for friendship

I had a lovely conversation with one of the members of “the English gang”;–it never fails to surprise me how we subconsciously refer to ourselves as that, knowing exactly who we had in mind, even though we weren’t exactly from the same clique throughout varsity life;–and even though it was a short couple of minutes, it left me with a warm feeling in my heart, knowing that I had the support of close friends with regard to my big grand plan. It may not have been in so many words, but just knowing that some have faith in what I do, and can actually envision the big grand plan taking place definitely lifts my spirit.

This is for an old friend.

After having received a lovely e-mail from the sweet Shaheen yesternight, I spent this afternoon marveling at how a simple e-mail exchange could unravel so many interesting facts. It felt heartwarming to know that there’s a real face behind a foodblog at another end of the world, who actually goes through similar days as you. That as intricate and complex as your days may seem, you’re never really alone.

And then there’s EmiliAduka, who bravely tried, of all the recipes on my blog, my macaroni and cheese recipe! It definitely caught me by surprise to find an incoming link to that recipe, and honestly I was quite worried, because this non-cheese-eating baker definitely did not have a taste of that dish, and the recipe was posted simply out of the positive feedback from the mister (who had thereafter used it as a base recipe to make it his own specialty now). I was glad to know that it turned out well, and after a quick exchange of words, the young lady had made me craving for apple desserts for the longest time ever. And I’ve yet to get my hands on that Swensen’s apple crumble, mind you!

This is for new friends.

A couple of days ago marked the 39th month for the mister and I. It’s funny how we stumble each time we try to religiously remember how many months it has been. More often than not we always end up saying a lower number, only for the other to rectify, followed by a chorus of “Wahhh, so long!”. Somehow I’m beginning to think that we do it deliberately just to appreciate how far we’ve come. The best thing I love about our relationship is that we never really had a ‘proposal’ moment, and that the months we count really reflects how long we’ve gotten to know each other. It’s like a friendship that began with love. Or so my little head likes to think.

This is for the mister;–my best friend who is my greatest pillar of strength, the self-declared Number One fan, the one whose voice I go to sleep with at night, the one who never fails to make me sigh loudly and roll my eyes with every not-so-funny joke, and the one who has never stopped believing in me.

And last but not least, this is for all the sugar-high friends all over the world uniting for a [literally] sweet monthly event, only this time with added spice.

Apple Crumble Bars
(adapted from here)

4 cups flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 cup butter
5 cups apples, skinned and diced (I used 3 granny smiths, 2 royal gala)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C.
  2. Mix the diced apples with some lemon juice (I used half a lemon). Add in cinnamon and nutmeg. Set aside.
  3. Combine flour and sugars in a bowl.
  4. Rub in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse breadcrumbs.
  5. Mix 1 cup of the crumb mixture into the diced apples. This is the filling.
  6. Take half of the remaining crumb mixture and press into the bottom of a 9×13 inch pan. Bake at 180C for 10mins.
  7. Remove the pan from the oven and pour in the apple filling. Top with the remaining crumbs.
  8. Bake at 180C for 45 mins. Cool the pan completely to allow the crumble bars to set, before cutting them into bars. (I left them to cool for an hour)

25 thoughts on “for friendship

  1. the "number one fan "mister

    Hey hey!

    It’s a me (mentioned in your post)!

    It still excites me everytime I get mentioned!😀

    Well you’re my bestest friend ever, luv…

    Here’s to many mazzilion more months and eye-rolling jokes…

    *uyuks*❤

    Reply
  2. emiliAduka

    cheers to u too – my new friend!😉
    it sure looks yummy!!…
    will definitely have to have a go at this..
    hopefully can make them on sunday!
    wish me luck!! hehee…

    Reply
  3. thecoffeesnob

    That was such a sweet post🙂 I love that you made the crumble in a square pan- how on earth did you get it out so neatly though? I would probably end up with half the crumble on the counter top🙂

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Amiin…🙂 *uyuks* Keep those eye-rolling jokes coming!😛

    Helene: You should give it a try then! If only I could send one over.

    destinyskitchen: Hehe. I don’t really know why, but I feel healthier eating this, compared to the usual brownies and cakes😛

    didally: I know! I actually made these thinking I still had ice-cream in the fridge; should’ve known better that ice-cream don’t really last long in my house😛

    emiliAduka: Good luck, sweets! Hope you like them🙂 You can omit the nutmeg, though. I wasn’t quite a big fan of it; cinnamon’s still my type of spice I guess. And definitely go with granny smith!

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, dearie🙂 Actually the first slice threatened to crumble when I cut it after cooling it for half an hour. So I just left it in the pan longer. A tip from similar recipes is to allow it to set in the fridge.

    Reply
  5. faizah

    awwww your entry makes me feel all warm inside this coldcold room. i’m such a sucker for real day-to-day love stories.

    happy monthiversary to the both of you!! my mister and i seldom get the number of months right too. hehehe

    the apple bars look yummy. and i repeatedly view your blog JUST so i could drool at the banana muffins. hungrryyyy!

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Bernice: Thanks,sweetz!🙂

    faizah: Hahaha, you’re too cute lah! The cold room must be driving you hungry, you poor dear. And thanks for the wish, dearie. I guess sometimes the no. doesn’t really matter, huh? So long as we remember the love that came with the date🙂

    concoctionmaker: A scratch & taste monitor! That’s a great idea😛

    Reply
  7. Shaheen

    Heyy! Thanks you mentioning me in your post.. I’m touched.🙂 And the bars look fantastic! I’ve never made bars, just used to make tray fulls of crumble. But the bars are a less messy option and look more elegant while serving. I need to go buy more Granny Smiths now for this one.

    Reply
  8. cheryl

    Hi! I just stumbled across your blog. hey the apple crumble really looks goooooood (: i’m a newbie at baking too though. if i were to make half the amount in an 8×8 inch pan, how long and at what temperature would you recommend for baking? thanks okay! hehe.

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    Shaheen: I’ve always loved apple crumbles, but the only problem was the messy bit! This totally solved that problem. Hope you give it a try!🙂

    linda: Thanks, dearie🙂

    grace: Awww, thanks sweetie🙂

    Sihan: Thanks, Sihan🙂 Cheers to friendship!

    cheryl: Hi Cheryl, thanks for dropping by. I actually made them the second time in an 8″ square pan, and baked them for about an hour, since they’d be thicker. If you were to half the amount, perhaps you could try about 30mins? Usually when you half a recipe, the baking time should take about 2/3 to 3/4 of the original baking time. I hope it helps🙂

    Reply
  10. jean-marie

    Babe, that looks like the Swensen’s crumble! All you need is just the sauce in a sizzling pan. Now I’m hungry!

    Reply
  11. emiliAduka

    hey u!.. done it and it’s soooo SEDAAAAP!!!…😀 thank u! thank u! and thank u!… dah tak kempunan lagi!.. but like jean said, it’s juz missing the sauce in a sizzling pan!…😉 but still sedaaap!!…

    Reply
  12. Pingback: Sugar High Friday: Spice Up Your Life! Part One

Leave a Reply

