of baking repetitions and obsession

scones1

Looking through the photos in my camera made me realise a couple of things.

  1. I haven’t been updating this blog as frequently as I would’ve liked;
  2. I have either been repeating bakes, or baking variations of similar bakes; and that
  3. #2 could be the excuse reason behind #1

The mister has found himself to be caught in a bit of a brownie fascination as of late, and subconsciously, it’s caught on over at my side. Instead of the usual “Mooties!” (i.e. cookies) reply I get when I asked what I should bake, he opted for brownies. And me being me, it has become somewhat an obsession to get that perfect brownie I yearn for. I have the taste etched upon my epicurean senses, yet for the life of me, even though any one of the recipes I’ve tried was a hit with the family/the mister, it’s still not THE brownie I want. Does that make sense?

So yes, unless I start declaring a month of ‘The Quest for THE brownie’ on this blog, I don’t think any of my readers would want to see brownie-laden entries one after another.

Ah, but I digress.

scones2

I guess what I’m trying to say in not so many words is that somewhere between baking different brownies and revisiting old favourites, all I have to offer is a batch of buttermilk scones to pamper your morning. Trust me, when all your senses and appetite go wonky for four days prior to a bake sale, thanks to an uninvited bout of flu, all you’d ever yearn for is a plate of warm scones with a spread of grape jam.

flowers

To all the lovely mothers out there, Happy Mother’s Day! And yes, I think I’ll stick to fondant roses, these ribbon roses didn’t look rose-ish enough to me. Oh, I’m not posting what I baked for my beloved mom today, coz it’s a repeat of my mom’s favourite banana cake an entry ago, topped with crumb of course!

Buttermilk Scones
(adapted from Margaret S. Fox & John B. Bear’s Morning Food)

1 egg
1 1/2 cup buttermilk
4 cups white flour
4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup cold butter, cut into cubes

  1. Preheat oven to 220C.
  2. Beat together the egg and buttermilk.
  3. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and sugar in a bowl. Rub in the butter cubes into the flour mixture until it resembles coarse crumbs.
  4. Turn the flour mixture into a large bowl, add the egg mixture, and stir lightly with a fork until a soft dough forms.
  5. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently. Divide the dough into quarters and pat into 1/2-inch thick circles. Cut each circle into 6 wedges.
  6. Place scones close together on a greased baking sheet. Brush the top with an eggwash and sprinkle with sugar.
  7. Bake for 13-15 minutes, until lightly browned.

Variation Note: The original recipe in the book (Cindy’s Cherry Chocolate-Chip Scones) calls for an additional 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips and 1 cup chopped dried cherries to be added in after forming a dough.

22 thoughts on “of baking repetitions and obsession

  1. the mister

    Huh? I don’t have a brownie fascination…! -_-‘

    Anyhoo, veh the nice ah the roses! I think that they’re turned out real pretty, bu!😀

    Oooh, and Happy Mothers’ Day to all the wonderful mothers out there (especially to mine and yours)!

    Reply
  2. Zita

    I tought I was seeing the wrong picture … but scones or brownies? I think after breakfasting with scones you should have brownies for dessert… (just trying to put 2&2 together…if it makes sense).

    btw, when can I beat the mister on being the 1st to comment?😀

    Reply
  3. Marguerite

    The roses look lovely, you must have great patience! And the scones look delicious, I must try making them soon!

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Thanks, love! And don’t try to deny it, you have a brownie fascination. I’m gonna need to revert you back to your mootie-lovin state again😛

    Zita: I wish I could, but I was down with flu and my throat begged me to stay away from any chocolate😦 And haha, I don’t think anyone can beat him to it😛

    Marguerite: Thanks, it did require some getting used to though. The ribbons kept slipping out of my big fumbly fingers😛 Oh, and if you do try them out, try the original variation of chocolate and cherry!

    Reply
  5. jean-marie

    I dont mind brownie entries! Please please! Or at least share some of the better ones during ur research.😛

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    My First Kitchen: Thanks, sweetie🙂 Though I don’t think a month’s worth of brownies would do any good to my ever-expanding waistline, I’ll consider putting up some of my favourite ones😛

    jean: When you say share, do you mean virtually or literally?😛 Haha.

    thecoffeesnob: Ah that would explain it. It was definitely more fluffy than my previous egg-less ones.

    Reply
  7. oneordinaryday

    Oh, you should bombard us with brownies!!! Please?!?!? My favorite is a salted fudge brownie that I blogged about a while back – I’ve made it a ton of times since then and I just can’t get enough. But I’m always open to trying out new brownie recipes, so bring them on!

    Reply
  8. oneordinaryday

    Sending a little blog adoration your way. Check out my blog to find out more. I’ve really been enjoying yours!

    Reply
  9. Bernie

    I love brownies! Maybe I should bake a batch and feast on them~ /sigh I hate you reports and presentations!

    Since we are on the topic of brownies, I’ve been seeing people make Chocolate Mascarpone Brownies of late. They look good surely, but I would have to make AND eat them to be the judge of that. Hopefully they will be THE brownies you are looking for~

    Recipe over here for convenience sake =D
    http://www.recipezaar.com/Chocolate-Mascarpone-Brownies-83867

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    oneordinaryday: Oh, salted fudge brownies sounds great! I love the combination of sweet and salty in a bake. I really should give that a go. And thanks for the shoutout! I’m glad I came across your blog🙂

    Helene: I know exactly what you mean. For a long while, I thought I’ve found the perfect one for me. But now, I’m having a change of hearts, and wanna try something new! The old one’s still a crowd favourite, but perhaps I’m getting sick of it😛

    Bernie: The soonest you can get away from reports and whathaveyous, you should just feast on brownies! Perfect for any celebration or escapism, I believe😛 And yes, I keep seeing mascarpone brownies popping up on tastespotting as of late. As tempting as they look, I don’t eat cheese, and would prefer not to deal with them in any form, so I’m giving these a pass. But if only someone made them for me, and not tell me there’s mascarpone in them!😛

    Reply
  11. 19thmayflower

    i love scones but too bad, i can’t make ’em. anyway sis, i was wondering if i could place an order for an oreo butter cake? i saw it from ur archives. thanx!

    Reply
  12. linda

    Ohhh, scones, somehow that’s my favourite baked good. Simple yet so delicious! Must try them with buttermilk too, I always use milk.

    Reply
  13. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: I’ve always used milk as well, and once whipping cream. Buttermilk gives it a more cakey, fluffy texture!

    19thmayflower: I sent it to the email assigned to your name! The one that’s simplynoorfaizah(at)yahoo(dot)com. I’ll send it again to the mail add you gave🙂

    Reply
  14. Maag

    I’d like to see multiple brownie posts😀 I have a bit of a brownie obsession as well😀 The scones look delicious as well!

    Reply
  15. Pingback: Buttermilk Scones | Rise & Shine Breakfast Campaign 2013

  16. Pingback: Strawberry Scones | Rise & Shine Breakfast Campaign 2013

Leave a Reply

