recipe wanted: moist, dense chocolate loaf cake

chocolate loaf2

I must admit that I have quite a poor memory;– albeit not so much in terms of mugging for school examinations as movies I’ve watched, books I’ve read, and (un)fortunately, some of life’s events. Of course I attribute it to having selective memory which often times prove to be of an advantage, particularly in the event of the latter. I’d like to believe, however, that what was lacking in the physical memory repository was made up for by a heightened sensory-centric memory of sorts.

I still remember the exact taste of the “Biskut Dam” (checkerboard cookies) that I brought to pre-school every day for lunch break, always picking out the exact same thing each time my mother brings me to the bakery near the school. I still remember the exact taste of the chocolate milk that I used to drink in primary school, which was given free to all the not-so-meaty little kids. And I still remember the rushed mornings I’ve had as a teenager, the breakfasts I’ve tried to skip when the mother’s not watching, but she would somehow always know, and already pack me a few slices of the moistest chocolate loaf cake that I now have grown to miss.

And my dear readers, that’s where I’ll need your help.

chocolate loaf1

As in the case of all the aforementioned palate-related memories, nothing could come close to what I’ve had as a child, and I’m sure almost everyone can attest to that (let’s face it, nostalgia occludes our senses, mostly). But with your varied baking adventures, I appeal to anyone who has had success with a moist and dense chocolate loaf cake. One with a very tight crumb. Rich and most definitely chocolatey. Almost as of a pound cake texture. But rich as of a fudgy brownie. Nothing with frosting, just a simple homely chocolate loaf cake.

I would love to give any of the loaves a try, and while I may not have anything in return for your kind recipe share, you would certainly make me the happiest young lady who in turn hopes to share that same chocolate loaf cake memory with my future teenager who says she’s not hungry for breakfast, but never turns down the chocolate cake.

Chocolate Yoghurt Loaf Cake
(adapted from here)

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/4 cups sugar
1 egg
1 egg white
1/4 cup water
1/3 cup cocoa powder
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup plain yogurt

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 9ร—5-inch loaf pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  3. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until the mixture is fluffy and resembles wet sand.
  4. Beat in egg and egg white.
  5. Mix in 1/3 of the flour mixture.
  6. In a small bowl, whisk together water, cocoa powder, vanilla and yogurt until mixture is smooth. Add half of this mixture to the sugar mixture, followed by another 1/3 of the flour mixture.
  7. Stir in remaining yogurt and remaining flour, stirring only until no streaks of flour remain.
  8. Pour batter into prepared pan and spread evenly.
  9. Bake for 55-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  10. Let cake cool in pan for about 10 minutes, then carefully cut along the sides of the pan to release the cake and turn it out onto a wire rack to cool completely before slicing.

Note: Although this recipe was not the one for me (I found it a tad dry with loose crumbs), it made a good side-of-the-saucer cake slice. It received a couple of great reviews, so maybe you’d like it! Too bad it wasn’t what I was looking for๐Ÿ˜ฆ

30 thoughts on “recipe wanted: moist, dense chocolate loaf cake

  1. the mister

    I wish I could help, luv… but you know me… The buck stops at pasta!๐Ÿ˜€

    Oh! I know! Maybe I can make that future teenager some macaroni goreng to complement your cake!๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  2. felicia

    dense is a very accurate word from those delicious photos!๐Ÿ™‚
    thats real sweet of you btw.
    i’ll go on a chocolate loaf hunt in my bake books for you okay๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Duuuude, you still owe me fried macaroni, don’t forget!

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, dearie! Your photos make everything look like keepers, to be honest๐Ÿ™‚

    felicia: Thanks for looking out! All thanks to your post, I’m hoping to try out Dorie’s kugelhopf soon.

    Reply
  4. Ashley

    Mmm this chocolate yogurt loaf cake looks delicious. I’m always interested in baking recipes that use yogurt! As for your elusive chocolate pound cake… well there’s this one that I love: http://www.eatmedelicious.com/2007/11/perfect-chocolate-cinnamon-cake.html You can omit the cinnamon of course. It’s not quite poundcake-ish though. Just a great dense chocolate cake/loaf. Maybe check out a Martha Stewart chocolate pound cake or Ina Garten? I haven’t made one but I think they might have something like what you’re looking for. Good luck!

