tens on my hundred

Some time ago, the talented Grace mentioned her interest in seeing my top ten pictures featured on this blog, and I had deliberately put it off (before you kill me, sweetie, read the disclaimer!) because I was saving it for this special occasion. What better way to celebrate my 100th post than to reflect upon some of the best memories I’ve had here.

So without further ado, here are the top 10 pictures, in random order:-

1. Fluffy buttermilk biscuits;
There’s always something warm and comforting in a basket of freshly-baked fluffy biscuits.

2. Fudgey cocoa brownies;
The brownies that not only uplifted me in my down moments, but also garnered a lot of interest (the highest traffic thus far). It makes me happy to hear the chocolatey love these brownies brought to those who tried the recipe out. A charmer, this one is.

3. Peanut butter and chocolate cookies;
The cookies that stole everyone’s hearts for its love, and its aesthetics.

4. Superman birthday cake;
My very first fondant cake, for the mister’s birthday. I’ll never forget his incessant hearty laughter and disbelief when he opened the cake box cover.

5. Marshmallow brownies;
Other than chocolate, I think another lexical word that never fails to catch my attention would be marshmallow. And to marry it with fudgey brownies is just a dream come true for me.

6. Buttermilk scones;
I like this photo because it captures my very personality; being an introvert, I prefer my days spent “far from the madding crowd”, with loved ones, a favourite pastime, and a simple bake.

7. Nutella cupcakes;
Again this is more of nostalgia, for Nutella cupcakes were the very first cupcakes that ever caught my attention, since I’m not big on cream frosting, and Nutella would make me go on my hands and knees anytime.

8. Banana cupcakes;
Fluffy naked banana cupcakes fresh from the oven that was too much a delight that they were wiped out [and reserved] before I could even frost them. I still have no idea how they would taste with frosting.

9. Oreo butter cake; and last but not least,
This photo is a favourite not only because of the lovely Oreo-crusted top and the speckles of Oreo throughout the texture, but because those white papers beneath the cooling rack just so happen to be my lecture notes, which I was supposed to be cramming with for the exams. Epicurean escapism indeed.

10. Chocolate cupcakes with buttercream frosting
My very first photo in my very first entry on this blog; without which, this blog wouldn’t have seen its 100th post.

And while we’re at it, allow me to share with you the top 10 recipes I’ve tried, i.e. bakes that have received raving reviews from myself and the fellowship of recipients:-

1. Milo marshmallow muffins
These muffins combine chocolatey-ness with gooey-ness; two characteristics in a bake that can never go wrong with the crowd, even with those self-proclaimed non-muffin-lovers.

2. Fudgey cocoa brownies
If there is one thing better than fudgey and decadent brownies, it would be fudgey and decadent brownies that you could whip up with your eyes closed in no time. My all-time favourite this is.

3. Ina Garten’s Oreo Crunch brownies
Fudgey brownies plus Oreo chunks. Need I say more?

4. Dorie Greenspan’s World Peace Cookies
These cookies can seriously bring world peace. Really. The Miss Universe pageant contestants should really start parading these, and quit with the “World Peace” regurgitated mantras. Cookies speak louder than words, ladies.

5. Mrs Hockmeyer’s banana bread
No idea who she is, but grandmama here came up with a beautiful banana bread with the right amount of texture, sweetness, without much hassle at all.

6. scones
Warm and fluffy scones perfect for a picnic be it outdoors, or indoors. Again, very very easy recipe.

7. huge chocolate chip cookie
These were packed with chocolate chips, and the texture is somewhere between chewy and crispy, and if you’re not giving it as a gift with a personalised message icing, you can simply chop them up into pieces and bring to work the next day, like I did. They were wiped out in no time, and there are still requests for them. It’s goooood.

8. choconana cake
Some people have a peanut butter-chocolate love, some prefer the mint-chocolate combination. This boasts a chocolatey cake filled with fresh bananas, and topped with chocolate ganache. For those chocolate-banana lovers.

9. peanut butter nutella brownies
If peanut butter and chocolate combo is a killer, why not go the extra mile with peanut butter and Nutella. Afterall, you only live once. Absolutely fudgey, balancing the sweetness of the Nutella with the saltiness of the peanut butter. Perfect.

