in your mouth, and are definitely not the perfect choice to stash away in your purse or bring along for a picnic. The texture is similar to that of my mom’s favourite peanut butter sandies (3-ingredient recipe as well!), but I found these to be more crumbly in that I actually had a couple falling apart as I transferred them from cooling rack to the jar. So for those of you who are gluten-intolerant or simply run out of flour, feel free to give this a whiz!

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies
(makes 25-30 medium pieces)

1 cup peanut butter (choice of chunky or creamy)
1 cup sugar ¹
1 egg

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F / 180°c.
  2. Combine and mix all the ingredients together.
  3. Drop teaspoonfuls of dough onto cookie sheet. Bake for 8 – 10mins.

Recipe Notes:
¹
As usual, I reduced the sugar amount, and used only 2⁄3 cup sugar.
² I added a handful of chocolate chips to the batter, because I’m not that big on peanut butter.

22 thoughts on “by the number three

  1. the mister

    The naturally occurring phenomenon known as Premature Cookie Crumbliness Disintegration Syndrome (PCCDS) stopped me from having the opportunity to taste these.

    CURSE YOU PCCDS!

    *shakes fists angrily*

    I hope to be able to taste these one day…😦

    Reply
  2. overconcerned

    Yes, I’ve seen these recipes, too! Skippy PB (which is what I DO eat, sadly) already has sugar added so I wonder what would happen if I made it TWO ingredient cookies?! I don’t think it’d work, though😦

    Wei-Wei

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    the mister: I’m sorry if it may seem like I’m laughing at your expense, but PCCDS?? HAHAHA!😛 I don’t think they’re gonna replace your coveted World Peace cookies or choc shortbread cookies, though, so you’re not missing out, don’t worry🙂

    Wei-Wei: I’ve used Skippy pb for these two, and you definitely still need the sugar🙂 Just reduce the amount to 2/3 cup or 1/2 cup, if you’re afraid they might be too sweet.

    Reply
  4. fuzzygreenlights

    Premature Cookie Crumbliness Disintegration Syndrome (PCCDS)?? Too funny! lol!

    I might actually make these soon!😉

    Reply
  5. felicia

    ahh simplicity. they looks so good.
    and with 3 ingredients? who wouldn’t love em.
    thank goodness ive some chunky peanut butter at home😉

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Avanika: Hehe, it’s okay! I don’t exactly have an affinity towards pb either. Much prefer Nutella!

    fuzzygreenlights: If you do, I hope you’ll like them!😀

    felicia: Chunky peanut butter is the way to go! Okay granted I use creamy in my bakes, but I much prefer the texture chunky has🙂

    Reply
  7. kelemta

    These are delicious! After seeing the recipe last night I couldn’t wait to get baking and made them this morning. The texture is light and truly melt-in-your-mouth, and unlike many peanut butter biscuits, actually tastes of peanut butter. Thankyou for posting this because I think this recipe will be getting a lot of use.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      I’m glad you liked them!🙂 It’s amazing how something so easy can yield such great taste. Thanks for dropping by🙂

  8. Pingback: Peanut Butter Biscuits « Kelemta

Leave a Reply

