surplus sunday: coconut rice pudding with strawberry syrup


As you would have probably guessed by now, I’m very much a dessert person. At the risk of sounding too much of a glutton, between the mister and I, even on the days when he’s quick to proclaim a meal satisfactorily filling and there would be no way he could down another mouthful, I would be the one with an incredulous look, exclaiming my oft-quoted “But there’s always room for dessert!”.

While my choice of decadence would almost always involve either a perfectly cold scoop of ice-cream or a rich slice of chocolate indulgence, I’ve always wondered about creamier desserts on the menu; pannacotta, custards, puddings, creme brulee, to name a few. But the thought of it being cheesy, milky or eggy pushes the the no-dairy side of me to always play it safe and stick to the familiar route.

That is, until I had leftover rice to play experiment with.

You see, with the amount of modifications I request for each time I place an order for anything ranging from a McDonald’s burger to a restaurant pasta, I’ve grown to realise that sometimes it’s really best to try my hand at certain dishes in my own time, in my own kitchen, with modifications to suit my own palate.

Thankfully, my first attempt at making rice pudding proved to be really encouraging. In fact, I can even foresee it becoming one of my favorite turn-to desserts in the long run, second to the easy-peasy Nutella bread pudding; the latter’s an obvious winner because it doesn’t involve the stove. The best part about the rice pudding is its versatility;– substitute milk for coconut cream, add spices like cinnamon or nutmeg, forgo the strawberries and just serve as is, or you can even make the individual servings beforehand in lovely little cocktail glasses, and stash away in the fridge before the guests arrive!

Having said all that, would I reach for the rice pudding the next time I order dessert? No, I wouldn’t. But I would definitely make it myself the next time I have leftover rice, and have room for dessert!

Coconut Rice Pudding with Strawberry Syrup

For Strawberry Syrup
1/2 cup sugar
1/8 cup water
1 cup strawberries, diced

For Rice Pudding
1 cup cooked rice
1 box (200ml) coconut cream¹
3 tbsp sugar

  1. In a small saucepan, dissolve 1/2 cup sugar with water, and bring to a gentle boil.
  2. Add the diced strawberries, and simmer on low heat for about 15 mins, or until the strawberries have softened and reduced to a thick syrup consistency. Leave aside to cool.
  3. In a medium saucepan, combine cooked rice, coconut cream and 3 tbsp sugar. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat to a simmer.
  4. Cook until about all of the coconut cream has been absorbed (or to your desired consistency), stirring from the bottom of the pan often, so that the bottom won’t burn.
  5. To serve, mix the cooked strawberries with the rice, or serve the rice puddings topped with the cooked strawberries.

Recipe Notes:
¹ If you prefer a creamier pudding, feel free to add an extra 1/2 cup of water or milk.

56 thoughts on “surplus sunday: coconut rice pudding with strawberry syrup

  1. ovenhaven Post author

    the mister: Yerrrrp, ALWAYS!😀 And even if you don’t have room for any, it just means there’ll be more for me😛

    zurin: Thanks, zurin!

    Alison: Thanks, dearie🙂

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    ashleythinks: It sure was!

    Tasha: You should give it ago🙂

    Hannah Rae: Haha, thanks for dropping by. Hope you enjoy your stay🙂

    sincerelyserious: Thanks for dropping by!

    Reply
  3. Jeanne Kim

    I also enjoy cooking, though whenever I try to ‘invent’ something, it all becomes blurr.😀 Thanks for the recipe, I should try that as well!!

    Reply
  4. grace

    i believe this is the nicest thing you could do with some leftover rice–the coconut-flavored rice would be a treat even without the gorgeous strawberry syrup!🙂

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    Jeanne Kim: Do give it a try; I hope you’ll like it! I’m not very experimental in the kitchen at all, but given that it’s a dessert, I was more hopeful😛

    david hennessey: Thanks, and thanks for dropping by.

    The Little Teochew: Thanks, sweetie! I’m far from creative, but I’ll give anything for dessert ~haha😛 *hi-fives back!*

    grace: Thanks, dearie! I actually ended up eating more of the coconut rice pudding on its own, and had the strawberry syrup with toast😛

    Reply
  6. Boyer Writes

    I love your beautiful photographs of your food. I have a new branch of my website that deals with recipes. My other sites besides the photography have to do with inspiration, music and art, history, etc.
    http://www.boyerwrites.wordpress.com

    Hope you will take a look. I am in the USA . Would love to visit Singapore someday. If I were there, I certainly would have one of your cookies or cupcakes.

