some meaty indulgence

I am admittedly a self-confessed chicken lover (the meat, not the animal). When I’m out eating with the mister, I tend to end my meal by saying “Okay, I’m done”, which could mean either of two things;– one, I can’t finish up my food, or two, I can’t finish up my food because I’ve already eaten up all the chicken pieces I can find in it. Most of the time, it would be the latter.

And then there were those years of growing up when I would either find chicken on my plate, or a slice of fish fried to an immaculately crisp perfection that it could pass off as fried chicken, failing which, I would be left either pushing my food about in the plate, or simply taking a very long time to finish my meal. You could say I was a picky eater, or just simply a chicken-or-anything-disguised-as-chicken eater.

I remember visiting my grandmother, hearing her taunting me over and over again by saying that one day, all the chickens in the world would go on strike and simply disappear. And that I would be left with nothing to eat but vegetables. Though that obviously scared me to no end, it inadvertently only made me appreciate and cherish my chicken more.

Preparing this dish has made me realised that even after all these years, my love for chicken has not faltered even one bit. How can it possibly, when the mister sneakily passes me his crispy chicken skin onto my plate when I’m not looking, even after I’ve recounted stories of a friend whose boyfriend forbade her from eating the skin lest she grows fat. How can it possibly, when the parents remove their fried chicken each time they have their packet of nasi lemak breakfast, placing it on a side plate, reserving it to go with either my non-chicken breakfast or lunch. How can it possibly, when the grandmother used to place a whole plate of ginormous freshly-out-of-the-pan chicken before me for every Eid, insisting I eat more.

No complaints on my part, that’s for sure.

Pan-Roasted Chicken with Mushrooms
(adapted from here)

5-6 chicken thighs with skin on
2 tsp grounded black pepper
1 tsp chicken seasoning powder (or salt to taste)
1-2 tbsp oil
button mushrooms, halved

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. With a paper towel, wipe the surface of the chicken dry. This helps the skin to be crispy later.
  3. Rub the seasoning (or salt) and black pepper on both sides of the chicken.
  4. Place an oven-proof skillet on the stove over medium heat. Drizzle the pan with oil, and place the chicken thighs skin-side down. Cook for about 5 mins, until the skin crisps.
  5. Throw in the mushrooms, and stir around to lightly coat the mushrooms with leftover seasoning, then transfer the whole skillet into the hot oven for 15-20mins, until the chicken is fully cooked.

40 thoughts on “some meaty indulgence

  1. the mister

    I kid you not, I really kid you not, when I saw the picture I salivated!

    Wahhhhhhh!!! Chicken AND mushrooms! Two of my favourite things!

    All this talk about chicken reminds me that we should go to Ar***d’s to get our fix soon! ’tis been waaaaayyyy too long since our last visit!😀

    Reply
  2. mynakedlunch

    Once again, you made me salivate! Hi-5 yo, chicken lover! :p Hahaha. Chicken & Mushroom = ZE perfect combo!😀

    Reply
  3. percicilan

    Ovenhaven’s Mister,
    Can you kindly not mention the Ar***d’s word when there is a salivating out of the island person reading this? Because you are making her want to run all the way to City Plaza/ Pasir Ris right now.

    Oh.. sorry ovenhaven, you chic looks yummy. BUT I WANT ARNOLD’S!!!! uwaaaahhhhhh😦

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Why do we always seem to hit Ar****d’s when I’m getting/recovering from a bad throat?? Let’s go soon, though. But early morn please, I don’t wanna get caught in the whole bad crowd congregating outside the building. URGH!

    mynakedlunch: You know what would totally confirm plus chop make it the best combo ever? If there were potatoes alongside it! yuMMy! *hi-fives back*

    percicilan: Aiyoh, first it was nasi rawon, now this? Hehe, don’t worry, it will still be around when you come back next month!

    Reply
  5. m

    Ahh, that looks so good. Thank God it’s almost lunch time–I don’t think I can work another second without eating!

