a soft fluffy twist

Ever since I ventured the bread way with some fluffy cinnamon rolls, I couldn’t help but be spurred on to bake more yeasty goodness. The first time I made these was for a late lunch I had, and seeing how I managed to run off with only one out of six pieces for a household of three;–that’s five pieces shared between the parents, mind you;–I knew that I had to make them again, and share with you.

Oh and of course, double the recipe.

I made two batches of these soft pretzels for a breaking fast session the other evening. We had expected the sister and nieces to join us, but due to a change in plans, I ended up sending more over to the brother’s across the road, since the eldest niece is a huge pretzel fan, smearing her face silly with chocolate when she downed a couple of chocolate pretzels during the last family vacation. And ended up staying chocolate high wide awake till the early hours of the morning.

What I loved most about these pretzels was that they remained soft and fluffy several hours on. I had promised the mister I would make some for him after I raved about them upon the first attempt, but I had my concerns whether their texture would be affected if they weren’t served fresh from the oven. I was glad to learn that my worries were allayed when I had my first bite into a chocolate pretzel several hours after they were baked.

I cannot describe just how much I loved these, so you just need to try them out to find out๐Ÿ™‚

3rd World Bread Day hosted by 1x umruehren bitte aka kochtopf

I’m sending these over to the Bread Queen Zorra for her World Bread Day ’08 event. Can’t wait for the round-up to inspire me with more bread bakes!

Soft Pretzels
(adapted from here; makes six delectable fluffs)

For dough:
1 tsp active dry yeast
pinch of sugar
1/3 cup warm water
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 tbsp white sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp oil

For dipping:
3 tbsp baking soda
1 cup hot water

  1. Dissolve yeast into 1/3 cup warm water with a pinch of sugar. Set aside for 10mins, until the mixture is creamy coloured and frothy.
  2. Mix the yeast mixture with flour, sugar, oil and salt. Knead until combined. Let the dough rise in a greased and covered bowl until doubled in size, about 1 hour.
  3. Preheat oven to 210C.
  4. When the dough has risen, divide into six balls, and roll each into a long strand. Twist into pretzel shape and place on greased sheet.
  5. Dissolve baking soda into 1 cup hot water, and stir. Quickly dip each twisted pretzel and place it back on baking sheet.
  6. Bake for about 8mins.
  7. Top with your favourite glaze/topping. If you prefer them plain, sprinkle some sea salt on them before baking.

34 thoughts on “a soft fluffy twist

  1. Lori

    Hi. I followed this link from bakebakebake on LJ and had a couple questions …

    Do you know what temperature 210C would be in Fahrenheit?

    The recipe says to disolve the yeast in hot water w a pinch of sugar. Is this the same one cup of hot water from the recipe? Or is that one cup for dipping the pretzels in before baking?

    Thanks for your help. I just might be baking these later today!

    Lori

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Hehe, I’ll make for you soon, k dear? *uyuks*

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, sweetie๐Ÿ™‚ I’m still pretty much in a dilemma as to which topping I prefer! Hehe๐Ÿ˜›

    Mandy: I’d love to, but they’re all wiped out!๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    Lori: Hi dearie, it’s 425F. As for the yeast part, dissolve it in the 1/3 cup of warm water (third ingredient on the list), not the 1 cup hot water for baking soda bath. I’ll indicate it in the recipe๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck, sweetie!

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    Sylvia: Thanks for your kind words, dearie! Thanks for dropping by๐Ÿ™‚

    destinyskitchen: Hehe. My sentiments exactly!๐Ÿ˜€

    Happy Homebaker: No problem, sweetie! Hope you’ll like them as much as I did๐Ÿ™‚

    skinnymum: *hands you a tissue* Hehe. Hope you’ll like them!

    didally: *hands you a hanky* I love being around chocoholics!๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    Dorothy: Thanks, sweetie! Do give them a try; you won’t regret it๐Ÿ™‚

    grace: Ah, everything sounds better with “hearty” as an adjective…๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Pat: Yes, I think fluffy soft pretzels should join the crusade with cupcakes and world peace cookies!๐Ÿ˜›

    is: Haha, I wish so too! My mother kept coming into the kitchen, saying “Sedapnya bau!”๐Ÿ˜›

    plethoraofetceteras: Hi Yah๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t know you had a foodblog as well! Have I told you Sophie looks so cute? Well, she does๐Ÿ˜›

    Zita: I actually spent a good few seconds wondering which one to grab first for iftar๐Ÿ˜› Hope you’re having a great Ramadan, dear!

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    Aimei: I’ve heard of wasabi coating at Auntie Anne’s, but I don’t think I’ll be going that way anytime soon. Cinnamon sugar and chocolate it is for me!๐Ÿ˜›

    plethoraofetceteras: Hehe, no problem. Selamat berpuasa๐Ÿ™‚

    Gigi: Oh trust me, when it comes to these pretzels, they’re definitely a need.๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  8. Pingback: rosemary focaccia, in two ways « :: epicurean escapism ::

  9. Pingback: Live to eat babyyy « Violent denunciations of a no longer teenager

Leave a Reply

