for a new beginning

If you read between the lines of the previous entry, you would have noticed that I mentioned having had a wonderfully hectic weekend. If you’ve been reading this blog for quite some time now, you would have remembered an entry commemorating a certain momentous occasion for me several months back. And if you’ve been reading my Twitter, well, you would have probably been privy to tweets and twitpics of the preparations leading to this day.

Nope, I didn’t get married.

Following the aforementioned proposal, I had received quite a number of well wishes for my ‘engagement’. While it’s clearly understandable how many would have mistaken the proposal for an engagement, the Malay culture clearly demarcates the difference between proposal and engagement. In our culture, an engagement is marked by an official ceremony when the groom-to-be’s family comes over to the bride-to-be’s side, bearing gifts along with the engagement ring. The bride’s side will also reciprocate the gesture with gifts for the groom.

Some refer to this ceremony as a prelude to, and to a certain extent, a preview of the big day, with the bride all dressed up, and a feast thrown for invited friends and relatives. Also, just like any wedding, the degree of grandeur of the ceremony differs from each person/couple. For myself, it was a fairly simple ceremony with my family and close relatives of the parents.

Preparation and planning for the gifts, however, was a different matter altogether. Particularly when it came to the mandatory engagement cake gift for the mister.

When it was the sister’s and the brother’s turns, I had typically baked cupcakes as one of the gifts for the other side, respectively. As such, I was thrilled to finally bake cupcakes for my own engagement ceremony, and truth be told, had even sketched out plans of the execution, along with the design. And mind you, this was many months prior, shortly after the proposal. Unfortunately, I was told less than two weeks before the event, that I was banned from baking for that day. You can only imagine how disappointed I was.

But as the old adage goes, mothers know best. I found myself bogged down with last minute preparations the days leading to the event. Yet, amidst all the hectic excitement and anxiety, I craved for the calm awaiting me;– something warm, light, comforting and perfect for an afternoon lazing alone, reminiscing memories of the day I was officially called a fiancee.

And these strawberry scones proved the perfect accompaniment I needed as a sweet ending to commemorate a beautiful beginning.

Strawberry Scones

2 cups plain flour
1/4 cup sugar
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup butter, cold and diced
1 cup strawberries, diced
1/2 cup sour cream
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
1 egg white
sugar for sprinkling

  1. Preheat oven to 220°C.
  2. In a bowl, mix flour, sugar, and baking powder.
  3. Rub butter into the flour mixture until it resembles coarse breadcrumbs.
  4. Stir in the strawberries, sour cream, and eggs.
  5. Scrape the mixture (it will be very sticky) onto a floured surface, and knead the dough lightly, patting it to a rough circle approximately 1/2 inch thick.
  6. Score the dough into 12 wedges. Brush the surface with egg white and sprinkle sugar onto the top.
  7. Bake at 210°C for 10mins, then 220°C for 10mins.

26 thoughts on “for a new beginning

  1. the mister

    Hiya fiancee!🙂

    *waves*

    I’m glad everything went well, dear. Alhamdulillah.

    Well, I for one am supportive of your parents’ decision to ban you from the oven prior to the engagement! You needed the rest!

    (And no dear, you’re not baking our wedding cake either. -_-‘)

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Helloooo, fiance!😛 *waves back*

    gRRRR, but I really wish I could! Well, I’ve decided that since I can’t bake our wedding cake, the least the OCD me can do is to design the cake. I hope I can at least have that!

    Reply
  3. amy

    ohmy! those lovely scones you were talking about! i would sooo bake them if i didnt have stacks of oatmeal cookies to eat. soooo droolicious love!🙂 congratulations again!!❤

    Reply
  4. oneordinaryday

    What a great post ~ you always explain things so well and I learn so much here. : ) Many, many congratulations and best wishes to you and the mister. You really aren’t thinking of making your own wedding cake, are you? My gosh, that would be stressful!

    Reply
  5. felicia

    interesting post! never knew that about the malay culture.
    love the colours in the scone. mmm. i can taste the sweetness from my computer screen already! heh.
    really really happy for you🙂 congrats dear!

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    amy: Thanks, doll! And we definitely should look into that delivery service we’ve tweeted about😛

    oneordinaryday: Hehe, I think a girl can dream, right? Thanks for the well wishes!

    grace: Thanks, sweetie!🙂

    felicia: Thanks, dearie! I expected the scones to be sweet, but apparently the strawberries I had on hand were really tart, so I gobbled them (yes, I ate two wedges in one sitting!) down with strawberry jam instead🙂

    Helene: Thanks, dearie!🙂

    maya: Thanks, sweetz!🙂

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    Allie: Thank you! And thanks for dropping by🙂

    The Little Teochew: Thanks for your wishes, dearie!🙂

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, doll! I’ve decided that all scones shall be made in wedge form henceforth. Looks so much better than the drop scones, imo!

    Reply
  8. zurin

    Lovely scones!! and congratulations on ur engagement :))))))) cant wait for the wedding post…lol…… look at me…. sibuk sibuk already……lol

    the pics were lovely…..I notice the popularity of blue in hantarans even here…..sweet colour

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    zurin: Awww thanks, dearie! Yup, my sister’s were also blue. Mine to him were blue, while his hantaran gifts to me were in purple (my fave colour!)😀

    jean-marie: Thanks, doll!

    Reply
  10. nino

    I’m truly happy for you, cos I can see how much he adores you and you him. The journey will be a beautiful one with His grace, and if I could be so forthcoming to tell you that it is only the journey that matters and nothing else. I baked too for our engagement and solemnisation,and those were my gifts to him that I was proudest of, no matter how simple it was, for it was a gift from the heart.May you him have love and respect for each other always =)

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    nino: Thank you for your sweet words and kind wishes🙂 I’m sure he must’ve really appreciated the bakes you made for him. Wish I could do the same!

    19thmayflower: Thanks, dearie! Photos will be posted slowly over at my photoblog. But no photos of me!😛

    Reply
  12. ingrid

    Thanks for sharing such a lovely post! I agree with One Ordinary Day all of your posts are interesing and I learn so much when I visit your blog.

    Congrats on your engagement.
    ~ingrid

    Reply
  13. Stranger

    Assalamalaikum,

    Congratulations on your OFFICIAL engagement, may Allah grant you a happy, long and blessed marriage to come! I love it when your posts pop up on my LJ newsfeed from picturing_food. The boo fondant is precious; awesome execution. ]

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    ingrid: Thanks for the wish and your kind words, sweetie! Glad to hear you’re enjoying my posts🙂

    Stranger: Wa’alaikumsalam. Thank you for your kind do’a! And thanks for dropping by🙂

    Reply
  15. happygrub

    Congrats Zhullie!! And I’m glad your mom banned you from the kitchen, how can you do so many things?? Just sit down and look pretty! I’m sure u’ll be a gorgeous bride!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

