of tarts, an award and a bake sale

It has almost been a week into Ramadan, yet today was the first that I actually brought something to the dining table for iftar, the meal we have at sundown to mark the end of the day-long fast. A typical iftar at our place usually comprises of a main dish prepared by the mother (noodles or rice), and several small bites on the side, such as sweet or savoury Malay kueh, or sandwiches of sorts. We normally have only one or two varieties of small bites, but end up with quite a few varieties on the table by iftar, thanks to the food exchanging culture we have amongst the neighbours and other family members.

The mother had been busy preparing all sorts of kueh and dishes for the past few days, so when she finally headed out to fetch the sister and the two nieces who were staying over for the weekend, I scrambled to contribute a lil something for iftar. Something sweet, hassle-free, and instant.

Enthralled and inspired by HHB’s use of instant prata to make sausage prata rolls, I made a batch of Portuguese egg tarts this afternoon using frozen instant prata. I loved the idea of using instant prata akin to frozen puff pastry, and thought it was a great way to use up the remaining packet of instant prata we had stowed away in the fridge.

Truth be told, I never had portuguese egg tarts before, but have heard of numerous raves from those who swear by them. I’m not a big fan of egg custard desserts, so I had my apprehensions; that it would be too eggy for my taste. Apparently I wasn’t the only one with apprehensions, as the family clearly had their doubts about the instant prata bit. These puffed little nuggets of egg custard, however, proved to be worth the try.

The prata puffed up to a flaky and crispy crust, while the egg custard caramelised at the sweet surface, hiding a layer of soft yet not runny filling. Next time though, I would be sure to fill the cups more so that they encase the top of the puff pastry even more. I knew that the filling would rise and puff up into literal balls in the oven, thereafter sinking upon cooling to give the characteristic sunken caramelised look, but mine turned out too shallow to even look half as pretty as those out in stores. These received the thumbs up from the household, and I foresee myself turning to this simple and instant sweet bites again in the near future.

(Recipe at the end of this post)

In other news, the talented Helene had passed on the award of Brillante Weblog to me, and I couldn’t be more thrilled and honoured. If you haven’t already been crazily bookmarking the recipes on her blog, come hop onto the bandwagon already! Thanks, sweetie🙂

And so, now is my turn to pass it on to seven blogs whose content and/or design I find brilliant:-

  1. Happy Home Baking
  2. Linda from Make Life Sweeter
  3. Ashley from Eat Me, Delicious
  4. Todd and Diane from White on Rice Couple
  5. Zita from Simplicious
  6. Destiny from Destiny’s Vegan Kitchen
  7. Patricia from Technicolor Kitchen

Absolutely ADORE all of these blogs; they’re on my Foodblogs – Dailies bookmarked folder on my window. Truly inspiring, I wish I had half the tenacity and talent of these foodbloggers bakers and cooks.

On a last note, if you haven’t already received my email (I know that some of my friends have filled-to-the-brim mailboxes, and find ploughing through the inbox much too cumbersome!), here it is, Ovenhaven Hari Raya Cookie Cravings bake sale for this year!

Remember lovelies, closing date for the orders would be on Monday, 15 Sept. I have already received enquiries on ordering other cookies and/or cupcakes, so if you’re interested in anything beyond the catalogue, just drop me an email, and I will try to accommodate. Also, fret not, cupcake and brownie orders are still running as usual🙂

Quick & Easy Portuguese Egg Tarts
(makes 6 pieces)

3 pieces of frozen instant prata
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup whipping cream
3 egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla essence

  1. Preheat oven to 220C.
  2. Cut each piece of frozen prata into two. Fold and press each half into a muffin hole.
  3. Beat sugar, milk, whipping cream, yolks and vanilla essence until all of the sugar has dissolved. It should thicken, and look almost white.
  4. Pour the egg mixture into each of the prata ‘cup’, filling about 2/3 full.
  5. Bake at 220C for 20-25mins.

24 thoughts on “of tarts, an award and a bake sale

  1. the mister

    Wah… The revelation about the instant prata thingie that you shared with me really rocked my world, bu! I wonder if I’ll get a chance to apply it… *rubs hands gleefully*😛

    Oh yah, good luck for the Hari Raya bake sale!!!

