after four years

anni brownies

Two hand-crafted fondant bears sitting by a corner of a heart-shaped chocolate ganache-coated brownie. Ideally, it would have been a cake, layered with buttercream, and covered with fondant.

But after being together for four years, I know you don’t like cakes, and you know I don’t eat buttercream. And we both love fondant only to hold.

anni brownies2

The female bear looking pretty donning a pastel pink bow, with two red roses in hand. The male bear looking smart with a black bow and black-rimmed glasses, with two red hearts in hand. Ideally, it would have been a dopey-looking goldfish with a rubber ducky buoy, and a strawberry pink bunny rabbit, holding anything-but-red roses.

But after being together for four years, you know my kindred affiliation with teddy bears, and my OCD nature of continuity (two blue hydrangeas would totally ruin the whole colour scheme).

anni brownies1

The two bears facing the simple handwritten message of ‘Love’, as of bearing witness to the celebration of our love after four years. Yes, I made sure the male bear wore glasses so he could see clearly and read the message (and don’t worry, the female bear was wearing her lenses, so she could see it too). Ideally, it would have been a longer message. Or at least a ‘Happy 4th Anniversary’.

But after being together for four years, I’m sure you know it’s because I’m horrid at writing iced messages, and I reckoned four letters would befit to symbolise our four years.

ring3

I’m not sure how it was supposed to be played out. I’m not even sure how you planned it to be. But ideally, it would have been exactly like this. Just to see you getting anxious over performing your latest magic trick (or so you claimed) that was unrehearsed and never been done before. Just hearing you say “I’m not nervous, I’m excited” more than twice that day. Just knowing that the best things in life, when it comes to matters pertaining you and me, would always be unplanned yet much too perfect.

But after being together for four years, I’m sure you know that.

ring

And I’m sure you know that of course, I’ll say yes🙂

24 thoughts on “after four years

  1. the mister

    🙂

    Reading that made me smile ever so widely…🙂

    Happy 4th anniversary, sayang.

    May we be happy always.

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Happy 4th anniversary, dearest love🙂 Like I’ve said from the beginning, I pray that awal yang indah ini kan bertemu akhir yang kita dambarkan, insyaAllah…🙂

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: Hehe, thanks, sweetie🙂 I’m the more vain one with lenses, so I had to clarify that on the bear as well😛

    C: Hi dearie, thank you🙂

    faizah: Hehe, thank you, dearie! *sprinkles love dust on you and your mister*

    Reply
  4. happy homebaker

    This is soooo sweet!!! Congrats, and happy 4th anniversary🙂
    For me and my husband, this year is our 24th anniversary, it makes me feel so old just to realise this ;’p

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    19thmayflower: InsyaAllah, Amin… Thanks, dearie🙂

    felicia: Thanks, sweetie🙂

    The Little Teochew: Thanks, dearie🙂 Hehehe, hope it wasn’t too mushy!

    grace: Thanks, sweetie🙂 Glad to have brightened your day!

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    emiliaduka: Hehe, thank you, sweetie!🙂

    jean-marie: Thanks, doll! When’s you+P’s turn?😉

    aidah: Hehehe… Thank you, dearie!😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

