thinking outside the box

A box of vanilla cupcakes with chocolate ganache and adorned with Formula One-themed marshmallow fondant figures.

A box of chocolate cupcakes with sinful chocolate fudge frosting.

I’m trying hard to consciously make time to photograph my orders. Maybe it’s just me, but I think a packed box of cupcakes will always brighten someone’s day. I love the kind thoughts and best intentions that these boxes represent. They always say that it’s the thought that matters, but if the thought comes in a box of sweet treats, why ever not, I say.๐Ÿ˜›

Now and then I get e-mails or enquiries regarding baking ideas for gifts intended for a special someone. I always reply with suggestions of recipes, tips, and packaging ideas. Maybe it’s the innate romantic in me, but e-mails as such, along with birthday/anniversary/just-because orders never fail to bring a smile to my face. That as cliched as it may sound, love is all around, and I’m just happy to be a part of spreading the love.

Make cupcakes, not war.

p/s: I made my own fondant for the very first time, and did sculpting for a first. So pardon the amateur sculpting… If you can’t figure out what they are, they’re supposed to be race cars๐Ÿ˜›

p/p/s: Orders for Hari Raya Cookie Cravings Bake Sale closes 15th! So hurry!

19 thoughts on “thinking outside the box

  1. the mister

    WAH!!!!!!!!!

    The cars are VERY CUTE!!!!

    Very well done, dear!

    I LOIKE!๐Ÿ˜€

    Oh yah, I don’t really know how to evaluate frosting techniques but those chocolate fudge swirly frosting things look very nice!

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Thanks, bie! Ah but it’s such a pity you don’t like cakes nor those swirly frosting things! Just stick to mooties, yah?๐Ÿ˜›

    Ivy: Thank you๐Ÿ™‚ And thanks for dropping by!

    didally: Yes, I totally agree. They were getting stickier by the minute!

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, sweetie๐Ÿ™‚ It was okay initially, but it got stickier by the minute. Not as bad as the store-bought fondant, though.

    grace: I totally second that. Miss Universe pageant contestants should stop saying the cliched “World Peace”, and this instead.๐Ÿ˜›

    destinyskitchen: Very fudgy and gooey indeed! I’m not a fan of frosting, but this never fails to get me scraping off the bowl. With your mad skills, you should take the plunge and try fondant! I’m sure it’d work out perfect๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

