seeing green over blueberries

blueberry muffin1

As a child, I’ve always envied the vision of young girls dressed in pretty white laced frocks with a basket in hand, gleaming in the sun and gentle breeze, merrily picking berries off vast fields of blues. Fact of the matter is, I’m still envious of our friends on the other side of the globe who have fresh blueberries (and strawberries, blackberries, and raspberries, oh my) at their perusal.

Which is the very reason I believe I’m not the only one here who rejoices each time it’s the blueberry season, when the local supermarkets slash prices off punnets of imported blueberries. While I don’t buy them in bulk and freeze them for gradual use over the months, I do grab more this season, and simply satisfy any blueberry craving I have, guilt-free.

blueberry muffin2

Top of the list of cravings were moist blueberry muffins filled with fresh juicy blueberries, and studded with a sweet golden crumb topping. And with a name like To Die For Blueberry Muffins, how could I possibly resist. That, and the fact that more than 3,000 reviewers couldn’t be far off.

If you’re looking to get reacquainted with blueberries, I recommend you start off with this. They were wiped out within an hour, and I was fortunate enough to sneak one for breakfast the next day. The deal-clincher for me was that unlike most muffins, it remained moist the next day, and left me craving for more. So yes, I assure you that there will be more blueberry posts to come!

Blueberry Crumb Muffins
(makes 6 large muffins; adapted from here)

1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/3 cup milk
1 cup fresh blueberries

For crumb topping:
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp + 2 tsp flour
2 tbsp cold butter, cubed
1 tsp ground cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 200C.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, salt and baking powder.
  3. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture.
  4. Fold in blueberries.
  5. Fill muffin cups right to the top, and sprinkle with crumb topping mixture.
  6. To Make Crumb Topping: Mix together brown sugar, flour, butter, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Sprinkle over muffins before baking.
  7. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until done.

20 thoughts on “seeing green over blueberries

  1. the mister

    Yay! I’m glad we overcame our state of ‘always not there when we want it’-ness and you found some blueberries to play with!😀

    I’m loving the second picture much, oh master of the spiffy macro and fade-y background zoom technique!😛

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    the mister: Hahaha, thanks, bie! And yes, I’m so relieved to get me some blueberries😀

    greenlaundry: Yupperz, they’re crunchy at the top because of the sweet cinnamon crumb topping. yuMMy!

    Helene: Thanks, sweetie! Hope you’ll like it as much as I did🙂

    Reply
  3. faizah

    Thank you for sharing this recipe over twitter. Your crumbs look amazing! Mine’s more clumpy but everything’s good with sugar and cinnamon, no?

    I agree that this recipe is a keeper- that makes us 3,001 and 3,002 reviewers. I make mine smaller and after sharing 9 muffins with the fortunate few at work, i have a few more at home. All ready to be warmed up and gobbled down later. They are still good even TWO days after baking!

    Thank you once again, recipe angel.

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    Awww, no problem, dearie. Glad to hear they’re still good after two days! The recipe never stated to use cold butter (and one reviewer actually said to use room-temp butter), but I’ve always found cold butter the best to use for crumb toppings. So give that a go the next time!🙂

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    happy homebaker: Thank you, sweetie! Love your blueberry muffins too; there’s something about the perfectly-domed muffins that just drives me crazy😛

    The Little Teochew: I wish I had some extra to hand over your way! And yes, I’m quite a bit of a crumb/streusel topping addict; I love to add it to most of my bakes😛

    Reply
  6. grace

    the little crumblies on top make these winners for me. the lovely and plentiful smattering of blueberries doesn’t hurt, either.🙂

    Reply
  7. Aimei

    Oh my… these look so heavenly… feel like taking a bite of the crumbs.. muffins seldom tempt me like this…hehe.
    Oh ya I’ve passed you an award. Check it out at my blog.😉

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    19thmayflower: Haha, good question! For leisurely bakes, I’d say once or twice a week, depending on my schedule.

    grace: The crumble topping is a definite winner each time!😛

    Aimei: Hehe, sorry to tempt you so, sweetie! Thanks for the award; will drop by🙂

    Reply
  9. felicia

    i woke up reading this entry.
    am sooooo hungry now!
    breakfast for today.. banana oat muffins!
    thanks dear🙂

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Banana Oat Crunch Muffins «

  11. jean-marie

    The muffins look really tempting in the 2nd pci! I’m having a bad case of blueberry craving gone wrong. Got a blueberry muffin from Mc.Ca.fe and it turned out to be so dry! Wish you lived nearer, then I could grab one from you🙂

    Reply
  12. ovenhaven Post author

    Ah, I had that one rainy day, and was terribly disappointed too! To think it looked so huge and tempting😦 Ah wells, maybe you should give this a try, or ask your bibik to make one for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

