of winnie the pooh and birthdays

pooh4

When I was much much much younger, I would be sprawled on the floor in front of the box set, watching Winnie the Pooh (I think it’s called Welcome to Pooh Corner), fascinated by the warm and friendly intonation of the old British grandpa narrating the story at the beginning. Years later, I find myself collecting the different Winnie the Pooh soft toys, and receiving varied Pooh merchandise from friends and family each year. And now that I’m all of twenty-six years and one week, I still find myself singing the whole theme song.

Especially while preparing for this particular cupcake order.

pooh3

While I was making the fondant for the order, the mother saw a glimpse of the Pooh faces, and asked how old the “little girl” was, jumping on the assumption that it must have been an order for a client’s daughter. When I replied in the negative, she simply exclaimed “Ohhhh… like you.”

pooh2

This was an order from a lovely lady for her colleague’s birthday, and the specific information given was that the recipient “loves Winnie the Pooh to the max”. The colours were up to me, but she mentioned wanting more Winnie the Pooh fondant cutout, and to “make the cuppies cute”.

pooh1i

I couldn’t help but to include a cute lil bee with the quintessential hunny honey pot, in place of an apostrophe for her birthday message “HAPPY B’DAY”. While I find the bee totally adorable (it’s been on my list of fondant to-dos), it freaked the mister out; I believe it must have been the size of the bee in proportion to the honey pot!

As fate would decree it to be, this “tubby little cubby all stuffed with fluff” still made an appearance for my birthday this year. I got a Pooh balloon from the mister (to accompany the Super Grover soft toy he customised!), but some of the many favourite things I received were the cylinder of fondant tools, and the gumpaste flower-making set from him. Both without which, the Winnie the Pooh cupcake order would have been more difficult and time-consuming to complete. I had been eyeing these two items for ages, and now I’m obsessed with discovering the usage of the different tools!

Oh, and in response to some of the Twitter enquiries I received, and those who were wondering about the Pooh faces,ย  I simply used the cookie cutter from my shop, and went fondant crazy with the details.

32 thoughts on “of winnie the pooh and birthdays

  1. the mister

    WAH! The Pooh faces are AWESOME!!!!

    And yes, the ginormous bee freaked me out… -_-‘

    Oh yes, HAPPY BELATED B’DAY!

    Glad to see you’re using the tools to slowly take over the world, dear!๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  2. Zita

    Those cookie cutter are so cute, and the bee and honey pots are just sweeet… but I want eeyore๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Rachel

    Hi there,
    I came across your post on curiouscupcakes on LJ and clicked on your link!! Just want to drop a note to say WOW! you’re really talented! Anyways, i second the eeyore suggestion! i love eeyore!

    Reply
  4. Bernie

    Must.. not… die of cuteness overload!!!

    Winnie the Pooh cupcakes are made of win~โค

    Also, a very Happy Bee'lated Birthday to you! =D

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: I shall try to take over the world one cute fondant at a time! Haha๐Ÿ˜› Thank you for the birthday gifts, dear!

    Zita: Ahhh, an Eeyore fan, I see! If you ever come down to Singapore, I’ll try to make you an Eeyore cupcake๐Ÿ˜‰

    Sarah: Haha, actually I don’t think it’d be sad at all! I wish I had thought of it sooner for my own birthday, but I guess there’s nothing wrong with living vicariously through other people’s orders๐Ÿ˜›

    19thmayflower: Thanks, dearie!๐Ÿ™‚ I actually thought the hunny pot didn’t look like one, so I added the HUNNY just in case๐Ÿ˜›

    Rachel: Hi sweetie, thanks for dropping by! That makes it two Eeyore fans who have spoken up! Hopefully one day I’ll get an Eeyore order to work on๐Ÿ˜›

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, dearie!๐Ÿ™‚

    Bernie: Hahaha, thank you dearie!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. Ry

    Hi you! thanks for this wonderful write up and yes, we are 100% happy with the end result, including the lil’ birthday ‘girl’..
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Take care

    Reply
  7. Trisha

    I have those gumpaste flower molds too from Amazon! I haven’t tried them out yet but oh man now I’m excited to go home and give them a go!
    Oh and the cupcakes are fantastic, as always!

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Ry: Thanks for dropping by, sweetz!๐Ÿ™‚ Glad to hear the birthday girl enjoyed them.

    Trisha: I’ve been eyeing that gumpaste flower mould for so long, and now that I have it, I feel like using it on anything and everything!๐Ÿ˜›

    Victoria: Awww, thanks for your kind words, dearie. And thank you for dropping by! Miffy is cute!!!

    Reply
  9. Trisha

    A quick question – what frosting recipe do you use (ie what kind of buttercream is it?). I’m really curious and been wanting to ask!๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  10. jean-marie

    These are sooooo cute! You should have made one for your own birthday๐Ÿ˜› Anyway, happy belated birthday, doll!

    Reply
  11. yangmommy

    Wow, those look great! These cupcakes are inspiring me as I plan a party for my toddler in the Pooh theme; although I’m not quite as adept at handling fondant, LOL!

    Reply
  12. Adeline Ng

    Hi, I just sent you an email, I want to get hold of the cute cookies cutters!! I hope you still have stock, my youngest daughter’s birthday is just round the corner and I would like to make cupcakes for her! her favorite is Winnie the pooh. I love the bee too! You are so talented!

    Reply
  13. amilia

    hi, is it possible for u to help me buy the winnie the pooh cookie cutter. my daughter’s bday is in two weeks. tq…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

