of wishes and pictures

The month of September has just ran around the corner, welcoming us with the warmest of smiles. He promises to fly by very quickly this year, kicking the month off with the blessed days of Ramadan for Muslims here in Singapore and the region. I would like to take this opportunity to wish all my Muslim readers and friends a joyous and fulfilling Ramadan ahead!🙂

You’re probably gonna hate me for this, but no recipes again for this entry (yes yes, I do hear your synchronised “boo”s). But fret not, I will leave you with a number of photos to keep you company and whet your appetite; just some of the things I’ve been up to while I was away. If you want to see more of my days, though, feel free to have a look-see at my photo blog.


Chewy chocolate cookies with chocolate chips and Koko Krunch.


A box of rainbow cupcakes. One of the rare times I get to photograph my orders; I tend to work late into the night for morning orders, but these were done in the morning for an afternoon collection.


A box of chocolate cupcakes for the same order.


Pre-Ramadan means coming up with new recipes for a bake sale (details in the next post, hopefully); sprinkles make me happy, as much as little red hearts do.

And remember this cupcake topper of the mister and myself?

Well, this is what he comes up with while I was away, and he has time on his hands to ponder on his upcoming chapter of webcomic.

Pardon the cutesy language we share😛

Oh and before I forget, here’s wishing all the teachers out there, and to the mister, of course, a Happy Teachers’ Day!

28 thoughts on “of wishes and pictures

  1. didally

    I love the colorful pink and blue cupcakes and rainbow sprinklers!

    Mr Bie is so talented. You must be proud of him.🙂

    I definitely don’t mind the cutesy LOL cats language, I use them alot too. lol

    Reply
  2. the mister bie

    First of all,

    Happy Ramadhan!🙂

    May you have a blessed and meaningful month ahead, dear.

    Secondly,

    To the lovely photos of the bakes, I say : “Puasa! Puasa!”😛

    Thirdly,

    Hey! It’s my comic!
    Hurhur… That wacky Batman…😀

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    didally: Yup, he’s pretty much the resident multi-talented one of us two😛 And good to meet fellow cutesy-talkers! Haha😀

    bie: Selamat menyambut bulan Ramadhan, dearest🙂 It must feel great to be exchanging costumes with Batman for awhile😛 Superman, next?

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, sweetie! I think sprinkles bring out the child in everyone😛

    Reply
  4. faizah

    omg! you two are the cutest!! *giggles*

    i love sprinkles too and hearts and pretty cupcake swirls. =)

    have a blessed ramadhan to you & family (and your biebie) too, dear!

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    Zita: Ramadan Kareem to you too, dearie!🙂

    Bernice: Thanks, sweetie! Enjoy your 1 week holiday🙂

    faizah: Awww, thanks, dearie🙂 You need to post that recipe for the perfectly round jemput2 pisang!

    Reply
  6. happygrub

    Zhulie, I am completely blown away by ur piping skills, u r WAAAAY more advanced than I am, in fact I am feeling a bit ashamed of myself, haha!

    Being very tech unsavvy, I am amazed at ur cartoons. I wish Mr Bie can create me a logo..

    Reply
  7. destinyskitchen

    Happy Ramadan! Don’t worry that you didn’t post a recipe, sheesh. Your pictures definitely suffice! I save many of them in my “inspiration” file on the computer. They’re just so colorful & full of love.

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    happygrub: Awww thank you, dearie🙂 No worries though, everything comes with practice… and a good piping tip!

    Helene: That definitely made my day wonderful! Thank you, Helene🙂

    destinyskitchen: Thanks for the wish, sweetie!🙂 You’re really too kind with your words. Glad you like my pictures!

    Reply
  9. jean-marie

    Happy fasting, babe! Why didnt I know you have a photo blog?? Anyway, I have the same comforter! Oh, and I’m so gonna show P the comic *jealous*😛

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    grace: It’s not me; copious sugar makes everything magnificent, sweetie😉

    jean: Yah, I think it’s about time I got a proper photoblog. And get him to make you one! A comic, not a photoblog😛

    linda: Coming from you, that’s an honour. Thanks, dearie🙂

    Reply
  11. fiza

    hey! i stumbled upon your foodblog from bakebakebake (lj’s community).i must say your very talented in the baking arena eh? haha.just commenting to tell you that i’ve bookmark-ed some of your recipes.will definitely try them out! anyway,not too late to wish you selamat berpuasa,right?😀

    Reply
  12. Vicki

    Hello! Where did you get the cupcake holders? Those that hold the cupcake in the box so it won’t shift around. Or did you make them yourself?🙂

    Reply
  13. ovenhaven Post author

    Hi there, thanks for dropping by. Will you kill me if I said I was abit disheartened when I read your question, because I don’t know what I’m doing half of the time?😛 I wish I had tips to share, but I don’t exactly know what to say; I always just think I’m lucky. I guess using a trusty large star tip helps; I use a 1M, and ummm a lot of practice?

    Sorry I’m not much help, sweetie😦

    Reply
  14. Wirin

    Hi there, I’ve accidentally bump into ur website and I’ve been following the blog since then.”Hmm, where are my manners”….Hehe
    You see, I’ve been trying my hands on baking recently and been baking cupcakes for a start. Now that I saw your Choc chunk cookies, I tried making it but turned out to be a disaster! It had an overpowering taste of butter. So can you adv me on how to measure the 1 cup of butter correctly?
    – Wirin –

    Reply
  15. ovenhaven Post author

    Oh dear! I don’t like butter, so I can only imagine how an overpowering taste would be like.

    I don’t know how others do it, but for me, I usually soften the butter just a bit before cutting it into blocks and dumping them into a dry ‘1 cup’ measuring cup. Then I use the straight edge of my knife to level it even with the top of the cup.

    I don’t soften the butter too much, because since they would be all melt-y, that would probably cause more butter to be measured.

    Hope that helps, Wirin!

    Reply
  16. Wirin

    Shall heed your advice and try doing the cookies again then…Hopefully they turn out well & nice for me to sell at an upcoming flea market.
    Funny isn’t it when others are selling their old/unused stuffs, I opt to sell cookies.
    Can’t wait…!

    Oh by the way, Selamat Berpuasa to u and everyone reading your blog.

    Reply
  17. ovenhaven Post author

    Oooh, if you’re based in Singapore, do let me know where the flea market is. Would love to drop by! Nothing beats selling cookies and cakes amidst old/unused stuff.😛

    And thank you for the wish!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

