asking for seconds on a first

Hoddeok.
Kodok??? (meaning ‘toad’ in the Malay language)
Hoddeok.
Kotok.
Hoddeok.
Ah forget it. I’ll watch their drama, you do their food.

As you can very well figure out, Korean delicacies have never made their way to the dining table at my house much. Korean dramas, on the other hand, became an almost permanent television fixture for the past two years or so, all thanks to the mother who discovered that they were more than typifications of Greek tragedies and Murphy’s law.

I have to confess that I have yet to complete a whole series of any one Korean television drama nor its movies, but have watched enough bits and pieces to recognise the theme song of Winter Sonata in all the different language remakes (there’s even one in Malay), know that ‘sassy’ became possibly the most over-used adjective on local media ever since My Sassy Girl rocked the cinema, and that the androgynous look was in, thanks to The Coffee Prince.

As for their cuisine, the closest I can ever proclaim to be to Korean food would probably be loving their kimchi, and the I-don’t-even-know-if-it’s-authentic barbecue sesame chicken dish from a stall at the nearby mall. Suffice to say, cooking Korean was the furthest on my mind.

But when I saw these cinnamon sugar pancakes, it definitely piqued my curiosity, and the recipe for this popular Korean street snack was duly bookmarked.

I love that the recipe makes six pieces of hoddeok, since there are only five of us now.

I hate that the recipe makes six pieces of hoddeok, since there are only five of us now, and we fight over who gets the last piece.

A fried yeast dough, flattened to a round pancake disc, hiding a sticky, sweet cinnamon sugar filling that sinfully oozes out with each bite;– how can one possibly resist that?

Tell me if you can, because I would gladly take your share.

Hoddeok (Korean Sweet Pancakes)
(adapted from here; makes six)

1 1/4 cups flour
1/4 tsp salt
90ml milk
45ml warm water
1/4 tsp white sugar
1/4 tsp dry active yeast
5 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp crushed cashewnuts (optional; you can use any nuts you prefer)
1/4 tsp cinnamon powder (I omitted this)

  1. Mix the warm water, white sugar and yeast in a small bowl. Set aside in a warm place for 10-15 mins.
  2. In another bowl, sift the flour, and add the salt, milk and the fermented yeast mixture.
  3. Mix well, cover and leave to rise in a warm place for about 2-3 hours. Go watch a Korean DVD if you’re getting into the mood, or just catch 3 episodes of Dexter online if you’re like me.
  4. Mix the brown sugar, cinnamon, and nuts for the filling.
  5. Oil your hands, and divide the dough into six. Widen and stretch each dough into your hand, flatten it into a disk, and place about 1/2-1 tbsp of filling in the center. Seal the dough.
  6. Preheat the frying pan, and add some oil. Place the dough balls onto the pan, and turn them over when the bottom part is cooked (golden brown). Flip it over, and flatten it with a spatula so that it becomes a disk. Cook until both sides are golden brown.


p/s: I’m sending this over to Ruth at Ruth’s Kitchen Experiments for her weekly Bookmarked Recipes event.

14 thoughts on “asking for seconds on a first

  1. the mister bie

    Haha! I laughed out loud reading the first few lines of conversation. So cute!πŸ˜›

    Ah, the ever uber cool focus brackets are at work again!πŸ™‚ I like the second pic the best… The texture is so clear!

    As for Korean delicacies, don’t forget that new barbeque chicken place that we went to the other day! Ajyem!!!πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Ah yes, that place. We need to check the Cineleisure outlet next. I don’t know what difference it would be, but I still wanna try their other dishes!

    But let’s face it, nothing can beat Datok A! Wooootz!πŸ˜€

    Reply
  3. thecoffeesnob

    I’ve never had a non savoury Korean pancake- this sounds interesting.

    You know it’s funny that you should have a picture of that little recipe box down the bottom. I’ve been trying to reorganize my ‘tried and tested’ recipes lately (i have a thing for writing my recipes out) and i came across the cutest little recipe box in a store yesterday. I hummed and hawed forever and walked away empty ended at last- i’m not sure if i like the idea of having recipes around on loose cards. How do you organize your recipes?

    Reply
  4. grace

    i cannot tell you how DELICIOUS these sound! i wish i could see the innards–cinnamon sugar makes me swoon. i would clearly fight my family for all six.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Bernice

    Gosh, this sounds so yummy!!! Will love to give them a try but sadly, I can’t cook for nuts. Anything related with oil and pan is no no to me. lol

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: I had a little recipe box with loose index cards for my tried and tested recipes, but they had to be of a specific size [I can be *quite* anal sometimes], so I grew tired of them. As it stands, I’ve got a couple of notebooks with badly scribbled recipes. I intend to make a recipe box soon nuf, though. HeheπŸ˜›

    grace: To be honest, I intended to. “One bite, then snap” soon became “Okay, another bite, then snap”, and well, let’s just say everything went down my stomach from then on. Also, you’d be glad to know that I got the last piece! *insert evil grin* MuahahahaπŸ˜€

    Bernice: You should totally give it a try! It’s not the least intimidating. You won’t regret it, sweetie!πŸ˜€

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    The nuts are mainly for texture. Some recipes have omitted it, but from what I’ve read, the hoddeok of the South Korean streets usually include crushed peanuts. Personally, I don’t mind them without the nuts at all; they’re sweeter and more of a guilty pleasure that wayπŸ˜›

    Reply
  8. happygrub

    I hand write recipes only when I want them from the net or from cookbooks then throw them away after cooking. Maybe we need to brainstorm on this..

    This looks good, it reminds me of a roti boyan in a way (is this very far off.. πŸ™‚ ), and like you I don’t think Korean food is familiar at all in my kitchen.

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    happygrub: My immediate reaction? Far off! Haha. My maternal side of the family is predominantly Bawean [I say predominantly, coz my maternal grandma is Madura, but even she embraced the Bawean culture more than her own], so roti boyan is a common fixture here. Perhaps the similarity would be in the fried yeasted dough? I like eating the corners of roti boyan where there isn’t much filling, and I think they taste similar to the dough of these hoddeok.πŸ˜›

    White on Rice: Mmmmmm, I love kimchi with warm fluffy white rice. yumyum! You should give this a try. It’s really good, especially if you’ve got a sweet toothπŸ˜›

    Reply
  10. Ruth E

    I’m not sure I can resist this myself!!!! sounds delicious!

    Thanks for sending this into bookmarked recipes.

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    Ruth E: Thank you for the lovely event! I’ll be sure to participate againπŸ™‚

    Ashley: You really should give it a try! I’ve bookmarked it for quite some time now, but never made my way round it. Now I’m left thinking what have I been missing out on!πŸ˜›

    Reply

Leave a Reply

