twitter is a baking impetus

banana-cake1

One of the perks of being on Twitter is that you almost have a live feed of 140-charactered-snippets of other people’s lives;– their thoughts, their feelings, and in the instance that 3/4 of your contacts are foodbloggers, you’ll have updates of what’s brewing in the oven. And so it happened that one fine afternoon when my stomach was churning much, a Twitter update appeared, notifying me of a drool-inducing bake someone had conjured over the Twittersphere.

And at times like these, a tweet speaks louder than words, and I got the exact push I needed to get off my lazy rear and work that oven.

banana-cake2

While I had all the intention in the world to bake the exact strawberry muffins I read about (I even had the strawberries diced up already!), the parents had something else in mind, and both separately requested a banana cake. Two against one, who am I to disagree.

The father saw me dicing up the strawberries, and requested his banana muffins not to have any strawberries in them. The mother gave me a second look after presenting her request, and told me not to assert my chocoholic nature, in not so many words.

And with that, a no-frills banana cake was the order of the day;– no nuts, no dried fruits, no chocolate bits. It was surprisingly moist and light, yet rich with flavour, and topped with a beautiful crust. The father had two slices at one go with his tea, while the mother hid her second slice in the oven for her night snack.

banana-cake3

I couldn’t resist sneaking a slice the next morning for the mister for our 45th month anniversary, and upon his request, added a chocolate ganache (which in my opinion, really pushed the potential of this banana cake!). A quick toast in the oven, and I was surprised that the crumbs were still tight and the cake never lost its moistness, despite being a day old. The mister loved the combination of the banana and chocolate, and if I didn’t know any better, I think I’m on the way to converting him to a chocoholic myself.

No-frills Banana Cake
(adapted from here)

125g butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
2 tbsp milk
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
3 ripe bananas, mashed

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C.
  2. Dissolve the baking soda in the milk. Set aside.
  3. Cream butter and sugar, then add in egg and baking soda mixture.
  4. Stir in the bananas, then fold in the flour and baking powder.
  5. Bake in an 8-inch round pan at 180C for 30-40mins.
  6. Top with your desired icing/frosting.

22 thoughts on “twitter is a baking impetus

  1. the mister

    Woowoooo! (That’s muh funny sound! :D)

    That was some darn good banana cake! You forgot to mention how it goes OH SO WELL with ice cream!!!😛

    Hmmmm…. A chocoholic convert am I? Dunno about that, luv… But I sure am a CHEESE-aholic!😀

    *breaks out the cheeze-whiz*

    Reply
  2. nadia

    the choc ganache is an awesome idea, totally stealing that(prolly will replace it with nutella omg!) this is your twitter buddy beeswaxx btw🙂 linking you up, hope it’s alright!

    Reply
  3. faizah

    dear banana cake on ovenhaven’s plate,

    why are you so far awayyyyy??

    i can feel the moistness of the banana cake on my tongue, the crumbs on my tudung, and the goodness of banana in my tummy.

    xoxo,
    the-deprived-of-banana-cake girl

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: I’ve no idea what a cheese-whiz is, but for the love of all things scrumptious, kindly refrain from breaking it out.😛 Ooh, and someone said “darn good”;– brownie-loving subconscious, much?

    nadia: Hey sweets, of course it’s alright! Nutella sounds so good with banana cake, doesn’t it? Totally stealing THAT idea now😛

    Happy Homebaker: Awww, thanks, dearie!

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, sweetie. Add me if you’re on Twitter!

    faizah: My oh my, you’re one banana cake lover aren’t you! Your comment totally cracked me up😛 Wish I could magically tweet you some banana cake!

    Reply
  5. Hillary

    Banana cake!! Twitter is flocking with recipes, you’re right. I’m sad I missed this banana cake but I’m glad I got to see it on your blog!

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Zita: Oh no no, we don’t have a cake every month! I don’t think our expanding girths would allow it😛

    Hillary: Thanks for dropping by, Hillary🙂 Hope you’ll give this a go!

    Sabra: Ah same here, actually. I’m not nuts for nuts (hurhur), particularly in my cakes/brownies.

    Helene: Thanks, dearie. Sometimes all it takes is for my parents to make me realise that some of the best things in life are pure and simple🙂

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    C: I don’t have a specific recipe for it, but basically I heat up whipping cream, bringing it just to a boil, and pour it into a bowl of chopped semisweet/dark chocolate (3 parts chocolate to 1 part whipping cream). Hope that helps!

    jean: Thanks, darling! Hope life’s treating you good, sweetie🙂

    Reply
  8. marisa rechenberg

    The cake is in the oven, looking great and smelling good! It seemed like the perfect last-minute cake for kids snack…but I couldn’t help myself and added a tsp of kueh lapis😉

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  9. marisa rechenberg

    Just cut the cake and it must be the fluffiest banana cake I ever baked – still thinking about it. As a personal finishing touch, I sifted icing sugar while still hot (so it creates a sort of crust) and cinnamon on top. Only bad thing are the finger marks it leaves around the living room😉

    Keep going!

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Glad to hear it worked out well for you! I love the fact that you added the sifted icing sugar while it’s still hot; I never thought of that before! I’ll give it a try the next time🙂

    Reply
  11. Adelina

    Quite simply a very easy recipe to follow and produce such an amazing cake! Either you’re lying to us or that your shots fool us with this mouthwatering cake! It looks sooooooo good on the screen!!!

    Thanks for sharing and for posting!

    Reply
  12. Pingback: going bananas over cake! « and her smile lit up the entire room

Leave a Reply

