a special spot between mister cookie and the brownie babe

It only came to my attention that I had never [consciously] made a blondie in my life upon hearing the responses of those who asked what was baking away in the oven concomitantly punctuated with question marks. Why consciously, you asked? Because the mister insists that these blondies taste suspiciously similar to the cookie cake I baked for our 30th month, while the sister suggested to bake the same batter as huge Toll House-esque chocolate chip cookies the next time round.

I guess in a way they work by the same principles. Brown sugar, check. Butter, check. Chocolate chips, check. The crunch of a chocolate chip cookie, yet the chewiness of a fudgey brownie, check.

As complex as blondies can be, one thing for certain is that they most definitely earned a special spot in the household.

Therein lies the biggest question intended to stump me, courtesy of a dahling sweetie. Will there be a greater frequency of kitchen appearances by this goldie blondie vis-a-vis my absolute favourite fudgey brownie? While I’m definitely making these again (a second batch for tomorrow, in fact), nothing beats chocolate in chocolate, and I’m hanging on to the brownie connoisseur title for now.

These were crisp and firm on the outside, yet had a nice chewy cookie texture, all thanks to the lovely brown sugar. Studded with mini morsels of chocolate chips, they were surprisingly chocolatey in spite of their golden exterior;–a wondrous pleasure for the chocoholics;–yet they did not have the decadent sin of a fudgey brownie which only gives these blondies the sin of causing you to have more than one slice at a sitting.

With a dollop of vanilla-raspberry ice-cream, I started my day with a sinful breakfast that never tasted better. Dessert before the mains;– they made me do it.

With all the sugary goodness of these blondies, I’m sending them over to Root Source Challenge #36: Brown Sugar.

Chocolate Chip Blondies
(adapted from here)

1 1/3 cup plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Lightly grease a 9 inch square pan.
  2. Sift the flour and baking powder. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, beat together butter, sugar, egg and vanilla until smooth.
  4. Stir in the flour mixture and chocolate chips until well blended. Spread evenly in the pan.
  5. Bake for 25-30 mins. Leave to cool slightly in the pan before cutting into bars.

21 thoughts on “a special spot between mister cookie and the brownie babe

  1. the mister

    “Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuude…. These are aweeeeeeesommmmmeee!!!!”

    That’s what was in my head when I was eating them goldies blondies… And I had them WITHOUT ice – cream!!!!

    Wah… these are definitely entered into the hallowed halls of “MOOTIES!!!” that I lurve!😀

    Reply
  2. Maya

    Wow3! Just E push I needed. I have been wanting to bake blondies for god knows how long! I do have all E ingredients in hand. I guess I’m gonna bake this for my cousins tom! Maybe I shd get a tub of vanilla ice cream too. Thank u so much for sharing E recipe dear…and yes thank u for E calories too! :p

    Reply
  3. happygrub

    I’ve never tried blondies either! Just never figured out where they fit in..Thanks for cracking the mystery..

    I am so darn tired.. God, the biennale is sooooooo big,I walked so much I cant feel my legs anymore. u guys should definitely go! U’ll love it I’m so sure. Its so large, open, few people and so good for photography. 10 dollars per entry, and have lots of stamina cos it can go on and on.. I’ll share photos soon.

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    Maya: You can always count on me for a calorie surplus and a sugar rush anytime!😛 Hope your cousins will like it as much as we did🙂 Feel free to add in any subs you like; I made another batch with coconut and they were divine!

    happygrub: You should definitely give blondies a try! Can’t wait to see them; I’ve seen a couple of photos of the installations on local groups, and they look really good! Thanks for the heads up. That’s another one to add to the list, besides SIPF. Must. Make. Time.😛

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Ah I feel so glad knowing that I’m not the only one who has never made/had a blondie prior to this😛

    grace: Now I’m thinking chocolate chip blondies with vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of butterscotch caramel sauce. Oh yummmm…

    Reply
  6. jean-marie

    I forgive you for not baking brownies, coz I jus made the blondies today to bring to my daddy’s office, and his workers love it! He didnt believe I baked it. So it must be good!

    Reply
  7. plethora

    blondies!!! i love em! i used to make those plain almond blondies. and now thanks to you…i am soooo gonna give this a try.

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Aimei: Give it a shot! I used to think they were the vanilla version as well, but they’re more of a chocolate chip cookie disguised as a brownie. If that made any sense😛

    plethora: You should! I can’t vouch for these more😛

    Reply
  9. linda

    Now that I see your delicious blondies I realise that I’ve never ever made blondies before…hereby added to the to-do list!
    btw love the new design (loved the old one too though)

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Thanks, dearie🙂 You definitely should give it a try. With your creativity, I can’t wait to see what unique flavour twists you’ll give it!

    Reply
  11. gg

    I am definitely trying this. Dear son is allergic to chocolate. Life is cruel! I’ll be using white chocolate chips. And of course, Paula Deen’s fab orange cream cheese icing.

    Reply
  12. ovenhaven Post author

    Oh dear, I can’t imagine being allergic to chocolate! Your poor son! I hope he’ll love these, especially with glorious icing🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

