mad about madeleines

Still very much chuffed by Dorie Greenspan’s Baking From My Home to Yours, I took up recommendations for her recipes, and decided to try out her rendition of traditional madeleines.

You see, madeleines and me go way back. I’ve had them drowning in my teacup each time I walked past a local bakery store, Delifrance. I’ve drooled over the countless number of variations I’ve seen splashed all over the foodblogosphere, truly believing that the web not only transmits information by the bytes and whatnots (cut me some slack here, I’m no techgeek), but also came with an aroma aid, specifically suited for madeleines. Because nothing quite tickles my fancy like the promise of fresh warm madeleine photos. And ever since I started this blog, 100 posts ago, I had been tagging almost every madeleine post I could feast my eyes upon, wishing that I could get my hands on those intricately elusive madeleine moulds. But when push came to shove, or in this case, when I felt like enough was enough, I just had to make them, and the moulds can wait.

I had recently bought two really cute 18cm loaf tins from Daiso, a Japanese $2 store;– and by cute, I meant they were small, and I imagined they would be perfect for a little tea brunch party with dolls and little cups and saucers;– and so, I decided to make mini madeleine loaves! I’ve read reviews about this particular recipe not really making the cut, because of the lack of quintessential significant hump madeleines are known for, but they looked [and smelled] absolutely perfect when baked in these loaf tins. The light golden crust boasted its buttery texture, while the subtle lemon aroma tinged its every slice. There was the slightest hint of crunch with each bite that paved its way to a soft and cakey texture.

I had initially planned to give one loaf away as a gift, but with the many helpings returning to the dining table, they were wiped out easily before the end of the day. My parents loved the lemon tang, and while my mother ate the slices ala carte, my father had his sandwiched with jam, while I had mine for the evening, served with Nutella spread and strawberry preserves. That was of course, after I’ve had my own personal serving of leftover madeleine batter poured into a mini tart shell, with a small dollop of strawberry preserves inside. I just love the strawberry-lemon combination. Doesn’t she look like she’s smiling?

Traditional Madeleines
(from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking From My Home to Yours)

2/3 cup all-purpose flour
ยพ teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
ยฝ cup sugar
Grated zest of 1 lemon
2 large eggs, at room temperature
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
ยพ stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
..
Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.
Working in a mixer bowl, or in a large bowl, rub the sugar and lemon zest together with your fingertips until the sugar is moist and fragrant. Add the eggs to the bowl.
Working with the whisk attachment, or with a hand mixer, beat the eggs and sugar together on medium-high speed until pale, thick and light, 2 to 3 minutes. Beat in the vanilla.
With a rubber spatula, very gently fold in the dry ingredients, followed by the melted butter. Press a piece of plastic wrap against the surface of the batter and refrigerate it for at least 3 hours, or for up to 2 days. This long chill period will help the batter form the hump that is characteristic of madeleines. (For convenience, you can spoon the batter into the madeleine molds, cover and refrigerate, then bake the cookies directly from the fridge; see below for instructions on prepping the pans.)
GETTING READY TO BAKE: Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Butter 12 full-size madeleine molds, or up to 36 mini madeleine molds, dust the insides with flour and tap out the excess. Or, if you have a nonstick pan (or pans), give it a light coating of vegetable cooking spray. If you have a silicone pan, no prep is needed. Place the pan(s) on a baking sheet.
Spoon the batter into the molds, filling each one almost to the top. Don’t worry about spreading the batter evenly, the oven’s heat will take care of that. Bake large madeleines for 11 to 13 minutes, and minis for 8 to 10 minutes, or until they are golden and the tops spring back when touched.
Remove the pan(s) from the oven and release the madeleines from the molds by rapping the edge of the pan against the counter. Gently pry any recalcitrant madeleines from the pan using your fingers or a butter knife. Transfer the cookies to a rack to cool to just warm or to room temperature.
If you are making minis and have more batter, bake the next batch(es), making certain that you cool, then properly prepare the pan(s) before baking.
makes 12 large or 36 mini madeleines

23 thoughts on “mad about madeleines

  1. thecoffeesnob

    They do look heavenly. I’ve developed an obsession for all thing cirtus lately and i’m just dying for a slice of these. Now i just have to try these when i get back to Singapore.

    Oh by the way, if you’re holding off on getting those madeleine pans because of their hefty price, i managed to get loose madeleine moulds from a baking store in Chinatown. They work out to be so much cheaper plus they work just as well.

    That last photo is too damned cute๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  2. Bernice

    I love madeleines too! I’ve always wanted a madeleine tray but I doubt the tray can be put into my small oven. Hahaha

    Nevertheless, yours looks lovely!!! Never thought madeleines can be baked in loaves. Yours looks to-die-for!

