chocolate dreams are made of these

I was telling the mister the other day that one of the problems, if one would call it that, of having baking as a hobby is that you’ve practically tried the thousand and one different recipes of your favourite dessert, or at least enough to know precisely the type of texture, flavour combination, and ingredients your palate prefers.

The darkest brownies on my dining plate would be dense and fudgey, shunning the cakey texture of his counterparts. He would preferably be balancing a round ball of ice-cream over his shoulders, and licking chocolate syrup drizzling down his forehead. The prettiest cupcake in my hand would be fluffy yet moist, all drenched under a Nutella ganache umbrella, while guarding a dollop of chocolate in the depths of her hands, a wondrous surprise for those in the know.

And my muffins? They would pretty much look like this.

They would be fluffy Milo (a brand of chocolate malt drink) muffins boasting a sinful overload of Hershey’s mini chocolate chip morsels, teasing every wandering mouth with its temptingly gooey marshmallow chunks. They would be the perfect vehicle to drift me off to chocolate heaven, with its moist texture that never leaves a crumb out of place. Even after a bite, they would be the envy at the party, boasting a flattering ridged skirt that flows perfectly in place all the way to their feet.

I first noticed these Milo muffins from a forum site ages ago, and had only been reconciled with them when the recipe was reproduced here. Based on the reviews and feedbacks, I made the necessary changes to the recipe, and yielded several thumbs up from the Fellowship of Muffin Recipients. Of course having a nondescript Milo muffin was obviously insufficient for me, and I had to include the marshmallows. Just because.

In other news, Farhan had invited her readers to post black & white shots of some of our favourite photos. I’ve always been a fan of black & white in portraiture and landscape photography, but have never tried it on food, a subject usually associated with the vibrancy of colours. Hence, the following is my attempt at b&w food photography. Okay I cheated towards the end.😛

Milo chocolate-chip muffin with marshmallows;

My favourite peanut butter-chocolate cookies;

A slice of blueberry pie I made some time back [blueberries are back in season, wooootz!];

A solitary tree off Desaru; and last but not least,

The mister, back in ’06.

25 thoughts on “chocolate dreams are made of these

  1. the mister

    Dang those are nuMMy!!!!!!!!

    Lovely photos, dear!

    I LOVE the Desaru one the best!

    ( And yes… those stoner days of yore…. -_-‘ )

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    Glad you like em muffins, dearest🙂 I know you like something when you keep going “Sedap ah benda ni!”😛

    And hey, you can’t be a full-fledged stoner without a cig between your fingers, k? And THANK GOD for that! Have I thanked you enough for not being a smoker? Haha😀

    Reply
  3. happygrub

    girl, i owe u an email.. been so so busy.

    thanks for making me smile today!

    ps. psssst, i passed🙂

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    afoneleri: Awww, you’re too kind🙂 Feel free to drop by and say hi more often!😛

    happygrub: YAY!!! Alhamdulillah🙂 So happy for you, dearie *hugs* And no worries about the email.

    Reply
  5. linda

    I love the way you describe all of those goodies! The marshmellows look sooo good!
    My favorite food b&w picture is the hart cookies, the tree picture is very pretty too.

    Reply
  6. jean-marie

    HAPPY 25TH BIRTHDAY, DOLL!!! Stay pretty, and if I can borrow your line…”may stars fall upon you”😀

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    Elyn: Ah, Milo has a special place in my heart too!🙂

    linda: Thanks, sweetie🙂 I like the picture of the heart cookies as well!

    rita bellnad: Thanks for dropping by, Rita. And thanks for the sweet comment🙂 The photos in your blog look really captivating, btw!

    jean: Haha, you remembered! Thanks, sweetz🙂 And it’s “may stars fall upon you ALWAYS”, btw. Haha😛

    White on Rice: Thank you, dearie! And nothing hits the spot like dense and fudgey brownies, huh?😉

    grace: Such dreams make the world go round! Thanks, sweetie🙂

    Bernice: Aww, you’re too sweet, dearie. Thank you!🙂

    Reply
  8. Ashley

    Ooo those muffins look decadently delicious and excellent. I’ve never thought of using milo in muffins. Well actually I don’t know if I’ve ever had milo but it definitely intrigues me! Love the marshmallows on top. Even though baking is a hobby for me, I want to try out so many different things that I don’t make any particular thing often (ie. brownies).

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    Ashley: I know what you mean by wanting to try out so many different things. I guess for me, personally, I’m highly adverse to changes and new things, which is why I always tend to linger and hover around familiar terrains, and bake variations of the same thing! Hehe.

    Reply
  10. Gigi

    OMG! These muffins are on my list of must bake now! What’s not to love? Chocolate, malt, chocolate chunks, and marshmallow? These are my favorite foods!

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    didally: Don’t fight the craving, I say! Hehe😛

    Dorothy: Thanks, dearie!🙂

    Gigi: Haha, great to hear someone getting as excited as me upon the mere mention of malt, chocolate and mallows!😛

    Reply
  12. ovenhaven Post author

    Indigo: Thanks, sweetie. That’s my fave photo of the lot as well. In fact, it’s one of my fave photos in coloured too, so it wasn’t surprising that it came out tops in b&w😛

    Reply
  13. bakingblonde

    Oh goodness I think I have died and gone to heaven! The photos make me want to climb into my computer and shove that whole cupcake in my mouth!!

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    bakingblonde: Ah, what a sweet sweet heaven that’d be. I’ll be waiting for you on the other side!😉

    thecoffeesnob: Aww, thanks, sweetie! And welcome back🙂

    Reply
  15. Pingback: tens on my hundred « :: epicurean escapism ::

Leave a Reply

