dreaming of cinnamon

cinnamon blondie1

If there was another flavour besides chocolate that would definitely entice me on a dessert menu, it would be the mysteriously olfactory word ‘cinnamon’. More often than not, it would either be accompanied by its famed frolicking fruit partner, or seeking comfort in every curve of a fluff.

However, I’m pretty sure that any cinnamon fan can attest to those days when you just wish to embrace the seemingly unadulterated taste of cinnamon. A dessert that would boast its spicy sweet scent, flatter its deep golden brown freckles, and evoke comforting reminiscence of simplicity. And when one of those quiet afternoons drop by, one must surely allow vivid specifications of the mental palate take reign over the day’s epicurean escapism.

cinnamon blondie2

While it is none too many, I am absolutely relieved that the texture and taste I had envisioned manifested itself immaculately within the wedges of a 7-inch pan. And it is definitely heartening to discover that for all of the times I’ve blasphemously pictured cinnamon instead of chocolate amidst forkfuls of my brownie, the vision was not too far off. I used my favourite chewy brownie recipe as the base, tweaked the ingredients, and found myself resisting eating two slices in one sitting.

Moist and chewy with the sharp tang of cinnamon wafting through every refreshing bite, only one slice was left after three hours. And that was just between the parents and myself. Despite its appearance (wedge/slice vis-a-vis square), I’ve decided to call these blondies, rather than cinnamon flop or cinnamon coffee cake, because its chewy texture lies somewhere between a brownie and a cookie, yet its tight crumb is reminiscent of a coffee cake and a fudgey brownie.

Chewy Snickerdoodle Blondies

1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
1 egg

Topping:
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 – 1 tsp ground cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Lightly grease a 7-inch round pan, or 8-inch square pan.
  2. Melt the butter over low heat. As soon as melted, turn off the heat and stir in the sugar. Leave to cool for a minute.
  3. Add in the egg, and beat the mixture until smooth.
  4. Stir in the flour and baking powder until there are no longer traces of them in the mixture.
  5. Spread the mixture (it will be very thick!) into the prepared pan.
  6. Combine the white sugar and cinnamon, and sprinkle evenly over the surface of the batter.
  7. Bake for 15-22 mins, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

24 thoughts on “dreaming of cinnamon

  1. the mister

    Thanks to you, cinammon is no longer that weird looking stick / twig thing that’s found in dishes… Hehe…😛

    Kayu manis indeed!😀

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Hehe, and you end up liking cinnamon too! Woootz! *hi-fives*

    grace: Haha, as a matter of fact, when I was writing the post, I knew you’d be one of the few out there who’d understand the cinnamon obsession😛

    Helene: Thanks, dearie🙂 A no. of the Malay dishes (particularly rice) include cinnamon stick, but I’d never think of incorporating it in pasta! Sounds really great.

    Reply
  3. Frenchie

    Unlike most people, chocolate is the last thing that calls to me on a menu. Cinnamon is a different story, I cannot resist it. This cake sounds perfect alone but I would also love it strewn with stewed apples or prunes, the possibilities seem endless, I cannot wait to make this treat.

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    percicilan: Hope you’ll like it as much as I did!🙂

    19thmayflower: Hehe, I named it so coz it reminded me of the snickerdoodle cookies! I still wonder how they came up with that name😛

    bluestocking: Thanks for dropping by!🙂 Been such a long while since I had snickerdoodles. I must definitely give it a revisit soon.

    Frenchie: I reckon this would be perfect with stewed apples. Thanks for dropping by🙂 Hope you’ll like this as much as I did!

    Reply
  5. Patti

    I am so happy to have found someone who loves cinnamon like I do! How wonderful – both this recipe (which I will bake today) and your gorgeous blog! Thank you.

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Patti: Awww, thanks for dropping by! Hope you’ll like this as much as we did over here🙂

    zurin: Thanks, dearie. The scent just fills your whole kitchen, doesn’t it? It’s like a natural air-freshener of sorts😛

    Reply
  7. Barbara

    I agree totally. I love cinnamon too..even more than chocolate! This is a lovely (and easy to make) cake. Can’t wait to try it.
    I liked my first visit to your blog!

    Reply
  8. The Little Teochew

    Cinnamon!!! I used to enjoy walking past that basement shop at Wisma Atria – the one that sold cinnamon rolls. The smell was heavenly!! I am not surprised your parents and you ate up all but 1 slice. Who wouldn’t, especially when it’s right outta the oven, calling, “Eat me, eat me!”🙂 The sugar crystals look so … purdy!

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    3hungrytummies: Hope you’ll like it!🙂

    Barbara: I can’t say I love cinnamon more than chocolate though. I’m too much a chocoholic😛 Thanks for dropping by🙂

    19thmayflower: I know! Just like scotcheroos!😛

    The Little Teochew:Haha, thanks dearie! And yes, nothing’s quite enticing as the scent of cinnamon baking away. The aroma promises good things to come, I do believe!😛

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Food Friday: The Snickerdoodle Blondies « 20 MORE THINGS

  11. Pingback: testing out the tried and tested [recipe: chocolate chip bread pudding with vanilla sauce] « :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

