N for Energy

I believe I’ve yet to come across anyone who has not mentioned anything about the erratic weather here. Or more specifically, the heat wave that has hit our shores. This is possibly the worst time for the government to be implementing the Save Energy campaign, for I am pretty sure the air-conditioner has taken over the pup’s place as man’s best friend as of a couple of days ago.

The only thing I could think of was how lethargic the past week had been. The more frequent bouts of running towards any air-conditioned place, along with the constant wish of why-cant-the-whole-island-be-air-conditioned, have only made me a frumpy girl who apparently loves the sun, but not that much. I could have sworn that if I wasn’t literally bathing in my own sweat, I would’ve maneuvered my right foot to my rear last weekend when I suggested that the mister and I go on my virgin trip to a well-known flea market, and thereafter just ventured around on another one of our photo expedition trips. What a bad day to be spotting wet patches of sweat on my headscarf. Sorry for the totally unglam look, bie!

I figured I needed a literal perk-me-up under this weather. I chanced upon these energy muffins while searching for the perfect lunchbox item to bring to work tomorrow. Something that would make me full in the morning, yet somehow convince me that I’m not just putting unhealthy things into my body. Not the greasy gravy-laden rice dumplings, nor the sugar-rich Malay delicacies I always grab from the canteen downstairs.

And my definition of trying to feel healthier?

Carrots, apples, coconut, sultanas — doesn’t that sound healthy to you? Haha.

Even if you’re not in need of that extra energy boost to start your morning, even if you don’t feel like stirring a mash of orange-green pulp in your mixing bowl, I would implore you to try this. Moist, not overly sweet, full of flavour and bite, this recipe is definitely for keeps.

Or at least on those days when I want to feel healthier.

Energy Muffins
(my modified recipe; makes 9 regular, 6 minis)

3/4 cup sugar
2 cups self-raising flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
2 cups grated carrots
1 cup grated apples
1 cup dessicated coconut
1 cup sultanas
3 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. Sift flour, sugar, cinnamon and baking powder into a bowl.
  3. Add carrot, apple, coconut and sultanas.
  4. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs, oil and vanilla.
  5. Add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.
  6. Bake at 180C for 22-25mins.

14 thoughts on “N for Energy

  1. the mister bie

    I’m glad you enjoyed our little foray into the realm of junk hawking, dear… Despite the heat it was a rather good trip no? Having seen the Yashicas and all… Hehe…😀

    And that muffin has no chocolate in it!!!!! Somebody call the authorities!!!! -_-‘

    Reply
  2. jean-marie

    If you were me, you would put a huge pile of cream cheese on top of that. But you just HAD to hate cheese, right? Dayum.

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    the mister: Yupperz, there were a whole lot of Yashicas and Minoltas lying around! Twas pretty interesting to be at a place that didn’t resemble much like Singapore. Haha.

    White on Rice: Perpetual muffin craving, aye? Been there, and still am there. Hehe😛

    jean: And hello to you too…😛 How was the trip? Hope you had loadsa fun!

    Reply
  4. Gigi

    I can’t believe you baked in that heat!🙂 I must admit the muffins look mighty tempting. Even I would have braved the heat for muffins like that. Yummy!

    Reply
  5. Deeba

    Finalyy someone else other than me baking in high temperatures…though divided by land & sea!! These do sound so full of Nergy…good for you!! Lovely looking muffins; love the dressing up you gave them!!

    Reply
  6. ovenhaven Post author

    Gigi: Well, let’s just say that “heat = frumpy me = need to be happy = baking”. There you go, my very own logical equation😛

    Deeba: Thanks, dearie🙂 Apparently not even the heat can come between us and our ovens!

    Reply
  7. sweetrosie

    poor you in the hot weather😦

    The muffins look just like baby carrot cakes, very nice. I think I would like some of the “gravy-laden rice dumplings” from downstairs please…

    Reply
  8. ovenhaven Post author

    Indigo: Haha, funny how I never thought of energy bars when I ate these. Saw them more like carrot cake minus the cream cheese😛

    sweetrosie: As I’m typing this, it’s raining outside my window, so wooohooo! End of heat wave😀

    Yerp, [I heard] they taste much like carrot cakes. And those dumplings? I’d love to send them over, but then it’d just be a “gravvy-laden envelope of mashed mess”😛

    Reply
  9. happygrub

    rain? what rain? i’m sure its not been raining in my part of the island these last few days.

    I’m so tired, of the heat and studying!!😦

    U’re into the whole photography too? How nice! What do u use or plan to get??

    Reply
  10. linda

    Good thing they don’t look healthy😉 They look delcious!
    Hope the heat is a little less by now. We’re enjoying nice warm weather over here, Warmer than usual this time of year but luckily not as hot as in Singapore.

    Reply
  11. ovenhaven Post author

    I’m with you on the ‘looking healthy’ bit. Haha😛

    And yes, the heat’s subsided, thanks to cool breezes and small showers here and there. I’m looking forward to more outdoors!😀

    Reply
  12. ovenhaven Post author

    happygrub: It’s been raining as of late in the Western part! Only short periods within a day, but better than nothing, I must say.

    And yup, I’m actually a photographer before I was a baker. Haha. Currently I’m into lomography, and I’ve got three babies to play with (Diana+, Actionsampler, and Vivitar UWS), but I’m still very much a digital photographer as well. Hoping to get my hands on a dslr soon nuf…😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