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    slamdunk: Thank you for dropping by..

    Boyer Writes: Thanks for dropping by🙂 I stopped by yours, and you’ve got stunning photographs!

    Ong Yin Xin: Wish I had some left to send your way😀

    Reply
  8. Akiko

    I never liked the look of rice pudding/tapioca… but this looks like something I would love to try. Also, never a fan of strawberries like this- but wow this looks tasty. Just bought Nutiva coconut oil over the weekend– I’m in love with anything coconut right now!

    Reply
  9. yumology

    This looks great! I want to try it next time I pick up some strawberries. (BTW I am a new food blogger and I love yours)

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    matrioskasadventures: Thanks!🙂

    greenlaundry: Not a problem, dearie. It’s highly versatile, so give it your own twist if you’re making it!

    Tessa: Ahh, nothing beats homegrown strawberries. I bet the jellies were delish🙂

    cherylmcnulty: Precisely! They’re really photogenic🙂

    Akiko: Glad to hear this caught your attention! I’m not a fan of strawberries (the fruit), but having it as a syrup over the rice pudding definitely was a nice change🙂

    cookie: I wish I had some to send over!

    yumology: Aww thanks! Dropping by yours now🙂

    oneordinaryday: Hehe, thanks sweetie!

    Bria: Glad to share! Hope you’ll like it🙂

    jingle: Thanks for dropping by.

    Reply
  11. pandabox33

    I love rice pudding ! There is a restaurant here in Montreal that specializes in rice pudding (it’s what they do) and we order every two weeks at work. Your recipe looks so good I’m going to try it. Thank you for sharing !

    Reply
  12. ovenhaven Post author

    Tara Aarness: Hope you’ll like it as much as I did🙂 Thanks for dropping by!

    nadia Q: Nothing beats growing your own produce. Best of luck!

    giveitasecondlook: Thanks for dropping by. I sure hope I’ll be more adventurous with cooking in the future; for now I’m strictly about bakes and desserts, unfortunately.

    omawarisan: Thank you, and thanks for dropping by.

    pandabox33: You should definitely try making your own! It’s really easy, and I don’t think you could go wrong🙂

    Reply
  13. Alison

    Mmm…I’m not normally a rice pudding fan…but the coconut is making it sound tempting! My fiance really likes rice pudding and REALLY likes coconut…so I think I’ll need to perfect this to make him when I get back to see him!

    I think I might try out a raspberry or mango/passionfruit sauce…when I think of coconut I think of those combinations as well!

    Thanks for (yet again) another awesome recipe!! And I know how you feel…I’m better at preparing desserts rather than savory…but I’m trying to get better! The oven (and chocolate) just always call to me, haha!;)

    Reply
  14. Dantem

    interesting recipe🙂 it’s easy to make, light and healthy. it’s the kind of desert i would serve to my kids all the time and not worry they will jump on the ceiling afterward😉

    Reply
  15. sdesigns07080

    I don’t like rice pudding and i don’t like coconut. it makes me feel dizzy. Sam I am. but i do like Strawberries!!!

    And if i liked rice pudding and coconuts then this would be the sweetest, most bestest dish i’ve even eatin! Nice Job!
    (pst! that was a compliment!)

    Reply
  16. ovenhaven Post author

    Kelsey: Thanks!

    Alison: I think mango would be absolutely delish! Just a sweet puree of it poured on top of the coconut rice pudding would spell heaven for me😛 And IKR, I even try to ‘cook’ some of my meals using the oven! That’s how stove-inept I am😛

    Dantem: Haha! Though I think if it were me, I’d save it all for myself after a long day of running after the kids😛

    sdesigns07080: Thanks. I would’ve never guessed I liked rice pudding, but I do know I love coconut, so it all works out😛

    ilyana: Sorry to hear you’re bogged down with work! Wish I could tweet some over😛

    Reply
  17. ovenhaven Post author

    Ellie: Thanks, Ellie! I’m not much of a strawberry fan, but this might definitely change it🙂

    Cookie Cutter: Awww, you give me too much credit, sweetie! Oh, and welcome back🙂

    maya: Not a problem; I’m sure you’ll make a great one🙂

    Reply
  18. Choc Chip Uru

    What an exotic dish! I adore how wonderfully the delicious strawberry syrup contrasts with the dessert🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Rich Sticky Date Pudding w/ Butterscotch Sauce

    Reply

Leave a Reply