10. apple streusel torte
For those times when I feel like I wanna be healthier, I bake this. They say an apple a day keeps the doctor away, so I reckon a warm slice of cinnamon apple torte studded with a streusel topping, and adorned with a dollop of ice-cream could make the cut. Hehe.

On another note altogether, here’s a little something to tide you over while the next entry comes. A huge hint of what’s to come… (pardon the colouring; some of the markers were running out of ink!)

24 thoughts on “tens on my hundred

  1. the mister

    YAY!!! 100th post!!!

    *throws confetti and all manner of celebratory thingies into the air*

    Wow, it’s really come a long way huh? But you know what’s remain the same throughout?

    The yummy bakes and the equally gorgeous professional looking photos that accompany them!🙂

    Congratulations, luv!

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Bernice: Why thank you, sweetie! I’m sure your 100th post will come before my next one, so I’ll be looking forward to that🙂

    bie: Aww, you’re too sweet, mister. More mooties for you! Hehe. And thank you for the compliment on the drawing; an honour coming from you!😀

    Reply
  3. grace

    those are some seriously stellar pictures and recipes (especially that apple torte and those banana cupcakes). and don’t worry, i didn’t fret for a second about your delay. i hope you keep up the good work!🙂

    Reply
  4. didally

    I don’t know when my 100th post will come. lol

    Very nice pictures, and that was why I was attracted to your blog initially. But I like how you write too.

    Looking forward to more pictures and recipes.🙂

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    grace: Thanks, sweetie🙂 Do try the apple torte; served with vanilla ice-cream, it hits the right spot😉

    didally: You’re too kind, dearie🙂 Glad you enjoy reading my blog!

    Reply
  6. happygrub

    I recognize that book and page! Haha, that’s how much I love Dorie Greenspan. So u bought the madeline mould too?

    Anyway congrats on the 100th post!

    Reply
  7. Happy Homebaker

    Congrats on your 100th post! Looking forward to reading your next 100 posts🙂
    Your cakes and bakes are so gorgeous!! and I love the way you compost all your photos…just like those I’ve see in cookbooks, lovely!!

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    happygrub: Haha, I’m beginning to love the book as well! And no, I have yet to buy the mould. Hoping to check out the place at Chinatown where Laureen bought hers. But I did bake madeleines!😉

    Happy Homebaker: That’s a big compliment coming from you, HHB! Thank you🙂

    Reply
  9. jean-marie

    Oooooooh, I like the marshmallow brownies pic! Nom nom. Congrats on ur 100th post!🙂 And u owe me a drawing!!!

    Reply
  10. Maya

    Aww tht drawing of Madeline! Whenever I bake some Madeline, I would love to have a pic like that by E side of E plate. Drawing a replica of that is almost next to impossible coz I know how “good” I am when it comes to Art, so I’m so not gonna try! Maybe I just do a print out of your drawing then? Haha! Anyways, there’s 3 things that I noticed after reading this post.

    1stly, you photograph very well. Awesome pics I must say!:)

    2ndly, both you are your hubz have a flair when it comes to drawing.

    3rd, you both are such a loving and cute couple! Makes me wanna tie E knot ASAP! *Grins*

    Anyways congratulations on your 100th post. Cheers to more hundreds and thousands post!

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    afoneleri: Thank you, sweetie🙂

    Maya: Haha, you’re too cute! Thanks for your kind words, though I must say that the mister is the real artist here. I’m merely a doodler! And with regard to your 3rd point, we still have yet to tie the knot as well! Haha. But thanks for the sweet words🙂

    Reply
  12. sweetrosie

    Unbelievably beautiful photographs – I still say you should be selling them to a magazine or something🙂
    Gorgeous blog – big congrats and a hug for your 100th post. Love your work!

    Reply
  13. Elyn

    Congrats on your 100th post, I’m sure there will be many more hundreds to come! I like the Banana Cupcakes picture best, the perfect companion for an afternoon tea. Look forward to your Madeleine post🙂

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    Maya: For someone who bakes and cooks well, it shouldn’t be difficult for you to find one. Hehe😛

    thecoffeesnob: Thanks, sweetie🙂 Well, I just had to share my love for desserts with all you lovelies!😀

    sweetrosie: Awww, you’re much too kind, dearie🙂 Thank you! *hugs*

    Elyn: Come to think of it, I’m craving that the most right now. Hehe😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

