i let the heat get to me

When I first read about Grace’s Beat the Heat event last month, I was actually wondering to myself, what heat? Sure, the sun would be all bright and cheery in the bluest of skies, but we had the occasional daily showers which would send unsuspecting pedestrians scrambling for shelter. The heat was the least of my concern, relishing instead on beautiful picnic days and manic shutter-frenzy.

That was until the recent cupcake bake, which left me fighting most of the battle in the air-conditioned living room, upon having melted away in the heat of the oven. Believe me, amidst the 4pm still air, the whole kitchen felt like a preheated 200C oven.

The next day, I contemplated warm scones with fresh blueberries for breakfast, but decided against it after the humid sun made his way into the kitchen faster than I could greet it a beautiful morning. Hunger pangs and sheer laziness on my part brought about this mixed fruit yoghurt parfait, or what I’d prefer to call ‘These Are a Few Of My Favourite Things Parfait’.

Mixed berries yoghurt, bits of sweet watermelon, pieces of dragon fruit, and topped with Koko Krunch (just because I need my daily dose of chocolate in one way or another);– an oven-free breakfast you can easily whip up with just anything you have stowed away in the fridge.

17 thoughts on “i let the heat get to me

  1. didally

    Yeah, adding in ice cream will be nice. lol

    Weather’s hot and humid but I am lucky that my house gets the seasonal wind at this time of the year.

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Can’t take ice-cream in the morning lah… But not to worry, I had ice-cream after dinner that day!πŸ˜‰

    didally: Everything tastes better with ice-cream, huh?πŸ˜› Oh you’re so lucky to get that, but as I’m typing this, it’s cool and drizzling out the window, so let’s hope it stays this way.πŸ˜€

    Reply
  3. grace

    ah, magical. so simple and quick, yet so nutritious and delicious.πŸ™‚
    thanks again for sending this to me–it’s practically perfect in every way.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    linda: I’m sure you made the dragon fruit’s day with your commentπŸ˜€

    grace: Thank you, sweetie. Looking forward to the roundup!πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Lore

    Your parfait sounds like a great package: refreshing thanks to the fruits, crunchy flakes and a good dose of energy for the day. Sold!πŸ˜€

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    mammamm: You’re absolutely right, hamster! But it would’ve been totally you if it had some water-chestnut or bananas, for that matterπŸ˜›

    Aimei: Hehe, thanks, sweetie. I never knew how refreshing it was to have fruits and yoghurt for breakfast. Easy to modify with different fruits and flavoured yoghurt as well!πŸ˜›

    Reply
  7. White On Rice Couple

    Oh wow, dragon fruit! All in a beautiful, cool and refreshing dish too!
    We grow 4 different varieties of dragon fruit and are bringing home two more new ones next week! When the new ones are fruiting next year, send me an e-mail reminder and we’ll send you some cook exotic dragon fruit varieties!

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Ooooh, sounds great! I’ll take you up on thatπŸ˜‰ I never knew there were so many different varieties of dragon fruit! My oh my, the two of you really do have green thumbs, don’t you?πŸ˜›

    Reply

Leave a Reply