    Reply
  5. grace

    yogurt does a world of good for cakes–it adds so much moisture without changing up the chemistry too much. your loaf looks ridiculously rich and chocolate-happy, and i love the areas of deeper, darker chocolate splotches.

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Ashley: Thank you for that link! I’ve bookmarked that Starbucks chocolate bread some time last year, but lost it when I reformatted my system. I totally forgot about it, until now! So thank you for that๐Ÿ™‚

    grace: Actually the darker areas were chopped up Oreos I had lying around; thought I’d just throw them in๐Ÿ˜› And I wish it was as rich as it looked, but well, maybe there’s another chocolate yogurt cake out there for me.

    19thmayflower: Mailed ya back, sweetie!

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    Thank you for the recommendation! I don’t think I’ve ever tried a cake with pitted prunes before; I’m sure it does wonders to the moistness๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. The Little Teochew

    Hmmm … in one of your older posts, you wrote about a chocolate cake. That looked pretty rich and chocolately to me๐Ÿ™‚ Not enough for you? Oh dear!๐Ÿ˜‰ I am just wondering aloud if the type of texture you are looking for requires some melted chocolate in place of, or in addition to, cocoa powder? Ah the search for the holy chocolate-covered grail continues …

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    The ‘problem’ (if I may call it that) with the two chocolate cakes I’ve blogged about is that one is flourless, and another almost-flourless (1 tbsp flour). So the texture is as closer to a pudding then a pound cake. Chocolatey, yes, but too soft for me. The cakes are pretty much the sort you’d wanna smoosh carelessly onto a bowl with scooped ice-cream. I’m looking for a sturdier loaf that I can slice into without falling apart.

    But from all the suggestions I’ve received here, my mail and on a baking community, I think I may have found a no. of winners to try out๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  10. happygrub

    hey girl,

    u’ve probably got a million suggestions by now, but how bout the Hershey’s Black Magic cake recipe?

    PS. Thanks for all the comments and lovely mails! I’ll mail u some pics soon insya allah..

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    Oooh, I looked up Hershey’s Black Magic cake recipe, and it’s basically the same as my turn-to chocolate cake recipe from them (only sub buttermilk for oil + milk)! It’s good texture-wise, but is really one of those cakes ideal for celebrations, because it needs to be paired with frosting. I’ve tried it as a plain loaf before, and doesn’t quite cut it for me๐Ÿ˜›

    Be looking forward to more cute photos of Hana!

    Reply
  12. Malin

    Hi! The photos are georgeus – what cake is that?
    My suggestion is Nigella Lawson’s quadruple chocolate cake, but I haven’t tried it yet. (Well I tried and failed) It looks so rich and tasty, and from what I’ve heard it’s great! Good luck!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  13. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi Malin, it’s the chocolate yoghurt loaf cake whose recipe I’ve included above. I’ve heard a lot about Nigella’s quadruple chocolate loaf cake, and it sure looks tempting! Maybe I’ll give that a go as well. Thanks!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  14. Pingback: Chocolate Espresso Loaf « Delightfully Sweet

  15. theteachercooks

    Just posted a Chocolate Pound Cake that can be made in 2 loaves. It is very dense and moist. I think it is what you are looking for. Let me know!!!

    Reply
  16. Ketutar

    How is it going with your recipe hunting? Reminds me of Phoebe’s grandmother “French” chocolate chip cookies… I would have suggested Nigella’s “moist, dense chocolate loaf cake” too http://technically.us/eat/x/nigellas-dense-chocolate-cake/๐Ÿ˜€
    Another cake I am thinking is chocolate mayonnaise cake.
    and the Swedish “kladdkaka” – “gooey cake” http://www.ffrenzy.com/Recipe/kladdkaka.html
    or a French chocolate cake… http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/French-Chocolate-Cake
    Those are moist and dense too.๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  17. ovenhaven Post author

    Oh, I remember that ‘Nestle Tollhouse’ episode!๐Ÿ˜› Thanks for the recipe recommendations. I’ve yet to find the right time to bake one, but the soonest one I’ll try will definitely be Nigella’s, given everyone’s rave for it๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  18. Pingback: Darn Good Cake [Recipe: Chocolate Avocado Cake with Chocolate Chips] | :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

