randomness at its best

As luck were to have it, I had been quite busy the past week with the parents’ birthdays, and catching up with the lil nieces who stayed over. I was secretly hoping that I could find the opportunity to snap photos of what I baked for the birthday celebrations, but they were wiped out sooner than I had expected. All’s well, I guess๐Ÿ™‚

For the mother, I baked an improved version of the peach crumble pie, and a rich butter cake sandwiched with fruits, and decorated with buttercream frosting. Both were easily my mother’s favourites, even though I had deliberately reduced the sugar content in light of the doctor’s advice to her.

For the father’s celebrations yesterday, I baked the tried-and-tested soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies for the little ones to munch on, and tried my first attempt at an ice-cream cake. After several opinions, I went for the same butter cake, sandwiched with a layer of chocolate ice-cream, and another layer of chocolate chip ice-cream, and topped with a layer of Oreo crumbs. Even though it was a total mess (the ice-cream melted during the father’s speech!), I thought it was a good learning point, and I picked up several pointers with regard to the choice of cake (sponge, vis-a-vis butter), and the fridging duration. Oh, and hopefully next time I’ll have enough space in the freezer to use a springform pan๐Ÿ˜›

I still have a long way to go before I can come close to the likes of Happy Home Baker and Laureen with regard to cakes and cake decorations, but I do hope that I can get more practice soon!

In other news, I’ve been tagged by HHB and Aimei to give 5 random facts about myself. To be honest, I don’t know why anyone would be interested in knowing more about the boring ol’ me, but here goes:-

  1. I own five cameras; two digital, three film. Each with a different function/purpose. They are (clockwise):-
    • Dexter (Vivitar UWS);
    • Red (Canon Powershot A430);
    • Goggles (Disderi 4-lens);
    • Deedee (Diana+); and
    • Mister Black (Nikon D40; not pictured).
  2. I can never walk past shelves of shoes on display without trying some on. I’m guilty of buying more shoes than I can ever need, but hey, a girl can never have enough shoes.
  3. I made a small journal sometime back; my happy book I call it. And now I’m addicted to it.
  4. I have a soft spot for anything with ribbons. I believe that a little tie here and there brightens up the day.
  5. I’m a huge fan of musicals. From singing along to Julie Andrews in The Sound of Music/Mary Poppins, and Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella, to crying away in Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Phantom of the Opera, and Baz Luhrmann’s Moulin Rouge, I think everyone deserves a spot in the audience seat of a musical. Anyone else going for January 2009’s Cinderella?

15 thoughts on “randomness at its best

  1. the mister

    A pity you didn’t take photos of the bakes, luv…

    They’d have turned out lovely!๐Ÿ˜€

    Woohooo! Those Cinderella tickets finally make an appearance!๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  2. linda

    Of course everyone is interested in knowing more about boring olโ€™ you๐Ÿ˜‰
    5 camera’s…wow!
    love ribbons too, have to use them more๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  3. is

    i wish i had an aunt like you when i was a kid who can bake me cookies! your nieces must love staying over at your place๐Ÿ™‚

    anyway, love that pink stripe pair of shoes too!

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Yerrrrp… Wish I took some photos! And thank you for the tix, love!๐Ÿ™‚

    Shaheen: Woohoo! *hi-fives*๐Ÿ˜€ I always tend to forget how many shoes I have, until the next spring-cleaning session comes along *guilty look*

    linda: I wish I could get hold of more ribbons. I’m always somehow dumbfounded when I see ribbons lined up in the store๐Ÿ˜›

    is: I think they’re used to it already. When the two-year-old one sees me in the kitchen, she immediately goes “Oh hi auntie… Cake?” It’s pretty obvious I don’t step into the kitchen for cooking๐Ÿ˜› And I love those shoes too;– “my funny shoes” I call them.

    Reply
  5. thecoffeesnob

    Haha this was a truly random post and such a cute one at that. Ooh Cinderella’s showing in ’09? I have to check that out! I’ll either take my two little baby (well okay they’re not really babies anymore) cousins with me or drag my best friend who just came back from Perth. Thanks for the heads up!

    Reply
  6. grace

    what a lovely post–thanks for sharing a bit about yourself! i love that you call your journal your “happy book,” and obviously, a girl can never have too many shoes.๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Check out the Sistic website; they’ve started selling since Sept, and are selling fast, so quickly grab some tickets!๐Ÿ˜›

    HHB: Ah, but all the mad skills you have in the kitchen surely makes up for that little tying bit!๐Ÿ˜€

    grace: Nothing beats bonding over bakes and shoes…๐Ÿ˜‰ The journal is literally a happy book, coz I use it to write down things that make me happy๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  8. sweetrosie

    Happy Days dear! I’ve missed you and all my bloggy friends lately and I miss you all so much๐Ÿ™‚
    I loved your post, it was a fabulous start to the day. I wish you had written 125 things about you!
    xx

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    sweetrosie: Awww, we all missed you too, dearie! *hugs* When are you going to come down here again?๐Ÿ˜€

    jean: Haha, thanks, sweetz! And all the cameras have different purposes, so I don’t feel the least guilty!๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Aimei: Haha, me too! Even when my dress doesn’t come with a ribbon, I’d just tie a satin/silk ribbon somewhere๐Ÿ˜›

    plethoraofetceteras: Thanks, dearie. I never knew anyone would be interested in knowing more about me! Haha๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply

Leave a Reply