    Order, people, order! I personally recommend the fluffy whites, which are absolutely CRAZYGOOD!!!😀

    Reply
  2. linda

    Thanks so much for the award, you made my day🙂
    Your bake sale cookies look wonderful…pity I live a bit too far😉
    I wanted to make Portugese egg custard tarts once but after reading how difficult it was to actually get them right I chickened out. I think yours look very professional: pretty and rustic.

    Reply
  3. Maya

    I would love to try E fluffy whites since your dear Mister seems to be endorsing it so strongly! :p CCk is so far from Bedok😦 Hmm…can post?😀

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: If you’re referring to those chicken pies, don’t forget to pass some to me! Especially if it has the samosa filling😛 And thank you for the word of recommendation, bie!🙂

    linda: You’re welcome, dearie; you deserve the award🙂 Thank you for your sweet words, not having tried them myself, I actually went to google the images to see how they’re supposed to look like. Mine totally pales in comparison! You should definitely give it a go; try using frozen puff pastry if you want🙂

    Pat: You’re welcome, dearie; you’re the very first blogger who always came to drop encouraging comments when I first started out. I’ll never forget that🙂

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    Happy Homebaker: You definitely deserve the award, HHB! Thanks for all the inspirations🙂

    grace: Thanks, sweetie! I’m a total geek when it comes to simple and quick recipes; always being the first to jump on the bandwagon.😛

    Ashley: You’re welcome, dearie🙂 Someone who hates oatmeal yet came up with a delectable carrot cake oatmeal definitely deserves the award!

    Reply
  6. Jonathan

    Just found your blog and this post is a winner! I am not a good baker, but this recipe may get me back in the kitchen to give it a try!

    amy @ weareneverfull.com

    Reply
  7. happygrub

    U’ve been marked as spam a couple of times on my blog, sorry! I just looked thru my spam box.

    Its really a good idea using the prata cups! Now why didn’t I think of that..

    And I so get what u mean by the little bites! I love them, they should be a separate food group.

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Amy: Oh I wish I could say that, but I only go into the kitchen to bake, and never to cook!😛 Maybe I could learn a thing or two from your blog. Thanks for dropping by🙂

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, sweetie! I just love the idea of frozen prata in place of frozen puff pastry. I guess it must be the lazy me talking😛

    happygrub: Yours always turn up at the spambox too! I think it’s a conspiracy against us. And little bites should definitely be a whole different food group altogether! Now if only there was a book out there just dedicated to them. Yummo.

    Reply
  9. Zita

    Ooh…thank you dear, you’re so kind…

    I love pratas… your look so cute..

    Sold a lot of order for hari raya, already?

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Zita: Thanks, sweetie🙂 I love the photos on your blog; can’t believe I never found you earlier! And so far Alhamdulillah, the orders are coming in🙂

    didally: Sure thing, dearie. I got the idea when HHB made her sausage prata rolls; do give it a shot!

    Reply
  11. jean-marie

    I would’ve never guessed its prata! I didnt know you could do that with instant prata. Must try!

    Btw, I saw you and your mister at Penin the other day looking at guitars. Qte sure its you. But I was with my friends, so cldnt come over. Hope to bump into you again, babe!

    Reply
  12. Matilda

    Dearest Zul,

    millions of thanks & v sori for delayin the appointment..sori for the inconvenience caused… =S btw the cupcakes are gorgeous..my colleague absolutely loves it..! Droolicious n an eye-candy…!! may ur biz prosper and here I wish u Happi Ramadan =D

    Reply
  13. ovenhaven Post author

    jean: Babe, you gotta seriously stop stalking me! Hahaha😛 And yes, do give it a try. Instant prata has suddenly become an enlightening ingredient of the season😛

    destinyskitchen: You’re welcome🙂 I love that you not only share lovely recipes, but you recommend books/novels as well! I still have my eye on the Perks of Being a Wallflower.

    Matilda: Hey girl, no worries; I’m just really relieved you turned up! Glad that your colleague enjoyed the cupcakes🙂 Thanks for the wish, sweetie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