    Reply
  3. the mister bie

    Hey!! That first pic looks like a twinkie!๐Ÿ˜€

    I lurrrrrrrrve the blurry effect! Veh nice! Yay for the DSLR! Yay for Miss Photographer Lady!๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Yeah, I was telling Farhan that you bought them from Chinatown. Lau Choy Seng, right? Need to make my way down there. I keep forgetting! Oh, and if you’re having a citrusy phase, this is a good place to start!๐Ÿ˜€

    Bernice: Awww, thanks sweetie! Though my preferred choice would be death by chocolate, this could jolly well make the cut too๐Ÿ˜›

    bie: Haha, cutesy! Yay for the mister who got me the dslr!๐Ÿ˜€

    happygrub: Me too! Haha๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  5. Robyn

    Top notch job with those madeleines and photos.๐Ÿ™‚ Just like you, I’ve been collecting so many madeleine recipes but waiting to get the moulds before making them. Good thing you took the plunge though – they look beautiful and delicious!

    Reply
  6. fadilla de la totti

    Hi! Madeleines??๐Ÿ˜€ I miss your bakeys at work…:( Suggestion? COFFEE CAKE! Any good recipes? Meman~q!

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    didally: Thanks, sweetie๐Ÿ™‚

    Aimei: Oopsie! Wish I had some to share!๐Ÿ˜›

    Robyn: Thanks, dearie๐Ÿ™‚ Yupperz, I think sometimes we just need to take the plunge; perhaps you should too! At least you can figure out which is your favourite madeleine recipe by the time you have your moulds.

    Reply
  8. grace

    “The light golden crust boasted its buttery texture, while the subtle lemon aroma tinged its every slice. There was the slightest hint of crunch with each bite that paved its way to a soft and cakey texture.”

    you certainly have a way with words–just reading that sent me off into a daydream.๐Ÿ™‚

    smiling madeleines–i love it.

    Reply
  9. sweetrosie

    I think the little cakies are too cute. I think I like them as much as the traditional madeleine moulds, although they are cute too๐Ÿ™‚ I thought I had some madeleine moulds but when I pulled the cupboard apart looking for them it turned out I had langue de chat moulds not madeleine moulds so I guess I’ll just keep making mine in the shallow shell pastry moulds I use. Until I get to Chinatown anyway. Then I want to get a some of those little pie tee moulds too. Another reason for a trip up your way I think๐Ÿ˜‰ xx

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    grace: I’m glad it gave you the same effect the madeleines gave me๐Ÿ™‚

    sweetrosie: Oooh I don’t believe I’ve actually seen langue de chat moulds; I’ve seen them cookies, but never the moulds. Your shell pastry moulds sound great btw. I feel like offering to get you some madeleine moulds when I hit Chinatown to get mine, but I need a reason to lure you back to Singapore. So erm…. come here and get your madeleine moulds!๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  11. Maya

    Oh yes, she’s indeed smiling…E same smile as “tht” lady when she got tht Dslr!๐Ÿ˜€ Seriously, you are awesome. It’s really nice of you to share E recipes from tht lovely book. Not every1 got “sum1” to buy tht for them u see! Haha! Btw, I went to Ntuc a few days back and I saw some lovely grapes. When I saw those grapes. E 1st thing tht came to my mind was ur first bake from Dorie’s book aka E Grape upside down cake๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  12. sweetrosie

    heehee, I’ve got an enormous shopping list for my next trip๐Ÿ™‚ I’m going to win the $30 million x-lotto next week and fly over first class๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  13. ovenhaven Post author

    jean: And I never knew you’ve got your bangs back! MSN! Hehe๐Ÿ˜›

    Maya: Come to think of it, I don’t think I smiled that elegantly when I got the dslr. It was more of manic laughters! Haha๐Ÿ˜€ Oh, and you should get the book when you can, or at least hint to someone for your birthday. It’s worth the buy! In the meantime, I’ll share what I’ve tried here๐Ÿ™‚

    sweetrosie: Sounds like a great plan, sweetie!๐Ÿ™‚

    linda: I knew it. It’s not only me, is it? The Net does come with an aroma aid!๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  14. Pingback: if they were pillows, i’d hug them « :: epicurean escapism ::

  15. ovenhaven Post author

    Awww, thank you for your kind words!๐Ÿ™‚ I’m still an amateur, and learning my way. Glad to hear you love the loaves;–it has a pretty tune to it, doesn’t it?๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  16. Pingback: a quick fix for a long wait [recipe: chocolate madeleines] « :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

