perfectly unplanned

There are those special days when you wish for everything to be immaculately perfect. You’ve played out the scripted scenes in your mind many months prior, pondered over heartwarming gift ideas for the longest time ever, and sourced for dining inspirations most suited for the occasion. In short, you want the day to be most memorable in your heart.

But sometimes, you just have to learn to let go.

Even if you’re a planning perfectionist like me.

For sometimes, when Fate takes his turn over the reigns of time, he sits alongside Love in their humble chariot, sprinkling beauty and perfection in every stumbling turn of events you could have never planned for.

I worried about the sweltering heat and warm humidity, but the wind accompanied us leaving the park completely dry, with the only warmth beaming from the depths of our hearts.

I feared for the unpredictable afternoon showers leaving us scurrying to abandon our perfectly-laden mat, but the wind whispered his gentle warning, and hurried the rain the moment we sat on a bench, laughing silly under the blue canvas we threw over ourselves, with the promise of a dry picnic experience on the grass the soonest.

I fumbled over the perfect gift for him, being a romantic at heart with a firm believer in surprises, but had a good laugh as I grew all flushed choosing the rings, with the mister sniggering away at my attempt of keeping cool amidst the tackiness of it all;–“It’s not a couple ring; it’s my anniversary gift to you, and I decided to get the same for me too. It’s not a C ring.”

He fretted over the search for my favourite peonies / hydrangeas, but fate knew that the most beautiful flowers are not stifled in coordinating plastic and paper wrappers, but rather, those that lay their souls bare entwined around the fingers of the one you love.

To my dearest mister, thank you for the fried macaroni (you owe me another batch!), the beautiful flowers, the breathtaking gifts, and basically, for the most perfect anniversary celebration. I am grateful for every day of the wonderful 3 years we have had together, and I wish us nothing short of the sweetest love that fate has perfectly planned for us both.

1 Pan Fudge Cake
(adapted from here)

1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
2 cups flour
3/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups water
1 1/2 tsp vinegar

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. In an ungreased 10 x 10 inch pan, sift all the dry ingredients.
  3. Add the liquids and stir until just blended.
  4. Bake for 25mins.
  5. Frost with your favourite frosting; cake is extremely moist, so be careful not to tear the cake when removing it.

24 thoughts on “perfectly unplanned

  1. Maya

    Awww how sweet๐Ÿ™‚ May Allah bless you both with joy, togetherness and love so true that will withstand all obstacles and tests. Keep smiling and may each of your smile warm each other hearts even when you are 80!๐Ÿ˜€

    Ps: Kahwin, jemput tau :p

    Reply
  2. the mister bie

    Happy third anniversary, dear.๐Ÿ™‚

    It was indeed a very much ‘unplanned’ celebration, but it was still lovely nonetheless.

    Thank you for preparing the smorgashboard of uber tasty stuff to eat, especially the cajun chicken thingie (my favourite!) and baking the cake (that goes SO WELL with ice cream) in such a record time.

    And I continue to apologize for my bland macaroni… Note : Kicap, bawang and udang kering is my friend!๐Ÿ˜›

    *uyuk*

    Reply
  3. grace

    happy anniversary, you poetic romantic, you! i’m glad mother nature behaved for ya’ll and that you shared the recipe for that ooey gooey, awesome-looking cake…๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Make me another batch of macaroni please! And I’ll throw in my cajun chicken as well๐Ÿ˜‰ *uyuks* Happy 3rd anniversary, love๐Ÿ™‚

    grace: Thanks, sweetie๐Ÿ™‚ The cake was so moist, but surprisingly really light and fluffy! I wish I had more time to frost it proper, though. The egg-less, milk-less and butter-less aspect of the cake made it necessary for a frosting, imo. At least the peanut butter went well with it. And ice-cream!

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    Bernice: Haha!๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks, I guess๐Ÿ˜›

    didally: Thanks, dearie. Yup, I much prefer quality time alone this way. We did go to a restaurant for dinner after that, but the best moments of the day has got to be the picnic๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. Ashley

    Aw glad you had such a wonderful anniversary celebration.๐Ÿ™‚ Those brownies look reeeeeally chocolatey and delicious. I love the hearts you put on top.

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    jean: Haha, thanks, dearie! And no, I don’t think I’ll ever move there; just hope to visit it some day๐Ÿ™‚

    Zita: Thank you, Zita๐Ÿ™‚ All three very important factors to keep a relationship going, I must say!๐Ÿ˜‰

    Ashley: Thanks, sweetie๐Ÿ™‚ The cake was enough for a chocolate fix, but not the typical fudgey brownies I love. I’d probably still stick to my favourite brownie recipe, but when time’s running short, this is a good one to go to!๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Gigi: Thanks, sweetz!๐Ÿ™‚

    destinyskitchen: If you do try it out, don’t forget the frosting; the cake isn’t sweet enough on its own๐Ÿ™‚ I do love it for the hassle-free-ness of it all, though๐Ÿ˜›

    Mandy: Thank you, dearie๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  9. happygrub

    Hi zhullie, I must say you look very composed in that pic with you holding the flowers.. congrats on ur third year anniversary, can you believe on my third yr anniversary I was 3 weeks away from my wedding. I wish the both of you all the best, u guys are the cutest!

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Wow, 3 weeks away on your 3rd anni? That must’ve been exciting! We still have quite a bit of a wait to go, I guess๐Ÿ˜› Thanks for the wish, dearie๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Food Friday: Double Chocolate Fudge Cake « 20 MORE THINGS

Leave a Reply

