like tom and meg

A plate of warm classic homemade waffles paired with a scoop of freezer-cold chocolate fudge ice-cream, teased with a drizzle of strawberry syrup.

My favourite on-plate couple to complement my all-time favourite on-screen couple strutting their stuff in 1998’s You’ve Got Mail.

Who are your favourite pairs?

Classic Waffles
(adapted from here)

2 cups plain flour
1 tsp salt
4 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups warm milk
1/3 cup butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla extract

  1. In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Set aside.
  2. Preheat the waffle iron according to instructions.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs, warm milk, butter and vanilla. Pour the wet mixture into the dry, and beat until well-blended.
  4. Scoop the batter into the preheated waffle iron, and cook until golden brown and crisp. Serve with your favourite toppings.

17 thoughts on “like tom and meg

  1. the mister

    WAFFLES!!! (pronounced wah-fleys)๐Ÿ˜›

    Those look gorgeous!!! What happened to the ice cream? Did Mr. Shnopy eat it? I already told him he needs to cut down on them desserts, man! -_-‘

    Well my favourite onscreen pair is (of course) John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale from Serendipity! Lurve that movie!๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    He did! But he kept insisting that it’s not dessert since he had it for breakfast -_-‘

    And hey, what say we catch Serendipity again? Hehe๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  3. thecoffeesnob

    Mm..waffles. Incidentally, i’ve got big plans for breakfast tomorrow- pancakes with cameralized bananas๐Ÿ™‚

    Without a doubt, Marshall and Lily from How i Met Your Mother. Absolutely love that show๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    Ooooh… That sounds really good! I wish I had some bananas right now๐Ÿ™‚

    They make a cute couple, don’t they? I only caught a couple of episodes, but they’re really sweet together, I must say๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  5. grace

    i love tom and meg in you’ve got mail, but i also love their one major scene together in sleepless in seattle. i watch that part every single time the movie comes on tv. it’s magical.๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    didally: Ah, so many banana lovers here! When you get hold of that, share with me, wont you?๐Ÿ˜‰

    grace: I just really love them both! Sleepless In Seattle was nothing short of magic. Never fails to make me cry. Haha๐Ÿ˜› But then again, even that pinnacle final scene in You’ve Got Mail also got me tearing๐Ÿ˜›

    amanda: Oooh, ice-cream, peanut butter, and chocolate fudge??? Sinful indeed! *hands you a handkerchief*

    dorothy: Thanks, sweetie!๐Ÿ™‚

    Ashley: Spike and Buffy! I’m for them as well. Though I think the huge-Buffy-fan mister would disagree๐Ÿ˜› I liked Willow and Oz more together, though. They make a cute couple!

    Reply
  7. the mister bie

    Spike and Buffy! Iโ€™m for them as well. Though I think the huge-Buffy-fan mister would disagree๐Ÿ˜› I liked Willow and Oz more together, though. They make a cute couple!

    NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

    Buffy and Angel forever!!!

    I concur with Willow and Oz being cute though…๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Why am I not surprised at your uproar… Haha๐Ÿ˜›

    Gigi: Oooh, a fan of GWTW, I reckon? Shame on me, but I’ve never caught the show, nor read the book *blushes*๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply

Leave a Reply

