first day anxiety

The mister will be starting his first official day of work in two days’ time, so I thought I should give him a little pack of munchies to remember me by snack on in the cold office room, in case work bogs him down, leaving him no time for a proper lunch. It may sound pretty weird, but somehow, I’m the one who is getting all nervous thinking about it. I wonder whether his colleagues would be accommodating, helpful, friendly, and if by any chance, he could find a geeky friend there. I wonder whether his students are going to like him, whether they are going to be good kids who pay attention in class and submit their work on time, or whether they are going to be much like me at that age.

At the end of the day, I seek comfort in the fact that he did not get posted to a girl’s school.

Having enjoyed my teenage years in a girl’s school, I can remember the few male teachers we had, and the amount of ‘torture’ we put them through. It was all in good fun, I must say. The silly crushes some of us had on a certain English language relief teacher, the amount of tears and ‘I love you’ notes passed when it was the last day of his week-long stint, the incessant teasing of our part-time model Additional Math teacher, and the numerous times we made our veryveryvery senior teacher all flushed in his ears each time we go “Is that a new shirt, Mr Tan?”, even though it pretty much looks like all the other white shirts he wears every single day of the week.

And since Fate has its own unique way of concocting events, I had my worries that several years from now, a young lady would be reminiscing her teenage years of teasing a certain male teacher who just so happens to be my mister. Because sometimes, that’s just the way things work.

I guess these cookies are somewhat my peace offering to what lies ahead. That the mister’s journey would be a pleasant and memorable one, and that the working and student environment suits him well. And that these good ol’ chewy chocolate chip cookies would pave the way for chocolatey goodness and joy in the future, much like the satiating gastronomical happiness they bring to the mister.

These were perfect nuggets of chewiness, with a mouthful of mini chocolate chips in every bite. And judging from his regular “Can I have another one?” from the time I passed him a jar, to the “I hid the jar in my bag, and been eating them secretly so that I don’t have to share” revelation, and his most recent “Only left a bit *insert sad smiley*“, I know that as far as chewy chocolate chip cookies go, this one is most definitely for keeps.

And it won’t see his first day of work.πŸ˜›

17 thoughts on “first day anxiety

  1. the mister bie

    πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›

    Reading that made me smile very very widely…πŸ™‚

    Thank you luv. I do hope that the job will be fine too and that it will be a good start to the next chapter of our lives.πŸ™‚

    In reference to “And it won’t see his first day of work.πŸ˜›” I say “Ala……………………”

    *looks around guiltily*

    Oh yes I almost forgot…

    *ehem*

    MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTIES!!!!
    πŸ˜›

    Reply
  2. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Hehehe… I should’ve known my lil cookie monster better, and passed you the cookies just the day before your first day! Glad you like them, dear. Good luck for tomorrow! Ganbate, koibito!

    linda: Thanks, dearie!πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. grace

    yes indeed, i had my share of teacher crushes. i was a shy gal though, so thankfully i never did anything embarrassing…πŸ™‚

    cute cookies, i’m sure they’ll be proper motivation for your mister to come running home to you.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. ovenhaven Post author

    celine: Thank you!πŸ™‚

    grace: Aww, thanks sweetieπŸ™‚ I’m sure those male teachers at my school wished they had more students like you. HeheπŸ˜›

    Reply
  5. happygrub

    first day.. always and awkward time! But working is so much better than studying any time isnt it? And June hols are coming!!

    Perhaps a better way to give him cookies for the first day is to give it to him on the first dayπŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Oh sweetie, I just de-spammed your comments! gRRRR… And here I’ve been wondering how come you haven’t been aroundπŸ˜›

    Yah, I think I should just stick to that rule from now on. No more passing cookies prior to the real date. HahaπŸ˜€

    Reply
  7. Indigo

    You had a part-time model maths teacher?! Even I might have put up with maths if that had been the caseπŸ˜„. And I would put up with a LOT for chocolate chip cookies ^__^ mmm…

    Reply
  8. jean-marie

    OMG I fell over laughing reading this! Ryaaan… *swoonz*πŸ˜€ & who cn forget Mr Tan! So cute! I think he retired already. And you forgot abt fel’s brother. Now THAT’S crazy!

    Oh, P asked me if i was involved in all these. Hmmm…………….πŸ˜›

    Reply
  9. ovenhaven Post author

    Indigo: Hahaha! Funnily enough, he wasn’t as popular as you might expect. Must be all the boring vibes of Maths.πŸ˜›

    jean: Trust you to remember fel’s brother! That’s just too weird, seriously. And to think that she just played along. Haha! Oh, and sweetie? P should’ve asked which one you’re NOT involved in.πŸ˜›

    Reply
  10. White on Rice

    What a great story! I don’t think I had a crush on any male teachers, but I did have the hotties for the Vice-Principal. I got called in for something in the office (can’t tell !) and he had to have a talk with me. I didn’t mind getting in trouble!
    I love these type of chewy cookies! They’re my favorite!

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    Haha, that made me laugh out loud! I can imagine you ‘looking forward’ to getting in troubleπŸ˜› Too bad I can’t say the same for me, my Vice-Principal was a lady, and my Principal was a nun!πŸ˜€

    Reply
  12. Deeba

    Girls will be girls…& you are making your sweet Misters life even sweeter with such wonderful cookies. Congrats to him on his new job…

    Reply
  13. thecoffeesnob

    Aw you’re such a sweetie! I hope his first day of work went wellπŸ™‚

    And yes there’s something to be said about all girls school and the amount of mischief we get intoπŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

