seeing apples in a different light

apple fritters1

To those who were looking forward to a plethora of brownie posts, rest assured they’re piling up, and getting ready for side-by-side comparisons. Soon enough! I’ve been busy with new projects and orders the past couple of weeks, but already have several brownie recipes bookmarked, and recommended to me. Thank you for all the recommendations!

In the meantime, allow me to share with you a little breakfast indulgence I’ve had a while back, of which I can’t stop thinking of at this very moment. After all, it contains cinnamon, apple, and sugar;– what’s there not to love?


A walk through any local pasar malam will have you drawn towards the brightly-lighted stalls boasting a wide array of fried goodness (of course, ‘goodness’ here is subjective). It almost seems as though anything that can be fried, will be fried. Fritters, particularly, are a popular choice amongst those who love crispy batter-encrusted tropical fruits;– banana fritters and jackfruit fritters being my personal favourites.

The only fruit missing from these piping hot delicacies would be apple fritters.

apple fritters2

Don’t expect the oily mush from jackfruit fritters, nor the crunchy crackling crumbs from banana fritters. These are soft on the inside, with a texture bearing semblances to a doughnut/beignet. The cinnamon taste and aroma pulls you in with every bite, the crunch of the chopped apple gives a great contrast to the soft dough, while the sugar glaze leaves you feeling a tad guilty for having an indulgent breakfast by yourself.

I’ve drizzled the glaze ever so slightly over these fritters because I wasn’t sure how sweet the resulting fritters would be, but trust me, go with the recipe and try to coat both sides. The fritter itself is not sweet, so if you don’t have much of a sweet tooth, you can simply drizzle like I did, but if you’re serving these, you’ll find that if you stick to the recipe, the sugar glaze really is the perfect touch the fritters need.

Maybe they’re not the tea-time treat you’ll have every day, but a little here and there won’t hurt.

Apple Fritters
(adapted from here)

Fritter:
1 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/3 cup milk
1 egg
1 cup chopped apple

Glaze:
2 cups powdered sugar
1 1/2 tbsp milk

  1. Combine flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and cinnamon.
  2. Stir in milk and egg until just combined. Fold in chopped apple.
  3. Pour oil into skillet so that it is approximately 1 1/2 deep.  Heat oil on high.  Oil is ready when dough floats to top.
  4. Carefully add dough to oil in heaping teaspoons.  Cook until brown, about 2 minutes, then flip.  Cook another 1-2 minutes, until both sides are browned. Transfer briefly to paper towels to absorb excess oil, then transfer to cooling rack.
  5. Make glaze by stirring milk and powdered sugar together in a small bowl.  Drizzle over apple fritters. Wait approximately 3 minutes for glaze to harden, then flip fritters and drizzle glaze over the other side.  Best served warm.

Recipe Tip: As tempting at it may sound, don’t attempt to make these big. You’ll end up with crispy outsides and uncooked interior. Just stick to a heaping teaspoon, and you’ll end up with lovely doughnut hole-sized fritters.

22 thoughts on “seeing apples in a different light

  1. faizah

    cinnamon? sugar? apples? fried? warm? fritters? yum? HUNGRY!!
    i need something indulgent after being cooped up in this freezer called the staffroom for the whole day.

    anymore left over there? hehe

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: I hear ye, mister!😀

    Cara: Thanks, Cara! And I loved the fritters. Can’t seem to get them out of my head😛

    faizah: I wish there was! I’d have merrily tweeted some to you😛

    Reply
  3. jean-marie

    I loooove the first picture! I’d totally try this, but I dnt like frying. Hahah😀 Maybe I can ask Bik to make this!

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    jean: Or you can always try asking P!😛

    grace: And my fellow cinnamon-lover has spoken🙂 Wish I could send some apple fritters your way!

    19thmayflower: They were! I’m already dreaming of them😛 And I’m sure you can’t wait for Fateha to grow up and bake all the lovely cakes you want! Hehe.

    Reply
  5. Dorothy

    i LOVE apple fritters! but i can’t make donuts, bc i can’t deal with the deep frying. guess i need to run to the nearest bakery!

    Reply
  6. Cookie

    I love apple & cinnamon… but can’t bring myself to do the deep frying! And the worst thin, I can’t get it out of my head since I read your post… *sigh*

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    Dorothy: The deep frying bit of donuts always turns people off, doesn’t it? I’ve been putting off making donuts for the same reason. These apple fritters, on the other hand, were so worth it, coz they made only a lil itsy bit (read: only needed to fry two batches!)😛

    linda: Haha, they’re pretty good to go with any meal of the day!😛

    Cookie: Oh, I know what that feels like! Maybe you should just satiate that apple-cinnamon craving with something else. Or you can just ask someone else to do the deep frying!😛

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    19thmayflower: You may never know; she might have her own foodblog in the future!😛

    happygrub: Especially on a rainy evening indoors🙂

    Reply
  9. Bernie

    Ohhhh the apple fritters look so delish! But too bad I can’t deep fry stuff in my apartment, if not the place will smell of oil for days….

    Anyway I made the brownies I said I would bake after all the assignments! Just check the blog. 8D Full of chocolate~~~

    Reply
  10. Sarah@buttered-up

    Did I tell you that I love that you have a “fried” section in your recipe index?😀 The texture looks fantastic. I’ve never had jackfruit fritters. Never even seen them at any of the markets. Hmph!

    Reply
    1. ovenhaven Post author

      You’re in Malaysia now, aren’t you? Oh then you must definitely try jackfruit fritters! They’re called ‘cempedak goreng’ (tsherm-per-duck go-raing), round little fritters, and oh so addictive (and unhealthy)😛

  11. Choc Chip Uru

    I could easily polish of 4-5 of these smothered in maple syrup and ice cream! Yum and bookmarked😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Rich Sticky Date Pudding w/ Butterscotch Sauce

    Reply

Leave a Reply

