surplus sunday: leftover pasta = crustless quiche

quiche1

As you would have probably noticed, now and then I will decide to address certain queries I’ve received via e-mail in specific posts I call From The Mailbox (FTM), and of a greater frequency (too frequent I wonder if readers are bored of them by now) are my Wordless Wednesday posts where I mainly share photographs of some of the cupcake orders I’ve worked on recently.

And now, I’m introducing a new category of posts aptly called Surplus Sunday, where I intend to share ways of using up those leftover ingredients or dishes you’ve whipped up over the weekend. Afterall we all tend to be a lil indulgent (and over-enthusiastic with the serving) over the weekend, and plummet to a state of what-to-do-with-all-the-leftovers when Monday comes spilling by.

This time round, I found myself with some leftover linguine (already cooked al-dente) on hand following a pasta meal I had the night prior. I had kept the linguine in a ziploc bag in the refrigerator, and I guess this is more of a pantry raid type of casserole dish, since I practically threw in what I had in the pantry/refrigerator. I reckon this would be great if you had broccoli or spinach on hand, or even some meat like turkey bacon, or chicken ham.

Oh, and I’m sure you can easily do this with leftover cooked pasta as well, since it would only add more flavour to your quiche.

Crustless Mushroom & Linguine Quiche

1 cup button mushrooms, sliced
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
1/2 cup mozarella cheese, grated¹
1 cup boiled linguine, cut roughly (I just ran a scissors through the pasta)
1 1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup flour
4 eggs
1 tsp salt (to taste)
1 tsp paprika (optional) ²
pepper to taste

  1. Preheat oven to 180C (350F).
  2. Line the bottom of a greased 7-inch round pan, or 8-inch square baking dish (if you prefer the quiche to be thinner) with the cut linguine.
  3. In a bowl, mix milk, flour and eggs well.
  4. Add in the mushrooms and tomatoes, and pour into the prepared pan lined with linguine. Give the pan a little shake to ensure that the mixture seeps through the linguine to the bottom.
  5. Sprinkle the grated mozarella on top of the mixture.
  6. Bake for about 35-45 mins, until it looks set and the top is golden brown.

Recipe Notes:
¹ Try it with different types of cheese (e.g. cheddar, Swiss, monterey) to suit your tastebuds.
² Try different seasonings (e.g. parsley flakes, rosemary, mixed spices) to take it up a notch and change its flavour the next time you make it!

20 thoughts on “surplus sunday: leftover pasta = crustless quiche

  1. the mister

    WAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

    That looks very the goose!!!😀

    Personally I see snowy, flaky parmesan engulfing the thing, but that’s just me… Hehe…

    Must make for me, please!🙂

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    I could’ve sworn I saw “snowy, flaky penguins” and was going “Duuuuuuude” in my head😐 I hope to make some for you soon! Though not the penguin kind of course😛

    Reply
  3. grace

    awesome. so many times i have noodles leftover and have to force them down cold rather than letting them go to waste. this is a much better alternative.🙂

    Reply
  4. felicia

    quiches are terrific!
    love them because you can put whatever you want inside, even leftovers! smart🙂
    though it never crossed my mind that i’d put leftover pasta in there.
    love the picture!😉

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    zurin: No problem, sweetie!🙂

    grace: And the best thing is, you can practically throw in anything you like😀

    felicia: Thanks, dearie! You can’t see my hand in there, but I had to literally hold the plate up to the window to catch the dimming evening light. Which explains why I only have one shot😛

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Julie: Thanks, Julie! I always don’t know what to do with leftovers, so I reckon this be a great way to share some ideas🙂

    Helene: Thanks, dearie🙂

    Reply
  7. monique

    Being in the pasta business (Al Dente Pasta-the brand in the clear bag, cooks in just 3 minutes, texture just like home-made) and having challenged myself to cook, eat and blog pasta everyday this month to celebrate National Pasta Month, I often have leftover noodles and NEVER let anything go to waste. I will be trying your recipe my next opportunity. Sounds delicious. Love your blog.

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Thanks for dropping by, monique! I didn’t know it was the National Pasta Month, but I can see from your blog you’re all geared up🙂 Be looking forward to trying out pasta recipes from you!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Rescue Mission: The Case of the Leftover Blues « The Jennital Life

  10. ally

    Okay am I a little slow or does it seem like there is a crust/edge?? Love the recipe but a little confused on 2 steps. Mix flour/eggs/milk and then the next step says add in (veggies) so there is no bottom crust (the flour mixture) but you are just mixing in the flour + veggies all in one bowl and pouring it in. After the first step of laying out the pasta at the bottom on an empty pan. so just pasta over the butter ining? Thanks looks so good, I really want to try but don;t want to mess it up.

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      Hi Ally, nope there’s no crust/edge. That top bit you see is a result of the baked pasta bits+milk, since the milk doesn’t flood the pasta completely. And yup, cooked pasta over the greased pan. The steps are really just similar to baking bread pudding, if you’re familiar with it. Solids into the pan, then pour liquid and let it soak in. Hope that helps.

  11. stefani

    hi! you added flour to the milk mixture is it bcos milk doesn’t set well? so if i use half cream half milk, i can omit the flour? thank you😀

    Reply
  12. Pingback: Toddler Tuesdays: Stir-Fried Penne with Scrambled Egg | :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

