my weekend in food

While I attempt to fight off my writer’s block, I shall leave you with some photos of the last weekend I spent.

The last weekend saw me completing some orders for Diwali open houses as well as the last week of Eid open houses. Apparently it made news at one of the houses that the friend’s sister went to, when a couple of my previous customers unknowingly came together. I love how Singapore is such a small country, and everyone is somehow linked. See, I knew cupcakes bring people together!

A bowl of Maggi Goreng (instant noodles stir-fried instead of boiled and served with flavoured soup), topped with shredded slices of leftover sambal chicken for breakfast. I had heard so much about maggi goreng from the mister that I read up on it the night before, and gave the packet of instant noodles in the pantry a twist early in the morning. Of course I can’t really tell whether it was good, because I never had the real dish before. I’m a palate wuss that way; highly unadventurous in my dining.

A late lunch at one of our favourite restaurants in town punctuated my first visit to the famed Chinatown Sunday toy fair with the mister. I was too overwhelmed by the comic-slash-toy geek crowd in the usually awfully empty-looking mall that I forgot to take Mister Black out. The completing members of a toy collection he owned, and one cheery blue sundress for me later, I’m definitely coming along the next time the mister heads to the fair again.

Always love the one who leaves the last piece of wonton for you. (Or the Arnold’s chicken skin, for that matter.)

Leftover barbecue chicken pizza for breakfast, with a generous dash of paprika. I wish these were homemade by yours truly, but I don’t think anyone would want to eat cheese-less pizza, so dialled pizza it was.

Last-minute Oreo muffins to satiate a rumbling tummy on a rainy evening. I had a conversation with the mister regarding a thought that had been niggling at the back of my mind for some time now. As much as I love baking, I hate to waste my bakes, and with the varied dietary specifications of the household;–by dietary specifications I strictly am referring to the chocolate versus non-chocolate camp;–a whole pan of brownies could take ages to finish. With muffins and cupcakes, I could cut down the portion (there were only 5 large muffins this time round, and even then I had two left for the morning, because the sister had left for Australia, and the brother stayed over night at the office).

Does anyone know if it’s possible to divide a brownie recipe to serve three persons; where do I bake it? I have a huge brownie craving, but don’t want to waste a whole 8 inch squared😦

18 thoughts on “my weekend in food

  1. linda

    For someone with a writing block you write a lot😉
    The cupcakes look very cute, good thing you don’t have a baker’s block😉

    Maybe you could try making 1/2 recipe of brownies in muffin paper cups but I don’t know what the baking time would be…

    Reply
  2. thecoffeesnob

    Ooh can i have a chocolate cupcake with sprinkles please?

    With regards to your brownies, i suppose you could bake them in tiny little tart pans instead? Alternatively, you could just bake the whole entire as per usual and send the remainders my way😉

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: Haha, after typing it out, I realised my writer’s block went away😛 Hmmm, I’ll give the muffin cup idea a try. Thanks, dearie!

    thecoffeesnob: I’d love to send some over to you! Along with a chocolate cupcake with sprinkles, of course😛

    Helene: Once I’ve figured out how to send cupcakes over in one piece, I sure will!😉

    Reply
  4. happygrub

    My personal instant noodles favourite is Myojo Char Mee. Hehe, so cute la you, not sure how’s it supposed to taste so don’t know if it tastes good! If its sedap, it just is, I think!

    The cupcake looks picture perfect as always..

    Reply
  5. Ashley

    As Hannah said, cut the recipe in half and bake it in an 8×4 loaf pan. That’s what I did for the white chocolate brownies I just made and it worked out perfectly! =)

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    grace: Aww, you’re always so encouraging!🙂

    happygrub: Thanks, dearie🙂 Haha, it’s just that the times we go to a particular coffee shop, the mister would almost always go for Maggi Goreng, and I’ve always wondered how it tasted like, but tak berani coz I’ve a weak stomach that’s not friendly to unfamiliar food😛 My favourite dry instant noodles is Ramen, and for the wet one is Maggi Assam Laksa. The one I made here is using Maggi Assam Laksa!😛

    Shaheen: Hehe. I do hope you’ll give the recipe I passed to you a try. Enjoy your weekend, dearie!🙂

    Ashley: Oh okay, thanks for the heads up! Will definitely give it a go🙂

    Coffee and Vanilla: Thank you, sweetie! And thanks for dropping by🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

