22 thoughts on “wordless wednesday: thomas the tank engine cupcakes

  1. the mister

    After having my first hands on experience with fondant making last week, I truly have a heightened aprreciation of the work you do, luv. Making these must have been no easy feat! Lookit the details!!!

    Great work, dear! I especially like the Mr. Conductor-Man person… Hehe…

    Oh yah….

    *yawnz* (pvt jk)…

    Hehe…

    Reply
  2. NATUI

    Those are AMAZING! My little one has asked for a shark party, so I am busy with ideas for a shark cake. I daresay it will be a sight easier than all the detail on those cupcakes!! Great job!

    Reply
  3. Marian (sweetopia)

    Those are so cute it hurts!! 😉
    Whoever gets those is going to be estatic!! I know my nephew would be; he knows every Thomas the Tank Engine character and doesn’t hesitate to tell everyone who will listen about them.
    Great job, you’ve captured the characters very well!

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    the mister: Awww, thank you, hun🙂 I had fun playing fondant with you; we should try it again sometime! And yes… *yawnnnnn*😛

    Heidi: Thanks for dropping by, Heidi. Your cakes look stunning!😀

    Not Your Aunt Bea: Thanks, sweetie🙂 I’m glad the guests enjoyed them. The client even made railway tracks to put the cupcakes on, so I’m sure it was a hit!

    NATUI: A shark cake sounds so interesting! Best of luck! I’m sure it’d turn out perfect🙂

    felicia: Thanks, sweetie! I only use MMF for my cupcakes; I’ve tried storebought and Wilton’s and hate how they taste😛

    Marian (sweetopia): Aww, your nephew sounds like a gem! And thank you for your kind words; it’s an honour coming from you😀

    19thmayflower: Hehe, maybe you should! I’m sure Fateha would love someone to play with😛

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, sweetie!🙂

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    The Little Teochew: Haha, that made me LOL😛 Thanks, sweetie🙂

    Party Confetti: Hi sweetie, glad to hear it🙂 Thanks for popping by!

    Jen@MapleNcornbread: Thanks! You should give em a go, and score points as the best aunt😛

    felicia: MMF FTW!😛

    Reply
  6. Indigo

    My brother is the biggest Thomas fan (he’s severely austistic), and while I don’t think he really grasps the whole idea of ‘cupcakes’, he’d definitely appreciate the likeness here! Speaking myself as someone who sees a hell of a lot of Thomas, I definitely applaud your fondant skills!

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    Indigo: Awww, thank you, dearie🙂 Your brother sounds like a gem. Means a lot to me coming from someone who’s well-acquainted with Thomas!

    Streaming Gourmet: Thanks! Your train brownies look so cute😀 I never knew they had pans like that!

    jean-marie: Thanks, babe!

    Reply
  8. Siti arnie

    Love what you did with the design! I am still new to fondant but love playing with them. Anyway do u hv any reliable recipe to make MMF ? The one did turns out hard n lumpy. Another question where do you get those cupboard Cale insert ? I have never seen them before

    love all your cupcake design

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi there, I don’t follow a recipe for mmf. If yours is hard and lumpy, it means that you’ve mixed in too much icing sugar. You can try reducing the amount the next time🙂 Also, I made the inserts myself. Thanks for dropping by🙂

    Reply
  10. siti arnie

    Oh okay , which means it is more of an estimation of how much icing sugar i should add in ?? Thanks !! I will try it one more time !!! Abit turn off after my first try, end up buying ready made fondant but not from wilton. OOoooo you made you inserts using ?? cardboard or the cover from cake boxes ?? Wow must be alot of work !!

    I am a fan of your blog and i always lurrrve you fondant designs especially those figurine that you make. I wish i have half of ur talent in designing.

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    Urgh, ready made fondant tastes pretty awful, doesn’t it? Hehe. And thank you for your kind words, but I really still have a long way to go, and am pretty much an amateur🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