    Reply
  6. Remain.Simple

    Chicken tastes delicious, especially with those mushrooms and black pepper sprinkled on top.
    Yummy, Can I have a sample please? Haha

    Nice recipe, Thanks for sharing.
    Remain.Simple

    Reply
  7. Songbird

    lol…you are a “chicken lady”…. have to say that recipe looks amazing… I might have to get me some chicken and mushrooms this weekend… :o)

    Reply
  8. Jessica

    Hi there…I just discovered your blog via the wordpress main page, and oh my, will I be back! Love the page, and this recipe looks fantastic, not to mention easy to make– a requirement in my world;)

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    Darthskywalker: Hehe, thanks for dropping by…

    Tracy: Gosh, I can’t imagine any lunch looking like birdfood!

    fondutv: Indeed! I practically add mushrooms to anything😛

    1Dental: And thanks for dropping by …

    tracieMoo: Thanks, sweetie!

    m: Ooops, sorry for tempting you so😛

    Remain Simple: Thank you for dropping by. Think I’d add potatoes to it the next time.

    brelandkent: Thanks for dropping by🙂

    Songbird: Haha, chicken lady! Hope you’ll like the recipe🙂

    ramonakent: Hehe, thanks for dropping by..

    Suwandi: Thanks🙂

    Goodie Girl: That’s a great compliment! Thanks🙂

    Jessica: I don’t think I can cook to save my life, so don’t worry, all ‘cooking’ recipes would be easy!

    Reply
  10. felicia

    OMG. looks amazing!
    i can imagine how it tastes like from the photo.
    damn😦 its barely 11am and youve made me hungry!

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    kendylau: Hope it works out for you🙂 Thanks for dropping by!

    felicia: Ooops, sorry about that! Well I guess we’re even, after your Max Brenner choc souffle tweet!😛

    Elisabeth S. Paquet: Hope it works out great for you!🙂

    Reply
  12. 1Dental

    Oven haven, I did make it last night and it was a huge, out of the ballpark hit. I usually think things have to be complicated to be tasty. Not so!

    Thanks again🙂

    Reply
  13. fattydumpling

    Haha, like you, I live in a family of feeders. So I have become one as well. I am constantly asked whether I am hungry. When given the reply no, I am brought food anyways. When I accept food, my parents are so funny and happy to be feeding me. It’s great how your family had ingrained onto you an appreciation for chicken–I especially like what your grandmother did, haha, it kind of reminds me of the myth in my childhood of how chocolate milk comes from brown cows, just the absurdity of the two.

    Your chicken looks delicious, the mushrooms actually look cute to me…

    Reply
  14. happygrub

    Hey dear,

    Your blog is becoming crazily popular looking at the number of comments! Keep it up!

    This looks yummy..

    How’s the wedding prep by the way? been meaning to drop u a mail to catch up.. but well, life gets in the way..Hope everything’s well!

    Take care..

    Reply
  15. Andrea

    Yummy I will make this next semester when it’s colder than it is now and I am at school! Great recipe and great share.

    Reply
  16. ovenhaven Post author

    Ellie: Thanks, Ellie!🙂

    fattydumpling: I love button mushrooms, coz they look so cute! I always think that whoever came up with the phrase ‘cute as a button’ had button mushrooms in mind😛 And woah, chocolate milk comes from brown cows??? That’s classic!

    happygrub: No problem, sweetz. I reckon you must be real busy now, especially since you’ve returned to work. Preps are coming along slowly, I guess. Super psyched, but trying to do things a little at a time now. Take care, and keep posting those adorable photos of Hana!🙂

    Andrea: Thanks for dropping by, Andrea🙂 Hope you’ll like it!

    Reply
  17. thecoffeesnob

    I share your love for chicken (weirdly enough though for both the meat and the animal itself- I used to keep miniature Japanese chickens. cutest things ever).

    Anyway I hope your throat gets better soon babe! Rest well🙂

    Reply
  18. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Miniature Jap chickens sound so adorable! I had a friend who kept chickens as well, and she would let them out for a short evening walk, and they’ll all be waiting by the backdoor to come back in at 6pm. So cute! And thanks, dearie, I sure hope it gets better soon🙂

    19thmayflower: Wah wah wah, sounds like the perfect home for me! Fateha also likes chicken issit?😀

    Reply
  19. ash

    man, talking about chicken…i’m a chick-tarian no doubt on that.

    and i’m actually fasting today…guhhh, this is sinful…hahaha ^^

    Reply
  20. Pingback: Pan-Roasted Chicken with Mushrooms | Our Chicken RecipesOur Chicken Recipes

Leave a Reply

