review: sour puss cafe

The mister and I went for Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella this evening as an early 3 1/2 anniversary gift from him (thank you soooo much, bie!). We had planned to start the date with a lunch at one of our favourite restaurants, but decided to give Sour Puss Cafe a try, since we were going to Esplanade anyway.

Previously called Too Hot Cafe, the only halal-certified eatery in Esplanade maximised its prime outdoor location and underwent an image re-branding to cater to a larger consumer market; the youths and arts centre visitors attending outdoor arts performances by the bay. With comfortable sofas and a quirky colour theme of black, purple and pink, the restaurant creates the perfect ambience for casual outdoor dining.

While the menu seems quite limited, Sour Puss Cafe clearly boasts a fusion style of dishes, with several local flavours and twists added to a predominantly Western cuisine, such as satay burgers, teh tarik, kasturi ice blended, and even local favourites like nasi lemak. The pricing was affordable, ranging from about $13+ to $20+. They also have promotion set meals for a group of 3, as well as larger groups.

While deciding for the mains was a relatively easy choice for us, the bulk of the duration of order came in the choice of drinks. We were served by a well-spoken friendly young man whom I presume was the manager, who had taken the initiative to inform us that the airconditioning was not working for the day, so outdoor dining was the best choice. The mister and I had initially chosen two ice blended drinks, Mango Tango and Sunkissed Kasturi. The said manager then proceeded to the counter, and returned promptly saying that they had run out of syrup for Sunkissed Kasturi. To cut the story short, the same incident repeated several times with us having to change the order from 1 Mango Tango, 1 Sunkissed Kasturi to 2 Mango Tango to 2 Longan drinks and finally to a glass of ice lemon tea and Pepsi. The manager was so apologetic at the fact that the long beverage menu was literally cut down to a choice of only six drinks, and offered the drinks to be on the house.

For the mains, the mister had grilled pepper chicken doused with mushroom sauce, served with plain white rice, and a fresh salad of lettuce, tomatoes, shredded carrots and brussel sprouts. I found the mushroom sauce too creamy for my liking, but it was definitely up the mister’s alley. The chicken serving was quite generous, and you had a choice between rice and fries for the meal.

I chose the grilled pepper chicken with teriyaki sauce, served with fries and the same salad. I had initially expected the teriyaki sauce to be a tad bland, but because the chicken had been peppered generously prior to grilling, the pepper complemented the sweet teriyaki sauce perfectly. The salad had a generous lemon drizzle, which I absolutely loved because it gave the salad a fresh zing. I am quite particular about my fries, preferring them to be soggy rather than crispy, and I was very pleased that the fries they served was crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I especially appreciated the fact that despite taking a long time to finish my food, the fries did not lose its texture.

Besides the beverage menu incident, the dining experience was largely a pleasant one, and like I told the mister, the great affordable food (the total bill amounted to $30+), beautiful ambience and friendly service definitely made up for it. We will definitely give Sour Puss Cafe another visit to try other things on the menu. And perhaps, we could even try the enticing-sounding drinks on the menu!

Sour Puss Cafe

8 Raffles Avenue, #01-13E
Esplanade Mall
Singapore 039802

tel/ fax:
+65 6338 9003

12 thoughts on “review: sour puss cafe

  1. faizah

    ohhh the cinderella must’ve been wonderful! we poor students have to give it a miss. *sob

    a group of my friends and i didn’t quite like what we ordered from the fusion menu when we were at sourpuss. i’m glad you had a pleasant experience there though =)

    Reply
  2. the mister

    HEY! A REVIEW!๐Ÿ˜€

    Yep, we’ll definitely pay a return visit methinks. I’m glad that the food more than made up for the ‘meh’-ness of the (un)availability of the drinks.

    Actually, the dish I ate kinda reminds me of the Secret Recipe chicken one I usually have. I prefer this one, though!๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh yes… I’d also like to say…

    HAPPY ADVANCE 3 AND A HALF YEARS, LUV!!!

    I hope you liked Cinderella, dear… Here’s to another 3 and a half gajillion mazillion more years together! *uyuks*โค

    Reply
  3. Maya

    3 1/2 anni?? You both cel halves too?? Now I’m jealoussss! :p Btw, E purple, pink n black theme looks loveeely! Yummy looking food too! I should pop over there sumtime. Thanks for sharing sweets!

    Reply
  4. sweetrosie

    Gorgeous photos (as usual) and Happy Anniversary!

    What is Katsuri? It sounds Japanese and I have to confess I’ve never heard of it.

    Glad you had a lovely, enchanted evening๐Ÿ™‚ xx

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Happy 3 1/2 years in advance, my dearest *uyuks* I absolutely adored Cinderella, and I loved mouthing all the songs in the darkness; it’s like being a secret groupie of a musical!๐Ÿ˜› Thank you so much for the perfect seats, the soundtrack, and a lovely evening. Cats up next?๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    faizah: Yup, it was great! I could go on and on about the sets and costume. And of course, the perfect music๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry to hear you didn’t like what you had the last time you went. Perhaps the mister and I were lucky in our choices. Chicken is almost always a safe bet for me๐Ÿ˜›

    maya: No problem, dearie! Go and give it a try when you’re free. They’re currently having a crab promotion, so if you’re a crab-lover, it’s the best time to head down with your family and friends!

    sweetrosie: Thanks, sweetie๐Ÿ™‚ Kasturi is basically lime/calamansi in Malay, I think. Never thought it sounded Jap!๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  7. jean-marie

    Oh I didnt know that Esplanade had a halal place! When I went to Esplanade with the Malay girls, we went to Barossa. I’ll let them know the next time!

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    jean: Give it a try the next time, okay?๐Ÿ™‚

    The Purplefoodie: Thanks, sweetie๐Ÿ™‚ Oh I have that problem too, but lucky for me, this time it was outdoor dining, so food always looks great in natural light!๐Ÿ˜›

    happygrub: Yupperz, I did. Thanks dearie!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  9. Hans Gruber

    I am glad you had a good time at this restaurant. We tried it before a play one Sunday afternoon. I would not go to this place again if you paid me. The burgers we ordered were basically the cheapest frozen patties, and came with fries, but there were only about 8 fries. The buns on the burgers were not toasted or buttered. The onion in the burger was a large piece of uncooked onion from the outer part of the onion. The cheese on the cheeseburger was a piece of Kraft cheese slice that the cook had not even melted. Also we upgraded to the promotion set which came with calamari but there were only about 6 small pieces, which were mostly batter, and cost disproportionately more. The food was of a quality lower than a fast food restaurant. With drinks we paid $44. What a rip-off.

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Oh goodness, that sounds like a horrid dining experience indeed! I guess I must’ve gotten lucky this time. Perhaps a revisit is due, so I can gauge if it was purely a one-hit wonder for myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

