a second

“I dunno… it doesn’t call out to me.”

“Nothing’s screaming out to me, y’noe?”

Those are but a few of the many complaints I would be lamenting when I walk into a store and either end up empty-handed, or just can’t seem to find anything that catches my attention.

It is a prominent quirk of mine to personify certain objects I own, i.e. my soft toys, my cameras, my laptop, my mobile phone, my shoes, my watch. They’re almost always a ‘he’, except for Didi (my Diana+ lomo camera), Brain (my Motorola Razr Pink), along with my hordes of pretty shoes. It is with such a trait that inevitably when it comes to shopping, the heart heeds no advice nor acknowledgment from the brain, opting instead to lug home something that screams directly to me, “I rawk!”, “Am I cute, or what?”, or the most innocent whisper of “Can I be your friend?”.

Because let’s face it, only certain things demand a second glance. But of course, whether they deserve that second glance is a matter of subjectivity, which is a whole different issue altogether.

Such is the situation with these Korova cookies, or if you’d prefer its more glammed-up name; the World Peace cookies. Place him alongside his big chocolate chip counterpart, the head-turning Mr and Mrs Peanut Butter und Chocolate neighbour, and the lounging Nutella scrolls down the street and he would probably not receive that second glance.

But that second glance he surely deserves. And then some.

With a name that promising, I couldn’t resist but to give this a second try, and perhaps bring justice to him. The first time I attempted the recipe, I was defeated, to say the least. Amidst positive reviews from the mister and the males in the household, I allowed superficiality take the better of me, falling prey to a judgment of appearance. They were perfect, yet not.

With a mustered new spirit, I treaded upon familiar terrains the second time round, and now I can proudly present to you my World Peace cookies. In every sense of his name, upholding every reputation that ever preceded him.

For these cookies deserve that second glance.

21 thoughts on “a second

  1. the mister bie

    First of all…

    MOOTIES!!!!!!๐Ÿ˜›

    Secondly, aiyoh… reading your entry I felt so sad for him!๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Its okay though, mister World Peace Cookie, I liked ya from the very start! And now that the missus has given me a barrel full of you and your brethren, I am going to feast on the lot of you and have a giggly shoket mootie high!!!

    Weehooooooo!

    Mwehehehehehehe…..

    xoxo
    World Peace Cookie Devourer

    Reply
  2. linda

    You tend to have that in baking, that the less appealing looking cookies are so very good in taste. I’ve checked out the recipe and it looks very, very good!

    Reply
  3. ovenhaven Post author

    bie: Haha! Have fun munching away in school, dearest๐Ÿ™‚ I hope they’re enough to last you the week!

    linda: Precisely! I think cookies have an understated thang going on. Hehe.

    Reply
  4. happygrub

    How was the texture? Wow these look super chocolatey..๐Ÿ™‚

    I have to start watching my waist line though! Too many good treats around to try..

    Reply
  5. ovenhaven Post author

    didally: Oh dear, that’s such a pity. But with the array of yummylicious pasta you’ve made thus far, taking time away from baking isn’t all too bad!๐Ÿ™‚

    rachel: Me too! The more chocolate, the better.

    Bernice: Haha, the mister had been asking me to bake them since the last I did, but I’ve been putting it off till now. They’re hard to resist, huh?๐Ÿ˜›

    happygrub: They’re pretty rich, and they’re of the chewy sort of cookies, albeit not terribly soft (melt-in-your-mouth). Oh and with regard to the waistline, is it too late for me to be watching mine, I wonder?๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  6. jean-marie

    I tried this yesterday. It crumbled very bad even after i fridged overnite. Was urs like that? It still tasted sooo yummy tho’๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  7. ovenhaven Post author

    Yupperz, the first time I made them they were so crumbly I practically had to shape them into balls. And like you, I fridged them overnight as well. But this time round, it wasn’t that bad. I think what’s important is the part where you’re folding the flour in; just ensure it’s not too dry. Some people have actually advised cutting down the amount of flour by 1T, but I personally haven’t tried that out. But hey, what matters is the taste, right?๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  8. Indigo

    I’ve seen World Peace cookies all over the place, but I’ve never been a great chocolate-cookie eater (apart from the ones I blogged a while ago, lol). But these look so good, and the name is so cute… I’m tempted!…

    Reply
  9. White On Rice Couple

    This is the first time we’ve heard about these World Peace cookies, thanks! If it’s got chocolate in it, it’s a good start to spreading Peace all around the world. They still look really good though!

    Reply
  10. ovenhaven Post author

    Indigo: You should give it a go! You won’t regret it, that’s for sure๐Ÿ™‚

    Ashley: To be perfectly honest, even I wish I could have one right now. Haha. But they’re all wiped out already๐Ÿ˜›

    White on Rice Couple: Thanks! They’ve been around for quite some time now; they’re the somewhat quintessential Pierre Herme cookies much raved about. If you’re a chocoholic, you’d be sure to love it over and over again!๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Carrot cake and my new lens « Food to nourish the spirit and soothe the soul

  12. ovenhaven Post author

    thecoffeesnob: Ah, that I wouldn’t know, since I don’t drink coffee๐Ÿ˜› But let’s just say it’s good to go with any cuppa you fancy!

    Reply
  13. happygrub

    hey girl.. Can’t imagine its been a year and more since I wrote a comment on this post, how ime flies!

    I made these twice in the last week, h’s request. They’re chewy la, not sabley at all! Haha.. I’m such a crispy cookie person, I need to perfect the crispy double choc chip cookie!

    Btw, I’m really in love with Da Paolo Gastronomia’s flourless choc cake now. Its topping my list of choc treats together with awfully choc ice cream. I know u hate crowds, so try out their jalan mega saga branch or their cluny court branch. Its so lovely and romantic sitting under the trees outside. Just sharing that with a fellow chocaholic!

    Reply
  14. ovenhaven Post author

    Yupyup, like I said in the other post, it had a sandy/sable texture coz I didn’t mix them enough! Oh, and I so need to revisit these; the mister’s a huge triple c fan, but after tasting these, everytime I ask what he wants, he’ll always answer this first๐Ÿ˜› It’s been so long since I made them that I think he’s already forgotten/given up requesting them๐Ÿ˜›

    And thanks for the heads up! I’m already saving it in my phone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

